PDA - documentation

Discussion in 'The Hangar Bay' started by Exacute, Apr 29, 2017.

  1. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    I've made a quick attempt at documentating the PDA
    Please do let me know, if any of this is inaccurate, before I make it into an actual tool

    Also, for the category section, is that limited, or free? From what I can gather, it should be either "Tutorial", "SoloMission" or "FAQ". Is there any way to use custom categories past this? or is there more than these?

    Another Q: AutoActivateChapter; This activates the <given> chapter, upon completion? or how does this work?

    Code:
    Creator: <creator (string)>
    Chapters:
      - ChapterTitle: <title(string)>
        Description: <desc(longblob)>
        PictureFile: <pic.jpg(string)>
        Category: <category (Limited? "Tutorial/SoloMission/FAQ")>
        PlayerLevel: <reqlevel (int)>
        Visibility: <Always/ByLevel/WhenRewarded>
        EnableChapters: [ <chapter> (refernece)] (Seems obsolete?)
        AutoActivateChapter: <chapet> (reference)  (From what I gather, which chapter to activate, upon completion)
        Rewards
          - Item: <itemname>
            Count: <count (int)>
        Tasks:
          - TaskTitle: <taskTitle>
            Headline: <if none given, tasktitle is used>
            PictureFile: <pic.jpg>
            Actions:
              - ActionTitle: <title>
                Description: <desc>
                Check: <InventoryOpened/InventoryEmptied>
                Names: [ EscapePod ]
                AllowManuelCompletion: <true/false>
                CompletedMessage: <$/actualmsg>
    
    
    For tasks, actions:
    names, types are always in [] and can be csv
    nb: if several names are specified, and amount is used, it will be *any of these* x *amount*
    
    Check: InventoryOpened / InventoryEmptied
    Names: <Inventory>
    
    Check: DevicePowered
    Names: <blockname(ConstructorSurvival)>
    
    Check: InventoryContains / ConstructionQueueContains
    Names: <Inventory(ConstructorSurvival)>
    !Types: <type of content>
    !for inventorycontains!Required: NeedAll/NeedOne
    
    Check: ItemsPickedUp / ItemsCrafted
    Types: <typewanted>
    !for itemscrafter!Names: <name of block it should be crafter in>
    Required: NeedAll/NeedOne
    Amount: <count (int)>
    
    Check: SubjectKilled
    Names: <mob>
    Amount: <count (int)>
    
    Check: StructureSpawned / MainPowerSwitched
    Names: [ Base , CV , HV , SV ]
    
    Check: NearPoi
    Names: <PoiName>
    
    Check: BlockDestroyed / BlocksPlaced
    (opt)Names: <PoiName>
    Types: <blockname(CoreEnemy)>
    
     
    #1
    oojimaflip likes this.
  2. Taelyn

    Taelyn Guest

    U cant customise the categories. Only those 3 are alloud. I tried it to make my own categorie, u will get a error on start.
     
    #2
    Exacute likes this.
  3. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    202
    Isn't there a faction mission category?
    There was a few months ago when I looked thru the PDA stuff


    See the custom PDA tab of my old spreadsheet for the data I started gathering on PDA editing.



    Code:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/11pqoPdG0F8N7_bq1hKTnsrPlsa790CDP8kksYgsyCO0/edit?usp=drivesdk
     
    #3
    amurayiwestgate likes this.
  4. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    Hah, someone've been busy ;) nice lists
    I though there were a faction category, but I couldn't quite find the "category" name for it, hence the question.
    Either way, rexXxus will get around to documenting it eventually, and I'll include those options in the tool I make.
     
    #4
  5. Big Zunnin

    Big Zunnin Ensign

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without looking at my notes (I'll check again when I get to my pc) the only one missing is teammission which is for faction missions.

    Only request I have is to import the sector and playfield yamls. Not to edit but for quick reference and for dropdowns. I'm asking this because my scenario is quite complex and involves POIs, mobs, sensors and maybe logic. Even if only some of this can be imported it would help a lot.
     
    #5
  6. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    That was one of the first things I did ;)
    Unfortuneatly, until someone figures the epb format fully out, I'm unable to do POI-based sorting (ie. which sensors and logic, mobs, etc a POI would have)
     
    #6
  7. Big Zunnin

    Big Zunnin Ensign

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    one thing you could do until we get a unified engine assembled might be to save a local list of all used sensor names with a small management system. This would bridge the gap. it would be a pain for someone who has hundreds of sensors but still better to have it in there as a lookup even if it's manually managed at the moment.
     
    #7
  8. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    Given the simplicity of the sensors (You can use it in checks, and call onactivate, ondeactive and oncompleted for tasks, actions : and pass on/off/onoff), combined with the fact, that a sensor is usually only ever used once, I think it is about the same result, as (you) keeping a list in notepad or the like.
    I don't quite see the benefit of it being builtin, when it is almost the exact same result.
    I think I'll hold back on that feature, till (we) can do it directly from the .epb format, or some other game-file ;)
     
    #8
  9. macrogramz

    macrogramz Ensign

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Give that astronaut a cookie! Thank you for that linky linky.. ;)
     
    #9
  10. amurayiwestgate

    amurayiwestgate Captain

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    109
    I'm still puzzled about the "NearPoi" signal.

    It works fine with group names on planets with seeds and randomly spread POIs.

    What about objects in space or on planets with fixed positions?
    Do you use the edb file name? Or the forced spawn name?
     
    #10
  11. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    I'm afraid I don't have an answer for that. I wasn't aware of a difference. I think using the Groupname should suffice. But I'm taking it from your comment, that that is not the case. Most likely a bug, I would guess.
     
    #11
  12. amurayiwestgate

    amurayiwestgate Captain

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    109
    Ha! I figured it out. Yes for NearPoi in Fixed enviroments you need the filename instead of the groupname....
     
    #12
  13. amurayiwestgate

    amurayiwestgate Captain

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    109
    Also don't forget that chapter number 1 also has a "preamble" text. I didn't see it listed in your top list.
     
    #13
  14. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    Well. It's not quite how preamble work, but yes, you are correct that it is a flag ;)
    The list is quite outdated. I'm most likely not going to maintain it, as my tool hpefully will fill all the needs ;)
     
    #14
  15. amurayiwestgate

    amurayiwestgate Captain

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    109
    Well, it's the text on the left side of the very first Chapter pop up. It's quite essential in my opinion.
     
    #15
  16. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    It can be very powerfull. But the preamble is far more flexible than that ;)
    Combined with playfield, and autostart, it can be quite the tool.
     
    #16
    amurayiwestgate likes this.
  17. amurayiwestgate

    amurayiwestgate Captain

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    109
    I wish I could have a big pop up at the start every chapter... Going from one chapter to the next without info doesn't feel right.
     
    #17
  18. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    Mm, you can *partially* accomplish this by using completedmessage on the chapters. But yes, it's not like the preamble.
    Personally, I think it would be quite intrusive having the preamble pop always. But I guess you could possibly make it work.
     
    #18

Share This Page