Prefab Exhibition (custom playfield with all the game's prefabs)

Discussion in 'The Hangar Bay' started by Gray, Oct 25, 2016.

  1. Gray

    Gray Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    192
    UPDATE 2016-12-20: current state of the playfield is 4.x alpha, it doesn't include any of the new 5.0 BPs - can't predict if/when I'll update it, in any case it will take a while since I want to explore them normally while playing first. :)

    UPDATE 2016-11-03: small change, moved 4 bases that are actually BAOs up into orbit (BA_PF4, BA_PF5, BA_PF10, BA_PF12)

    since I wanted to check out the game's included prefabs without having to copy them over to my blueprint folder (which also doesn't work with every prefab, not to mention unnecessarily clutters the list) I created 2 custom playfields where they spawn as fixed POIs.

    it includes every base, HV/SV/CV and should also work in case those get updated and keep their names. it also makes it easy to check out what each prefab looks like and makes it easy to save them as a BP (one reason for doing this was to update some POIs to the new blocks and actually figure out which POI is which prefab - since there are some duplicate/"wrong" names it's not that easy).

    they also only spawn in creative, if you visit those areas in survival they'll be empty.

    Word of warning: unless you haven't fully explored the game yet, checking out the prefabs contains massive spoilers for you! so if you want to keep some surprise and mystery don't install those playfields - remember, curiosity killed the cat!

    sy1.jpg sy2.jpg 20161025223906_1.jpg

    there are 2 ways to install those playfields, inserting it into the game's default files, and putting it in a savegame only (and leaving the game's files untouched). if you're unsure what you're doing I suggest going with the savegame installation, in case something doesn't work you can just delete the savegame and start over instead of having steam verify your files if you really screwed up (don't forget to make a backup of your savegames/blueprints/screenshots/etc. first!). either way, proceed at your own risk!

    Installation into default files:

    1. extract the exhibition.zip into <Empyrion - Galactic Survival folder>\Content\Playfields\ - below the "Temperate2" folder there should now be two new ones: zzGray_EmptyPlanet & zzGray_EmptySpace.

    2. go into the Playfields\Desert2 folder and copy both .raw files (map.raw & map_n.raw) into the Playfields\zzGray_EmptyPlanet folder (this was done to keep the zip file size small, and everybody should have those files anyway)

    3. go Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Content\Sectors, make a backup copy of "Sectors.yaml" and then add these lines at the bottom (below Oscutune, Temperate2):
    Code:
    # exhibition orbit and planet
    - Coordinates: [ -4, 0, -25 ]
      Color:  "0.35, 0, 0.71"
      Icon: "Star"
      Playfields:
      - [ "0, 0, 0", "Exhibition Orbit", zzGray_EmptySpace ]
      - [ "0, 0, 0", Exhibition, zzGray_EmptyPlanet ]
    
    Attention: .yaml files can be picky and really don't like tabs or spaces in the wrong place, if you mess this up the game will throw an error while loading! you can use http://yaml-online-parser.appspot.com to see if the file is ok.

    4. start a new creative game, open the map and check if you can see the purple star named "Exhibition" at the bottom of the solar system map. if it is you can port there with sector 'Exhibition' (watch the caps and spelling), then godmode + ctrl to move around fast. to enter the planet either fly there and use teleport 'Exhibition'

    5. happy exploring!

    Installation into a savegame:
    1. create a new creative game and save it, remember the name, then go back to the main menu.

    2. go into the savegame folder, it's in Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Games (if you called your savegame "wtfamIdoing", it's "Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Games\wtfamIdoing").

    3. delete the playfields folder (this will recreate everything from the default files).

    4. copy the zip into the "Templates" folder in your savegame (ie "Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Games\wtfamIdoing\Templates"), then like step 2 above copy the two .raw files into the "zzGray_EmptyPlanet" folder

    5. go into your savegames "Sectors" folder and follow step 3 above regarding backup & edit of "Sectors.yaml".

    6. tab back into the game, load the savegame. it should now have the star on the solar system map.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  2. Slipstream

    Slipstream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    294
    You are my new internet hero. Thanks, Gray!
     
    #2
  3. Kieve

    Kieve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    *Making a note here, so I remember this when I get home from work!*
     
    #3
  4. ButtonPusher

    ButtonPusher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    179
    Thank you very much!
     
    #4
  5. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    3,762
    This post deserves a STICKY!

    @Gray: maybe its easier to have a savegame and just change the player file?

    1. Copy the savegame to your SAVES folder: ..\Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Games
    2. Change EPID: Open the PLAYERS folder and change the numbers of the .ply file (do NOT overwrite, just go to properties -> change name of the file)


    Find your EPID (Empyrion player ID):

    Go to the PLAYER folder of any of your savegames
    ...\Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Games\YourSaveGame\Players

    You'll find a file with a .ply ending like 431329840.ply > The numbers in front of the .ply is your EPID
     
    #5
    Lhetre likes this.
  6. Gray

    Gray Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    192
    doesn't the player file just hold inventory, position and stuff?

    the zip is not actually a savegame, just the 2 playfield files. I could create a savegame, but I think that would be several megabyte big due to the textures and .area files (haven't tried it yet).
     
    #6
  7. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    3,762
    If you swap the EPID with yours, you start the game as that person. So basically you impersonate the player that saved the game. Not other file copying needed. Just changing the numbers in front of the .ply and the savegame will show up in the RESUME game menu. ;-)
     
    #7
    Lhetre likes this.
  8. Gray

    Gray Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    192
    but doesn't it still use the templates and other files of that savegame - and if it saves stuff, wouldn't I need to save in the new playfield?

    kinda confused right now :oops:
     
    #8
  9. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    3,762
    No. If you put everything in your savegame and upload it, everything that was placed in your savegame is available to the user accessing it.
     
    #9
  10. Enchantress

    Enchantress New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hope you do add the latest game content.
    Gonna give this a try tonight, sounds very fun!
    Thanks much for creating and sharing :)
     
    #10
  11. piddlefoot

    piddlefoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    2,052
    Damned handy in closed testing that's for sure !
    Well done Gray.
     
    #11

Share This Page