[TOOL] Empyrion Playfield Designer v1.34.3

Discussion in 'Planets & Playfields' started by jmcburn, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. [WG] Mr Fun

    [WG] Mr Fun Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    59
    congrats on "LATEST RELEASE VERSION (v1.33.7) with full Alpha 6.4 Support:" version 1337! (leet)!
     
    #441
    jmcburn likes this.
  2. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401
    UPDATE (v1.34.0) with Alpha 6.5.3 support

    Sorry for the delays in development, but summer is the busiest time at work. :)
    But there isn't much change in yaml code anyway atm.

    CHANGES:

    • added new HighRes Texture previews (a huge Thx goes to @Hummel-o-War for creating them)
      There's gonna be some additional information on each of them in the future too, as some textures produce ore (rocks), or others emit radiation, ...
    upload_2017-8-5_7-42-48.png
    • Made ItemSelector resizeable, so you can see the details of the textures.
    • Added creature 'SlimesWhite', 'Spinosauruses' and 'Megalonopses'
    DOWNLOAD LINK:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxUpWMGez5I0bFVyUGpNNE9hOWM/view?usp=sharing

    /jmc
     
    #442
    rainyday, RexXxuS and Taelyn like this.
  3. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,997
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    :D:cool:
     
    #443
  4. VirTuaL

    VirTuaL Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    so every time i want to dl the tool my pc's anti virus picks up that the EPD.exe is a Trojan:Win32/Fuery.B!cl
     
    #444
  5. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401

    It's a known issue and has been discussed earlier. EPD and other tools as well (EPG, EAH) use code obfuscation, so that c# code is somewhat protected from disassembling/reverse engineering.

    A lot of antivrus software recognizes patterns in the obfuscated code that look similar to viruses/trojans. So they flag them. But it's a false positive.

    It can be different with every new version, as the obfuscated code changes with every release as well. So sometimes a version gets flagged as virus, other times it doesn't.

    You have to exclude the folder, that you extract EPD into, from your antivirus software scanning routine. Then it should work.

    /jmc
     
    #445
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  6. VirTuaL

    VirTuaL Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Jmcburn. Now just a question. is there a guide on how to edit the description in the description tab like this
    Difficulty:[c][FFFFFF] Easy[-][/c] Origin:[c][FFFFFF] %Origin%[-][/c]


    how to change the actually text colour and make sertain words bold or underlined ?
     
    #446
  7. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401


    It's pretty much BB code, as far as i know.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBCode

    to change the color, in your example:

    [c]..... means color change start
    [FFFFFF]... is the RGB color code in hexadecimal, the first two digits are red , the second two are green, the third two are blue.
    So [FFD978] would mean for example:
    Red: FF=Hex for 255
    Green: D9=Hex for 217
    Blue: 78=Hex for 120
    FF is maximum=255
    00 is minimum=0
    [/c]... means color change end

    Every text that's between the color and the [/c] closing tag is colored in the desired color.

    For bold e.g.:
    Code:
    [b]Text to write in bold[/b]
    for bold red colored text:
    Code:
    [b][c][FF0000]Red colored bold text[/c][/b]
    You can also try to use one of EPD's color pickers to try the color you want. it shows you the RGB hex code, after you set a color you like.
    click on advanced and you'll get color field and below it it shows you the hex code. Enter it without the '#'.

    In below's example the hex code for the selected color is '6068E0'. Enter that value into the description box.

    upload_2017-8-7_18-57-54.png

    If you have any further questions, feel free to ask.

    /jmc
     
    #447
  8. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    354
    Help! There is a bug that's reeking havoc on my playfields!

    Your program is inserting a Delay: ''
    instead of nothing at all, or Delay: 0

    Empyrion doesn't like the single quotes and dies. Can you patch this please? Editing my 100+ playfield files by hand stinks.
     
    #448
  9. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401
    What delay exactly?
     
    #449
  10. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    354
    Sorry, for the creatures at the very bottom of the .yaml
     
    #450
  11. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401
    Hmm, what did you do exactly to produce this?

    As soon as you create a new creature, it defaults delay to '0' and writes out 'Delay: 0' to the yaml.
    Did you remove the preset '0' in delay on purpose?

    Only if you delete the initialized '0' in the delay, it gets emitted to Delay: ''

    That's the only way, i can reproduce this issue so far.
    That's not a bug per se, then. You can't remove the Delay line from the creatures completely as they won't spawn anymore (according to the devs).

    But i introduced a little fix routine to cleanup empty delays and set them back to 0 as soon as you save the playfield.

    Hope this helps. :)

    /jmc
     
    #451
  12. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401
    #452
    Jackall likes this.
  13. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    354
    Thanks for the hotfix.

    I did not modify the value in anyway. Here is the text from the the original .yaml (from the epdbackup):

    CreatureSpawning:
    - Biome: LavaPlains
    Entities:
    - Name: Overseers
    Period: Day
    Amount: 2
    - Name: TotalHorrors
    Period: Night
    Amount: 2
    - Biome: Mountains
    Entities:
    - Name: AlienBugs02
    Period: Always
    Amount: 1
    - Biome: Lava
    Entities:
    - Name: TotalHorrors
    Period: Always
    Amount: 3

    And from the newly generated one:

    CreatureSpawning:
    - Biome: LavaPlains
    Entities:
    - Name: Overseers
    Period: Day
    Amount: 2
    Delay: ''
    - Name: TotalHorrors
    Period: Night
    Amount: 2
    Delay: ''
    - Biome: Mountains
    Entities:
    - Name: AlienBugs02
    Period: Always
    Amount: 1
    Delay: ''
    - Biome: Lava
    Entities:
    - Name: TotalHorrors
    Period: Always
    Amount: 3
    Delay: ''

    Note it did not happen on all playfields, only a few.
     
    #453
  14. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401
    OK, i think i know what was happening.

    That was an older playfield (created with an older version of EPD), where i did not yet pre-initialize the delay value to 0.

    As you re-opened it with a newer version of EPD, it did not import the delay and therefore set it to empty (''), when saved again.

    Shouldn't be happening anymore with newer versions.
    Good to know, Thx for the info. :)

    /jmc
     
    #454
  15. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    354
    No prob, glad I could help.

    One other thing I found that you may want to look at is the "Allow CV" checkbox. It's not included by default in the .yaml so they are allowed by default, and the checkbox will be empty. If you check it and save, it just adds it as true. To *not* allow a CV, you have to check it, save and uncheck it and save.

    You might want to consider just adding a "Do NOT allow CVs" where if check adds or changes allowcvs: false. If unchecked it could just set it to true, or remove it.
     
    #455
    jmcburn likes this.
  16. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    401
    #456
    Taelyn likes this.
  17. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    354
  18. Magicslayer

    Magicslayer Ensign

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    The epd.exe file keeps being deleted. The only message I get is "This file contains a virus and might have a malicious program.", I know it's not true, is there anything we can do about this issue? I've turned windows defender off but the file is gone again when I logged on. This is exactly what I was afraid of when windows announced there crackdown on programs.
     
    #458
  19. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    354
    You need to add your downloads folder, and wherever you unzip to, to your windows defender exclusions.

    Open defender, go to settings, scroll to exclusions and add your download folder. I add my desktop as well.
     
    #459
  20. Remog

    Remog Ensign

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a little concerning to get that. How can we verify the app is clean?
     
    #460

Share This Page