[Tool] ePDA - Empyrion PDA helper v1.05

Discussion in 'The Hangar Bay' started by Exacute, Aug 4, 2017.

  1. Exacute

    Exacute Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    266
    ePDA - Empyrion PDA helper
    Your one-stop for all PDA related editing/creation.


    < Download latest version >

    Create/edit/delete Chapters, Tasks and actions in a friendly interface, helping you best utilize the functions of the PDA system.

    Features two views:
    -The bubble view, primarily intended for beginners: Offers a more fun, and gentle approach to the subject, where you can mess around a little, if you lack inspiration.
    [​IMG]
    -The PDA view: Shows you a rough estimate of how it will look ingame.
    [​IMG]

    Smooth chapter editing:
    [​IMG]
    With right side changing for Tasks, and actions

    Intelligent checks under actions, to help you pick out what you need.
    -Datamines all playfields for POIs, used NPCs, Ressources, etc.
    -Only shows relevant types for you to pick.
    -Allows manual entry, if you want something outside of the list.
    [​IMG]

    < Download latest version >

    Requirements
    -WinRar / 7zip / other software that can read a .rar file
    -A browser. Firefox is recommended. It may not work properly in other browsers

    How to install
    1. Download the latest version from the link above
    2. Go to your "Empyrion - Galactic Survival" folder in steam. (For instance "D:\APPS\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival")

    3. Pick any folder *ABOVE* "Empyrion - Galactic Survival"
    [​IMG]

    (For instance APPS in this case)

    4. Extract the files into this folder [You need some software to extract the files. WinRar, 7zip or the like]

    [​IMG]
    (Extracted files is marked with yellow)


    5. Configuration
    1. Open the file "Emp_config.txt" in your favorite editor (notepad for instance).
    2. Your file should look something like this:
    [​IMG]
    note, that there might be more/different/less options in the future. This image is from v0.996

    3. Edit atleast "fullUrl", and Scenario
    -Paste the path from step 2 here: (in this example, D:\APPS\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival) so that the line reads:
    "FullUrl":"D:\APPS\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival",
    -The scenario parameter is used to specify if you are editing a scenario. If so, specify the name of the scenario folder here. Otherwise leave it blank, for default Empyrion.
    [​IMG]

    4. Edit other variables if you want. Above each setting is a line with __comment. This explains what the setting does.

    5. Save the file
    or
    1. Open configuration.html in your browser (recommended: Firefox)
    2. Go through each step of it, and configure what you want
    -Atleast edit the "FullUrl" under "EmpyrionPath"

    [​IMG]

    3. When you are done editing variables, click the Save button, and

    3a: Overwrite the current emp_config.txt, with the one that pops up for download
    [​IMG]
    or
    3b: Manually copy and paste everything from the text-box that appears
    [​IMG]
    You can use any text editor to do so. Simply select all on the config page, copy it, open the emp_config.txt, and paste it there.

    Your emp_config.txt file should look something like this:
    [​IMG]

    6. Using it
    You can choose to either use the executable, or running it solely in your browser.
    The downside to using the browser-only version, is that you have to manually save the PDA files. These are saved automatically when using the executable. Using the executable is also convenient, and will keep backups.

    If you are using an operating system other than Windows, you can not use the executable, and have to use the browser only version.

    0. You might want to check your configurations for the executable section of the config part. This is optional.
    1. Doubleclick "emp_launcher.exe"
    2. Two windows will open:
    -One in your browser
    -One in windows; An application called 'Emp helper server'

    [​IMG]
    3. DO NOT close the application. You need this to save, if you have put the configuration "ShouldSave" to true.
    -If you close it. Launch the "emp_server.exe" file in the "emp_assets" folder.

    4. Use the tool. Click "Save" in the browser window to save your progress.
    [​IMG]
    or
    1. Open "emp_main.html" in your browser (recommended: firefox)
    2. Use the tool. Click "Save" in the browser window to save your progress.
    [​IMG]
    3. Two windows will open
    [​IMG]

    4. Open one of the windows, copy everything in there
    -Go to the PDA folder of the scenario you are editing
    -Open the file
    -Copy everything from the browser tab
    -Delete everything in the file
    -Paste what you copied into the file
    -Save the file
    Repeat for the other file.

    NOTE: This method DOES NOT automatically save. You HAVE TO follow step 4 EVERY TIME you wish to save your progress.

    Thank you

    RexXxuS for invaluable help "deciphering" the PDA format. Also for your work past 0.993, with among other things, the design!

    FAQ

    Q: How do I do X
    A: It should be fairly obvious. Incase you are unsure of something, hover the mouse over what you are unsure about, and a black popup should show, telling you what it does.
    In the bubbleView/PDAview, hover over the "hint" in the menu. This will also produce a popup.

    Q: I got an error in the browser
    A: Read the error. It is most likely due to one of three things:
    -You didn't place the files properly. Note, that they MAY NOT be in any subfolders, and should appear exactly, as step 4 in the "How to install" section shows.
    -You didn't configure the config.txt file properly. Please refer to step 5 in the "How to install" section.
    -Your PDA files are corrupt. Make sure that the PDA.yaml file *atleast* contain these two lines at the top

    Code:
    Creator: "Eleon Game Studios (RexXxuS)"
    Chapters:
    
    Q: I'm still having a hard time getting it to work
    A: Please read over the "How to install" section again. If you are still having trouble, please send your PDA.yaml, PDA.csv, and config.txt file, together with an image showing where you extracted the files to. Also make sure to include your Empyrion path.

    Q: An update occured: How do I get the newest version?
    A: Follow the download link in this post, and download the new version. First thing you should do, is check the emp_changelog.txt, under the folder emp_assets/. If there have been an update to the configuration file since your version, you have to replace *all* the current files with the new ones. If there have not been one, you can replace *all* the current files *except* the emp_config.txt, to keep your current configuration. [Remember to update the config.txt, if you overwrite it][Unsure about your current version? It's stated, when you open the emp_main.html, in your browser, as the title]

    Contribute

    If you like the tool, please feel free to contribute in one of the following ways:
    -Keep an eye out for bugs, and report them
    -See if there's anything that doesn't belong in the checks section, or if something is missing.
    -Suggest other wordings. English is my second language, so you might be able to explain some of the things better than it currently is.
    -In the checks section, re-test what is commented, and notice if it have changed ingame. [Most notes are from A6]
    -Donate: If you feel generous, I won't say no to your money. It will help me to assign more time for future updates (If you want, you can donate here: Donate via Paypal . (Please note, that I do not care for your address, etc, but paypal requires it))
    -Give feedback. Let me know what could be better, or what you would like to see in the future

    License

    You are free to use this tool for personal projects. If you intend on selling the pda entries, contact me, and we can work something out [Eleon is excluded from this rule].
    You are free to share anything you create using this tool, aslong as you don't sell it.
    You are free to modify the sourcecode for personal use only
    You may not redistribute the tool, or any modified version of it.
     
    #1
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2017
    Starwing6, Taelyn, jmcburn and 5 others like this.
  2. Exacute

    Exacute Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    266
    @RexXxuS have made a lovely spotlight on it. Please note, that you *have to* read the install part, in regards to where to put it.

     
    #2
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
    Starwing6, Pantera and RexXxuS like this.
  3. Exacute

    Exacute Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    266
    19/08-2017
    v1.05 released

    Changelog

    v1.05
    -Fixed super specific bug, if scenario folders name ended in 2, it wouldn't load properly.

    v1.04
    -Fixed bug relating to extended language-list and bubbleviews createchapter
    -Fixed PDAview not scrolling to the selected chapter (was quite a nuissance)

    v1.03
    -Improved csv-importing rules, to better take care of non-valid keys, with too many " for instance.

    v1.02
    -Added new csv-importing rules for merging of non-unique keys, and keys with spaces
    -Added support for translator one-click button

    v1.01
    -Added first iteration of NPC-playfield selector (notice: Does not include anything from POI spawners in list. Includes all from playfield otherwise)
    -Fixed executable making config file invalid, when using "attemptpathing".

    v1.0
    -First public release
    -Renamed configuration.html, to emp_configuration.html, to fit the others
    -Edited readme, to fit newer changes.

    v0.999
    -Added possibility to always launch the ePDA tool from any section and not only on the last one
    -Changed Reordered sections on the Config page with better logic
    -Changed Redesigned the areas for chapters, tasks and actions
    -Changed Redesigned the check area
    -Changed Redesigned the signal area
    -Changed some orderings and styles
    -Fixed wrong html properties and missing minimize button for Tasks > Actions UI view
    -Changed Better default config

    v0.998
    -Created save-to-drive for configuration.html (for ease of save)
    -Navigation additions to configuration.html
    -Added playfield narrowing function to check-section of actions

    v0.997
    -Added redesign and rework of configuration.html
    -Added additional styles to pdaView
    -Added option to go to config page straight from ePDA main page back and forth
    -Added temporary logo / favicon
    -Changed speed values for background animation

    v0.996
    -Fixed noBubbles related errors
    -Added new settings to configuration.html

    v0.995
    -Added noBubbles setting, to disable bubbles
    -Added setting for animated background

    v0.994
    -Fixed errors from new design
    -Fixed missing styling

    v0.993
    -Cleaned up the assets folder (reorganized)
    -Added design assets
    -Changed overall design, added icons, changed colors.

    v0.992
    -Added changelog
    -Fixed tooltip for select field on "Bound to". Wrong text.
    -Added amount slider for Itemspickedup check
    -Added manual input for all types,names in checks (before: only for some) to account for eventual missing data.
    -Fixed translation stars, to only output one, in the end. (before: Placeholder***, now Placeholder*)
    -Added validation of csv (no keys will be removed)
    -Changed behaviour of translation. If blank, will be left blank. Placeholders will not be added. Still appends a * if it is not blank.
    -Added "shortenOutput" to config (under Settings) (boolean). Allows for outputs to be shortened.
    -Added "inactiveBubbles" to config (under Settings) (integer). Will disable bubbles after amount to reduce lag on high chapter amount.
    -Fixed some missing creations of csv keys (completedmessage)
    -Fixed bug relating to creating several tasks and actions on same chapter. (Actions didn't always append properly to the correct task)
    -Fixed bug relating to amounts >10000 not getting properly added in rewards
    -In rewards, defaults to current value in popup (before was 1)
    -Added generic types "Animal","Hostile" to subjectKilled check
    -Updated list over WindowOpened conditions
    -Updated configuration.html, to support new options.
    -Added consolidate function to configuration.html. You can now import old config files, and have it merged with new settings.
    -Fixed some visuals in pdaview
    -Added sort-function to pdaview (sort chapters by dragndropping). This will affect the ingame order aswell.

    18/08-2017
    v1.04 released

    13/08-2017
    v1.03 released

    08/08-2017
    v1.01 released
     
    #3
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017 at 4:54 AM
  4. RexXxuS

    RexXxuS Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    298
    If you want to start the ePDA Tool in Chrome or other Chromium based Browsers make sure to set the local file policy to it.
    Make sure to start the tool then from this shortcut.
    Please look here:

    upload_2017-8-4_22-34-39.png

    1: Locate the browsers shortcut on your computer (usually in Start [c:/users/<yourusername>/AppData/Roaming/Microsoft/Windows/<StartMenu in your language>/<Programs in your language>/]). Alternatively, click windows+r, and paste %appdata%, this will get you to the Roaming folder directly.
    If you are using win10, you will find it here instead [c:/ProgramData/Microsoft/Windows/StartMenu/Programs]
    You can alternatively open the start-menu, right click on the chrome icon (if it's there), and pick "Open filefolder". This will also get you there.
    2: Right click the executable, and click Properties
    3: Go to the tab "Shortcut" (different in your language)
    4: In the input box "Destination" (different in your language), add this
    Code:
    --allow-file-access-from-files
    
    After the path, before the "
     
    #4
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
    Exacute likes this.
  5. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    5,063
    Awesome!

    .. /stickied
     
    #5
  6. Keith Hovey

    Keith Hovey Commander

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    101
    I am so excited to see this!! I am however not able to get it to function correctly. Different browsers have different issues too.

    Firefox: Launching with the Exe.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    It does not at all seem to be able to even see the config file.

    No idea what chrome's issues is at all. It opens fine but config shows almost nothing.

    [​IMG]

    But i do not get an error opening the main html, just shows nothing is available.

    Any idea what I may be doing wrong?
     
    #6
  7. RexXxuS

    RexXxuS Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    298
    Hey,

    yeah I should have double mention it in the video instead of just skipping it but again the installation process is mandatory.
    In your case the sub folder Apps is wrong.

    upload_2017-8-7_18-58-49.png

    It really has to be placed above so it can crawl the Empyrion folder recursively below.

    RexXxuS
     
    #7
  8. Keith Hovey

    Keith Hovey Commander

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    101
    Ahhhhhh ok. I had wondered lol. Thank you very much RexXxuS :)

    Still does not allow me to configure, still says it cant find its own config file or that its corrupt. Realizing some more info may be helpful.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Still getting strange errors, using latest firefox just in case that matters. Maybe it requires a specific directory on a specific drive??
     
    #8
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2017
  9. Exacute

    Exacute Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    266
    Notice: v1.01 released.
    If you downloaded v1.0, and used the executable, this will fix your errors here. Please refresh your config.txt file, if you used the executable.
    Thank you @Keith Hovey for patience tracking it down!
     
    #9
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2017
  10. Keith Hovey

    Keith Hovey Commander

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    101
    Thank you as well for issuing a prompt fix. Im usually pretty good about making mental notes about what I do and do not edit. Thank you Yaml Files for all of those edits over the last 1500 hours of game play lol.
     
    #10
    Exacute likes this.
  11. Exacute

    Exacute Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    266
    #11
  12. steenhole

    steenhole Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi. Thank you for your tool and the work that went into it.

    The issue I'm having is getting the custom PDA to pull up on a MP server. I've placed both the yaml and csv into the /extras/PDA folder. Any ideas?

    I tested it after a full wipe, of course.
     
    #12
  13. Exacute

    Exacute Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    266
    Hi Steenhole,
    Glad you liked the tool (so far ;) )
    I don't have much experience with MP. Have you got it working in SP? (that's a good start). Which category are you using for the PDA entries?
    (you can easily check if it works in SP, by replacing the default PDA.yaml, and PDA.csv in the normal folder. I recommend making a backup of the actual ones, if you do play SP :p)
    If you can't get it working in SP, I will need your files to check what the problem might be.
    If you can get it working in SP, it's likely something about how to place it in a server. If so, let's see from there.

    -Exa
     
    #13
  14. Keith Hovey

    Keith Hovey Commander

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    101
    are you using a scenario?
     
    #14
  15. steenhole

    steenhole Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    14
    No. Standard build.
     
    #15
  16. steenhole

    steenhole Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'll test those in SP to confirm. I'll also toss an inquiry out in Hangar Bay to see if anyone knows offhand.
     
    #16
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
  17. Keith Hovey

    Keith Hovey Commander

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    101
    A few ideas from past issues I have had.

    1. Verify at the bottom of your dedicated.Yaml that there is not a scenario selected! Just in case.
    2. Clear your game cache (Client caches the PDA files locally). Shut down the game go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Cache And delete all the files that are INSIDE of the cache folder while the client is NOT running. You need to do this EVERY time you make a change to the server PDA files!!
    3. Make sure to shut down the server before you write over or replace the PDA files.
     
    #17
  18. RexXxuS

    RexXxuS Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    298
    Thanks.

    First of all yes, PDA on MP is possible. I implemented it to the MP scenario Invader vs Defender and heavily on HWS of course.
    Your issue sounds most likely due your structure of files / folder etc.

    Try always to create your own scenario folder and never work in the default structure like Content/Playfields or Content/Extras or Content/Scenarios/Default MP etc.

    Just create a new folder in Content/Scenarios/steenhole MP and work there.
    The easiest way would be to duplicate the Invader vs Defender folder, put there everything you made into it and adjust the paths in your tools like ePDA, EPD, etc.
    Make sure you have set in your dedicated.yaml your "steenhole MP" as a scenario.

    RexXxuS

    P.S.:
    Nope, you don't have to do this. Otherwise I would have been already an old grey man (;

    Also not really needed. There are no write permissions on these files. The Clients are just downloading it meanwhile. That is why there is the "pda readdata" command in the game.
     
    #18
    Exacute likes this.
  19. Keith Hovey

    Keith Hovey Commander

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    101
    Its definitely a heck of a lot easier in the end... Not everyone sees it as obvious though because the server defaults to the main folders on installation. Which makes no sense if its not intended to work that way. Why intend people to make so many changes that are poorly documented right off rip? Im sure glad they made multiplayer easier for randos to access and find.

    Also... There are minor differences between the scenario folder and the main content folder that may not be very apparent at first. Like the location of the vendor config file is not obvious until you look at the differences between an already created scenario folder and the main content folder. Also localization.csv does not need to be in the scenario folder. Thats why i didnt want to dive into all of that... A LOT of servers have not been set up "properly" because they just cant find documentation describing what proper is or even how half the darn thing works coherently. On top of that... Its a lot to be bombarded with and it doesnt make a lot of sense at first until you dig for a while.

    As for the PDA thing... I'll add that to my command list for sure. I had no idea that command even existed because until a week ago i never even bothered diving into the pda so no searching was done. To be honest in the entire time I have been playing this game Ive never even used it but once until very recently. It seemed to break immersion to me and the feature is like something out of a space game in the late 80's. I hope at some point that changes... But It's an Early Access game so who knows. Only reason im paying any mind to it now is because "in game" documentation is extremely helpful at the moment Plus having a popup on new player login is amazingly helpful. But editing it has been an absolute pain in the rear until this tool recently surfaced to do it. It was another poorly documented feature. Kind of like everything else for the dedicated server. If you dig a lot and experiment patiently for hours on end you MIGHT figure it out but dont expect much help.

    Im sure eventually that will change but in the meantime... It just is what it is.

    I realize that all kind of sounds harsh... But its a very frustrating issue. I freaking love playing this game.

    What do we do when people stop releasing and updating tools that simplify this stuff. Or when a tool is broken due to an update and just cant be updated quick and easy. Just seems like we are patching one problem to cover up another problem that may eventually end up just being another problem lol.
     
    #19
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017
  20. steenhole

    steenhole Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    14
    So, Empy always pulls from a scenario in MP? The default scenario being default multiplayer (which I thought to be a flag to pull from the master files)? If these elements are true, should I then create a scenario and completely copy or place any custom playfields and prefabs into the scenario, or will Empy draw from the default content/playfields etc?

    Quick additional question: Are save files linked to scenarios? So, let's say I create a scenari, Alpha, for a server that already has an active save file. Will the players be able to use the save when the scenario is set to Alpha or does there need to be a complete wipe of the save?

     
    #20
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017

Share This Page