Fixed 1.8.3 bug: when blueprint spawning, some parts of ship are missing. [00336]

Discussion in 'Fixed' started by urialia, Jul 7, 2022.

  1. urialia

    urialia Ensign

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Build: 1.8.3
    Mode: default game
    Mode: single player (tested in survival, creative, freedom)

    SERVER NAME:
    SEED-ID:

    If applicable:
    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS:

    Reproducibility: every time using blueprint
    Severity: high

    Type: blueprint

    Summary: cockpits, modular wings, seats are missing spawned via blueprint.

    Description: spawning a ship via blueprint, some parts of ship are missing: cockpit 6, cockpit 6 (armored), cockpit 6 (Legacy), modular wings (tilted), passenger seats. cockpits are covered by other blocks and wings are set between other blocks too. passenger seats are set next to sv constructor and fridge. i uploaded record to youtube, please check my video.

    Steps to Reproduce: start new game, using blueprint.
    1)
    2)
    3)

    Screenshots, Crash Logs, any other Relevant Information or Download links:
    here is video link:


    you can check this bug by my workshop:
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2578321104
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2583765447
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2584567945
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2831535923
     
    #1
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2022
    Garaman likes this.
  2. Garaman

    Garaman Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    426
    I think at some point the game started resolving cases where block bounds were overlapping by removing the offending blocks. That wing piece causes issues for me because you can place it almost flush up against a jet thruster, but since some of the bounding voxels clip into the engine it bugs out when spawned or retrieved. I imagine the cockpit is doing the same thing since the nose piece is embedded in the front blocks. The game probably shouldn't let you -- or have ever let you -- place it there.

    Actually, I need to check some of my blueprints. I probably have blocks intersecting with the passenger seat bounds on them.
     
    #2
    Germanicus likes this.
  3. Garaman

    Garaman Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    426
    Hah, yep. There used to be a seat here. It won't even let me place it anymore. Used to be all you needed were the 3 blocks the physical space of the chair mesh occupied. It appears now that the two LCD emitters I have on the roof above where my chair is supposed to be (which occupy the top to voxels of the 2x3 chair model) now prevent the chair from spawning in.

    [​IMG]

    Interestingly the same thing happens with the cockpits on the "KVE Jaguar NXT" and "ZeroG Phantom" HV prefabs, but not the "FORGE Maverick" SV prefab. All 3 frames have only a 2x2x8 space in which the 2x2x9 cockpit is placed.
    [​IMG]
     
    #3
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2022
    Germanicus likes this.
  4. urialia

    urialia Ensign

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    super thanks for your double checking, Garaman! as you said, mesh overlapping of certain devices occur removing from blueprint. maybe more bug to other blueprints according to this new mesh checking system... thanks to your info!
     
    #4
    Germanicus likes this.
  5. XLJedi

    XLJedi Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2021
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    62
    #5
  6. LyfeForse

    LyfeForse Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    21
    For more information see here Bug Report Template

    Build: Current one as of 8/19/22
    Mode: Vanilla or standard Empyrion
    Mode: Creative

    SERVER NAME:
    SEED-ID:

    If applicable:
    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS:

    Reproducibility:
    Severity: Very severe

    Type:

    Summary: Small vessel builds sometimes not spawning in with wings and cockpit (long cockpit aka Xwing cockpit), and angled tapered wings.

    Description:

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1) Start Empyrion
    2) Select a SV build with wings and long cockpit
    3) Gamble. Sometimes it will spawn in without wings and cockpit.




    My ship should spawn in with wings and a cockpit. For many people downloading it on workshop, it is not.
    https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/filedetails/?id=2850891298

    [​IMG]


    I can spend hours making directions in LCD's for players on how to properly use and upgrade a build, and hours making instructional videos to the same end to help people, some of which are new, and appreciate the videos for helping them not be intimidated by their experience getting into the game.

    What I can't do is be able to tell people how to navigate around a bug, that I have no idea on how to solve, so that these people can enjoy their experience with my builds, and for some, their new experience to Empyrion.

    There's many of us builders out here, trying to push this game that we are passionate about, more towards an aesthetic value of something representing Star Citizen, and less so like Minecraft. We can ignore things like the devices not showing up in creative, till you rotate them a couple times. But when it comes to entire sections of a ship not spawning in, that's beyond our scope.

    The issues with the wings and long cockpit has been reported before, so im not sure where to go from here. I can't control that. What can I tell people on my workshop page that are looking to enjoy their Empyrion experience?
     
    #6
    jmaasing and Moobear like this.
  7. Pantera

    Pantera Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    6,780
    A fix for this will be available with our next release which will first appear on the experimental branch next week.
    For this issue specifically you will need to place a new cockpit & overwrite the blueprint for it to work in builds that appear from v1.8.10 onwards.
     
    #7
    LyfeForse, ravien_ff and Germanicus like this.
  8. TwitchyJ

    TwitchyJ Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    59
    Eleon will need to make sure they check and resave all their prefabs then, as I have seen this issue with multiple of them as well.
     
    #8
  9. Pantera

    Pantera Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    6,780
    We already have noted the 7 that needed updating for this.
     
    #9
    Germanicus and TwitchyJ like this.
  10. Garaman

    Garaman Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    426
    Is it just the long cockpit that needs to be replaced and resaved, or also the wings / pilot seat / passenger seats that were also manifesting the issue?
     
    #10
    urialia, Germanicus and TwitchyJ like this.
  11. urialia

    urialia Ensign

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    happy to hear that! thanks for your works eleon!
     
    #11
  12. LyfeForse

    LyfeForse Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    21
    Does this also include the wings? or is this just cockpit? thanks
     
    #12

Share This Page