[solved] Adding custom POI / structure

Discussion in 'Planets & Playfields' started by Sephrajin, Feb 17, 2018.

  1. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Heyas

    Just wondering, what am I doing wrong?

    1) In regular game (sp, mp, creative), i made some blueprints.
    2) added them to different groups (example: vertigo-ba, vertigo-cv....)
    3) copied the according files to the prefab section of my scenario
    4) in space, I add a fix POI directly with the name, works fine

    So far, so good.....

    5) on planet, I add a random POI, select group 'vertigo-ba' and enter the building (and bp) its name in:
    5.1) just Planetary vessel setup name
    5.2) just The drone setup name
    5.3) None of the two (both field empty)
    5.4) Both of the two (both fields refer to the building its name)

    None of 5 works, all come up with the continue bug, and remain in the loading screen.
    When I try it with a fixed POI, it doesnt show up.

    Any hints please?
     
    #1
  2. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Correction...

    When i use FIXED poi, its continue bug DURING loading screen, that doesnt continue.
    When i use RANDOM poi, its continue bug AFTER loading screen, beeing playable afterwards.
    Neither of which shows up with ENTS, having 43 enteties on the field.

    Here's the (combined) code:
    Code:
      - GroupName: Vertigo-POI
        PlanetVesselBaseSetup: ''
        DroneBaseSetup: TD Easy
        CountMinMax: [1, 1]
        DroneProb: 0.10000000000000001
        DronesMinMax: [1, 1]
        ReserveCount: 1
        SpawnPOINear: []
        SpawnPOIAvoid: []
        SpawnResource: []
        Properties:
        - Key: MapDistance
          Value: 15000
      Fixed:
      - Type: POI SEA easy Tower Def
        Prefab: POI SEA easy Tower Def
        Mode: Survival
        Name: Tower Defence I
        Pos: [1750, 118, -409]
        Rot: [0, -42, 0]
        InitPower: True
        Properties:
        - Key: MapDistance
          Value: 15000
        SpawnResource: []
    
    Any and every hint apreciated.
     
    #2
  3. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Actualy, I'd just need the link to the proper wiki page, cant find it anymore :(
     
    #3
  4. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    707
    The "MapDistance" with 15000 ?!? Remove the "properties" section and test again. What exception shown in the console?
     
    #4
  5. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    #5
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2018
  6. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    707
    OK, but with
    Fixed:
    - Type: POI SEA easy Tower Def
    how did it work in space?
     
    #6
  7. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Map distance is so you SEE the HUD marker from said distance.
    I just cannot image that this should/should/could have ANY influence on the placing of the POI itself.

    You know.... just IN CASE THIS F:::reaking POI WOULD NOT CAUSE AN ERROR.
    So i could 'see' it, and fly directly to it, to check it out.

    But thanks for the reply anyway.

    What irritates me is this....


    I DID WHAT THE WIKI SAIS.....


    1. I did as 5. said... with several attempts/tries..

    1. Error Mesage is:
     
    #7
  8. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    No man, i did not copy paste 1:1 for (or from) that... but from other stuff...
    -> my point was, 'it' (not this) worked for space poi's (as in, i managed to get it working - unlike THIS which wont)

    But this stuff i changed wont work, and i wasnt sure, now i am, that i followd the proper order / did the right changes.
    But as it seems, i did, but it still wont work.
     
    #8
  9. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    707
    From the: ...\empyrion\Content\Playfields\ExamplePlanet\playfield.yaml
    Fixed:
    - Type: BA_Alien # Type of blueprint (BA, SV, HV, CV) - for Survival use BA_Alien
    Prefab: BA_Outpost-AkuaV2 # Filename of blueprint
    Mode: Creative # Creative or Survival
    ...
     
    #9
  10. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Ok ok.. lets compare:

    Example planet.yaml
    Code:
    POIs:             
        Random:
            - GroupName: Wreckage                # Group name of POI
              # Type: SV_Player                  # Optional for special type of POI: SV_Player, HV_Player, CV_Player. If not used, then POI is a Base (default setting)
              CountMinMax: [ 1, 1 ]              # Range of number of POIs of this group to distribute on planet
              DroneProb: 0                       # Probability that a POI is defended by drones
              DronesMinMax: [ 1, 1 ]             # Range of number of drones that defend POI
              ReserveCount: 1                    # Number of drones that will be replaced when destroyed
              TroopTransport: False              # If troop transport will be sent   
              PlayerStart: True                  # Use with first POI if player should be spawned here, use a Count of 1 for such POIs (CountMinMax: [ 1, 1 ])
              Properties:
                - Key: PersonalContainer         # Personal Container
                  Value: "Drill, Chainsaw, BioFuel:4, ConstructorSurvival, OxygenGeneratorSmall, AutoMinerCore:5, Core, TomatoStage1, WheatStage1, CornStage1, PumpkinStage1, PearthingStage1, DurianRoot, RadiationPills, EVABoost"      # Content of Personal Container
                - Key: MapDistance               # Sets visibility of map markers in meters. Optional property to override the default visibility setting.
                  Value: 500                     # Reveals map marker if player is 500m away from object. If set to 0, map marker will never be revealed 
                - Key: MapMarker                 # Sets color of HUD marker
                  Value: Neutral                 # Neutral means the HUD marker is white       
    
            - GroupName: DroneBaseAkua
              DroneBaseSetup: DroneBaseSetupAkua
              CountMinMax: [ 1, 1 ]         
              DroneProb: 1           
              DronesMinMax: [ 2, 3 ]           
              ReserveCount: 3             
              SpawnPOIAvoid: [Wreckage]
              SpawnPOIAvoidDistance: 1500
              Properties: 
                - Key: RegenAfter                # Enable regeneration of POI if it has been "visited" and no player is in its vicinity
                  Value: 250                     # Regenerate timer in realtime minutes (72 realtime minutes = 24h in-game)             
                 
    Code:
    POIs:
      Random:
      - GroupName: Vertigo-POI
        CountMinMax: [1, 1]
        DroneProb: 0.10000000000000001
        DronesMinMax: [1, 1]
        ReserveCount: 1
        SpawnPOINear: []
        SpawnPOIAvoid: []
        SpawnResource: []
        Properties:
        - Key: RegenAfter
          Value: 12
      - GroupName: CivilSettlement
        CountMinMax: [1, 2]
        DroneProb: 0.10000000000000001
        DronesMinMax: [1, 1]
        ReserveCount: 1
        TroopTransport: True
        InitPower: True
        SpawnPOINear: []
        SpawnPOIAvoid: []
        SpawnResource: []
        Properties:
        - Key: RegenAfter
          Value: 24
        - Key: PersonalContainer
          Value: AutoMinerCore, SpaceOrange:4
    The 'prefab' part is:
    1. optional
    2. only recomended if it not a base, but the ONLY poi i have in the group POI is a base... so0ooooooo.....

    /sarcasm on

    Yeah, my code is totaly screwed up.. its just looking the very same...

    /sarcasm off

    Hence i'm sorry for my tone/tune, but the topic is freaking me out at the moment.
     
    #10
  11. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    707
    Attention the syntax / semantics is very different between "random" and "fixed" POIs - and here you are again in the "random" part ;-)
     
    #11
  12. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Not again, but still... i was always requesting help for the random part on the planet.
    If you understood my the othre way around, i'm sorry for the misunderstanding.
     
    #12
  13. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    707
    Alright, but in your code at the top you have an error in the "fixed" part and unfortunately, every error affects loading the playfield.yaml until loading the whole scenario :-(

    Otherwise, if you have a POI with the GROUP NAME "Vertigo-POI" the ExamplePlanet.yaml should work!?!
     
    #13
  14. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    707
    And what was the problem with your playfield? And what was the solution?
     
    #14
  15. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Based on your error messages, i'm not entirely convinced, that this is about the POI.

    The error message states that an 'index' (Integer) is out of range. The fact that it worked in space could also mean that the entry that is causing the error line is not used by space playfields and thus ignored when in space.

    But it's too hard to diagnose with only those few lines of code.

    If you want, you could upload the playfield and the POI (epb file) that's causing the issue, and i'll have a look. But no promises. Errors in playfield can be really hard to find sometimes. :)

    /jmc
     
    #15
    Sephrajin likes this.
  16. LiftPizzas

    LiftPizzas Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    IIRC using spaces in the names (POI SEA easy Tower Def) is a problem. Notice that all the built-in POIs use underscores.

    Also there is no precedent for using null pointers. Like this:
    SpawnPOINear: []

    It's using this data to address an array. Who knows if the parser that crashes on a tab character is doing its own bounds checking, and you're telling it element null is where it should look.
     
    #16
    Sephrajin likes this.
  17. SilvRav

    SilvRav Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    882
    agree, spaces in names for programming is a no no.


    I would also reduce your drone prob...not sure if the .10000000000000001 is also screwing it up
     
    #17
  18. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    The spaces in the groupname were also one of my concerns.

    Empty arrays/lists like 'SpawnPOINear: []' should not cause any problems. It's EPDs default output and at least worked just fine until Alpha 7.0. :)
    There are only some few empty/null outputs the game chokes on and I filtered those out in EPDs yaml save routine. ;)

    /jmc
     
    #18
    Sephrajin and SilvRav like this.
  19. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    Yeah those spaces and arrays, gee why did i forget, it would have been obvious (to me) if it was a shell script and not a yaml :p
    After 15 years using undercores, when i finaly managed to get rid of the habit, i'll need it again, great, just great.

    Ok guys thanks so much already, running a test without spaces in name.
    I'll update in a few minutes then.
     
    #19
  20. Sephrajin

    Sephrajin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    lol this drives me crazy... really..

    Now listen up, about those spaces.....
    1) I just re-saved the 'Tower Defence Easy' to (the struct name, the safe file name) POI_SEA_TD_EASY.
    2) Copied to the the scenario folder
    2.5) Quit game
    3) reloaded prefabs of EPD,
    4) removed old entry and added again
    5) saved and started game...

    Guess what...
    Error again, BUUUUUUT, it loads 'a' POI of mine, the "SEA Space Mining HUB adm bak" without a hickup... (cant be much more spaces in that name, can it?)
    Well, that error message aside, but with all previous runs, i did not have ANY custom poi on the planet, so we're getting somewhere :)

    I'll do another run with this poi renamed and assigend to the space group, no need for space buildings on a planet xD

    Just thought i'll let you know.


    Cross your fingers please!
     
    #20

Share This Page