Alpha 10.2: Improvements and Bug Fixes - Part II

Discussion in 'Patch Notes' started by EleonGameStudios, Jul 2, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,897
    Likes Received:
    8,020
    This is great news. I love volumetric lighting for *some* things, it does add a lot of cool atmosphere but it also makes exterior lighting hard to see through.
     
    #21
  2. xerxes86

    xerxes86 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    54
    How much memory do you have? That makes a huge difference, video memory, and system memory. I have an older machine (about 2 years old) and don't have too many problems. I also have 8GB of video memory and 64GB of system memory. I learned a long time ago you can't have too much memory.
     
    #22
  3. ASTIC

    ASTIC Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    382
    A nice video from my friend Olly on our server ... with the EmpyrionScripting & EmpyrionInventorySort mod ;-)
     
    #23
    TK85 likes this.
  4. mR_kAt

    mR_kAt Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    706
    System memory over 16 GB in an older rig, get really poor returns for this game. Video memory seems to be more valuable, along with HDD access speed.

    Also, there are still some weird areas in the game where frame rates take huge dives. It doesn't happened at cluttered areas either so much but it mostly dependent on biomes.

    I've been reluctant to test the game of late due to the HP bar. It is that cumbersome to me. I can't target mobs well with it appearing all of the time. It also adds to an already cumbersome HUD.

    I can see 4 solutions to help with the "HP bar" problem, that would please people on both side of the fence of the feature.

    #1) Allow an in game key binding that turns off and on HP bars on your HUD.

    #2) Add a piece of equipment (like how night vision works) that allows you to equip the feature on and off as you see fit

    #3) Add an option to the startup menu that enable/disables it.

    #4) Allow the HP bar to be disabled via a config file under the hood.
     
    #24
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  5. roggab

    roggab Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    I didn't have money for buy 8 gb video card. I'm buy 4 gb.
     
    #25
  6. roggab

    roggab Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    This game is the most voracious I've seen. Just awful!
     
    #26
  7. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    4,482
    Update: July 4, 2019 - Alpha 10.2.1 (Build 2523)

    Changes:
    - Refinement of C/T tool by adding "Remove" toggle > it is now possible to remove symbols without changing color or texture
    - Adjusted HP and Mass of new Cockpits (added with A10)
    - Adjusted HP of Armored Double Doors
    - Removed Reload Delay from Alien Turrets and Sentries
    - Increased Anti-Shield Effect for Plasma Turret and Plasma 2 Turret (doubled)
    - New Ion Turret (Alien) now has EMP effect that only damages Shields (significantly)
    - Increased recharge speed for SV Shield (2/3) and HV (1/3)
    - Renamed (only loca change): Ion Cannon (Alien) > Plasma Turret (Alien), Ion Cannon 2 (Alien) > Plasma Turret 2 (Alien)

    Bug Fixes:
    - Fixed: [MP] Shield is regenerating after being hit
    - Fixed: Currently not possible to start building underwater
    - Fixed: MP RtoBP issue with template password auto repair option
    - Fixed: Playfield server boot timeout check, improved log output to see how long a pf server needs to boot / prepare

    Known Issue:
    - Missing localisation when repairing a vessel with a lock code in auto mode in R2B
     
    #27
    Sofianinho, ravien_ff and Germanicus like this.
  8. Zaflis

    Zaflis Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    188
    Why was this needed? The problem was that SV's got their shields damaged too quickly, and this is what we get? They're so weak right now that even a single drone will rip the hull to pieces while you are raiding POI, and first moment you hear gunfire you rush back to ship - too late. And don't get me started on what it would be like on harder planets or normal/hard difficulty :p

    I'll have to remind here that many people who browse these forums and post suggestions are hardcore players. You don't want to balance the main game (easy/normal difficulty) based on their demands.

    And the reason i keep making breaks with the game is the brutal difficulty. I play on easy just so it's barely manageable. But even still a single rocket zirax can one shot me in heavy armor. Even Doom had easier combat than this. And nothing saves you if falling into POI trapholes, that kind of mechanics should just not be there at all. Invisible spawners with fast rate+strong aliens etc... The endgame is just a big nope.

    The whole volume system itself was uncalled for. If i couldn't carry 4000 ores on player i'd just quit. Instead of limiting what we carry, you could build the game around it. Make things to do with all our masses of resources, like donating them for faction reputations, maybe buying/trading some expensive things from factions. Even without any of new things we have giant blueprints we can make or get from workshop. Build more ships, AI controlled ones to form a whole fleet of them. There could even be faction wars and you could donate those ships to them. Point being, there would never be a point where something feels too many resources. Have 3 AI controlled CV's escort your SV maybe while you are raiding POI, taking care of all those nasty drones. It would cost a lot of fuel to maintain all them, but with autominers that never deplete veins in addition to all manual mining you can deal with it.
     
    #28
    Moonsugar and born4poker like this.
  9. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    5,481
    @Zaflis
    Than give your Thanks to all those who came before you and argued, demanded and threatened-to-leave-the-game if there are no improvements in the difficulties to fight and beat the "Ruling Class". Because they are faaaaaar to easy.:rolleyes:
     
    #29
  10. jesterjunk

    jesterjunk Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    272
    The strength of the shields is completely in your control to be changed as you see fit, in both Single Player and Multiplayer Dedicated Server.

    All you have to do is copy or rename your Config_Example.ecf to a file named Config.ecf in the same directory and then make the changes in that file with a text editor and then save it and restart your client or server if it was running while you were editing the file.


    The directories that you will find the Config_Example.ecf file in are:

    Single Player
    \steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Content\Configuration\Config_Example.ecf​

    Multiplayer Dedicated Server
    \steamapps\common\Empyrion - Dedicated Server\Content\Configuration\Config_Example.ecf​


    The values in the code blocks shown below are all default values for all 7 of the shield generators that currently exist in Empyrion:

    Code:
    { Block Id: 1808, Name: ShieldGeneratorBA
      Group: cpgEquipment
      Material: metal
      ShowBlockName: true
      IsAccessible: true, type: bool
      MaxCount: 1, type: int, display: true
      StackSize: 1
      Category: Devices
      BlockColor: "110,110,110"
      HitPoints: 1000, type: int, display: true
      Mass: 8000, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 800, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      EnergyIn: 25000, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      EnergyInIdle: 1000, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      ShieldCapacity: 25000, type: int, display: true
      ShieldRecharge: 150, type: int, display: true
      ShieldCooldown: 15, type: int, display: true
      ShieldPerCrystal: 1000, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 12, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 10, display: true
      TechTreeParent: GravityGeneratorMS
      TechTreeNames: Base
    }
    Code:
    { Block Id: 1812, Name: ShieldGeneratorBAT2, Ref: ShieldGeneratorBA
      Info: bkiShieldGeneratorT2, display: true
      Mass: 10000, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 800, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      EnergyIn: 50000, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      EnergyInIdle: 1500, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      ShieldCapacity: 50000, type: int, display: true
      ShieldRecharge: 150, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 20, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 15, display: true
      TechTreeParent: ShieldGeneratorBA
      TechTreeNames: Base
    }
    Code:
    { Block Id: 1809, Name: ShieldGeneratorCV, Ref: ShieldGeneratorBA
      HitPoints: 500, type: int, display: true
      Mass: 4000, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 600, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      EnergyIn: 18000, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      EnergyInIdle: 800, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      ShieldCapacity: 18000, type: int, display: true
      ShieldRecharge: 120, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 12, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 10, display: true
      TechTreeParent: GravityGeneratorMS
      TechTreeNames: Capital Vessel
    }
    Code:
    { Block Id: 1811, Name: ShieldGeneratorCVT2, Ref: ShieldGeneratorCV
      Info: bkiShieldGeneratorT2, display: true
      Mass: 6000, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 600, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      EnergyIn: 36000, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      EnergyInIdle: 1600, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      ShieldCapacity: 36000, type: int, display: true
      ShieldRecharge: 120, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 20, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 15, display: true
      TechTreeParent: ShieldGeneratorCV
      TechTreeNames: Capital Vessel
    }
    Code:
    { Block Id: 1888, Name: ShieldGeneratorHV, Ref: ShieldGeneratorBA
      HitPoints: 250, type: int, display: true
      Mass: 2000, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 300, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      EnergyIn: 3600, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      EnergyInIdle: 360, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      ShieldCapacity: 6000, type: int, display: true
      ShieldRecharge: 400, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 10, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 7, display: true
      TechTreeParent: FuelTankSV
      TechTreeNames: Hover Vessel
    }
    Code:
    { Block Id: 1810, Name: ShieldGeneratorSV, Ref: ShieldGeneratorBA
      HitPoints: 250, type: int, display: true
      Mass: 2000, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 300, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      EnergyIn: 3600, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      EnergyInIdle: 360, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
      ShieldCapacity: 4000, type: int, display: true
      ShieldRecharge: 500, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 10, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 7, display: true
      TechTreeParent: FuelTankSV
      TechTreeNames: Small Vessel
    }

    This value can be modified by adding the same line that is used in the code blocks above.
    Code:
    { Block Id: 1813, Name: ShieldGeneratorPOI, Ref: ShieldGeneratorBA
      TemplateRoot: ShieldGeneratorBA
      UnlockCost: 0
      UnlockLevel: 1
      TechTreeParent:
      TechTreeNames:
    }
     
    #30
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  11. jesterjunk

    jesterjunk Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    272
    The strength of Armor is completely in your control to be changed as you see fit, in both Single Player and Multiplayer Dedicated Server.

    All you have to do is copy or rename your Config_Example.ecf to a file named Config.ecf and make the changes in that file with a text editor and then save it and restart the client if it was running while you were editing the file.


    The directories that you will find the Config_Example.ecf file in are:

    Single Player
    \steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Content\Configuration\Config_Example.ecf​

    Multiplayer Dedicated Server
    \steamapps\common\Empyrion - Dedicated Server\Content\Configuration\Config_Example.ecf​


    The values in the code blocks shown below are all default values for all 4 of the Armors that currently exist in Empyrion:

    Code:
    { Item Id: 2648, Name: ArmorLight
      Mass: 8, type: float, display: false, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 2, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      VolumeCapacity: 100, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      StackSize: 1
      Category: Weapons/Items
      Durability: 400, display: true
      Oxygen: 375, type: int, display: true
      Armor: 135, type: int, display: true
      Heat: 10, type: int, display: true
      Cold: 25, type: int, display: true
      Radiation: 4, type: int, display: true
      FallDamageFac: 0.40, type: float, display: true
      PowerFac: 0.66, type: float, display: true
      SpeedFac: 0.85, type: float, display: true
      JumpFac: 0.67, type: float, display: true
      JetpackFac: 1.20, type: float, display: true
      FoodFac: 1.44, type: float, display: true
      StaminaFac: 1.21, type: float, display: true
      NrSlots: 2, type: int, display: true
      UnlockCost: 2, display: true
      UnlockLevel: 5, display: true
      TechTreeNames: Weapons
    }
    Code:
    { Item Id: 2649, Name: ArmorMedium
      Mass: 18, type: float, display: false, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 3, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      VolumeCapacity: 150, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      StackSize: 1
      Category: Weapons/Items
      Durability: 600, display: true
      Oxygen: 562, type: int, display: true
      Armor: 243, type: int, display: true
      Heat: 25, type: int, display: true
      Cold: 40, type: int, display: true
      Radiation: 8, type: int, display: true
      FallDamageFac: 0.60, type: float, display: true
      PowerFac: 0.53, type: float, display: true
      SpeedFac: 0.75, type: float, display: true
      JumpFac: 0.55, type: float, display: true
      JetpackFac: 1.44, type: float, display: true
      FoodFac: 1.73, type: float, display: true
      StaminaFac: 1.33, type: float, display: true
      NrSlots: 3, type: int, display: true
    }
    Code:
    { Item Id: 2650, Name: ArmorHeavy
      Mass: 35, type: float, display: false, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 6, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      VolumeCapacity: 200, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      StackSize: 1
      Category: Weapons/Items
      Durability: 1200, display: true
      Oxygen: 843, type: int, display: true
      Armor: 437, type: int, display: true
      Heat: 40, type: int, display: true
      Cold: 55, type: int, display: true
      Radiation: 16, type: int, display: true
      FallDamageFac: 0.7, type: float, display: true
      PowerFac: 0.43, type: float, display: true
      SpeedFac: 0.6, type: float, display: true
      JumpFac: 0.45, type: float, display: true
      JetpackFac: 1.73, type: float, display: true
      FoodFac: 2.07, type: float, display: true
      StaminaFac: 1.46, type: float, display: true
      NrSlots: 4, type: int, display: true
    }
    Code:
    { Item Id: 2653, Name: ArmorHeavyEpic, Ref: ArmorHeavy
      Oxygen: 1000, type: int, display: true
      Armor: 1000, type: int, display: true
      Heat: 800, type: int, display: true
      Cold: 273, type: int, display: true
      Radiation: 40, type: int, display: true
      FallDamageFac: 0.7, type: float, display: true
      PowerFac: 0.7, type: float, display: true
      SpeedFac: 0.9, type: float, display: true
      JumpFac: 0.7, type: float, display: true
      JetpackFac: 1.1, type: float, display: true
      FoodFac: 0.9, type: float, display: true
      StaminaFac: 1.1, type: float, display: true
      NrSlots: 0, type: int, display: true
      Mass: 35, type: float, display: false, formatter: Kilogram
      Volume: 8, type: float, display: true, formatter: Liter
      UnlockLevel: 1
      TechTreeNames: Hidden
    }
     
    #31
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  12. nexus_absolute

    nexus_absolute Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1,529
    I know people always say this and it is easy enough to do but I am firmly of the opinion that this is NOT the answer (sorry to everyone who disagrees). I can and I have changed these files in the past but I will continue to play the game as it is delivered to me in order to give feedback on how the game actually plays. This is the base point of the game after-all and how the majority of players will first encounter the game and form an opinion.

    Imagine buying a game and the first message you get when installing is "Thank you for purchasing this game. It works but not as it is right now. All you need to do is manually change the settings in the config files to make shields actually work, adjust the weapon damage so you can actually kill something, and change this random line int he config file to this arbitrary number that has some sort effect on thing A".

    If these are meant to adjustable then we should get way to adjust this ourselves IN-GAME with defined presets for difficulty so we can see what changes.

    ~ Rant Over :cool:
     
    #32
  13. xerxes86

    xerxes86 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    54
    I like the game and play all the time, your solution is to mod the game. Which I have always said about any game "if you have to mod the game just to play, it's not much of a game." A better reply would have been to use a CV instead of a SV to raid POI's, SV's are the wrong choice. For the one shot Rocket Zirax, I have been there. The answer is to one shot them right back with a Rocket or Cannon gun.
     
    #33
  14. jesterjunk

    jesterjunk Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    272
    I looked at the following information before suggesting that this individual mod the Config.ecf

    2019-07-04_105521.png

    They have clearly been around this forum longer than I have and communicated in it frequently.

    This individual is absolutely not a new player to Empyrion or to this forum.

    It would be better that they modify the game to make it more enjoyable for their specific personal experience than to leave the game frustrated because the difficulty is more than they can handle now.

    Not every player will have the ability to be as good as some of the best players that keep demanding greater difficulty settings.

    Maybe I will have to start adding a disclaimer to all of my future posts to satisfy people like you, forewarning new players not to mess with the Config.ecf until they have had adequate time playing the game on its defaults settings; But who is to decide how much time is appropriate before they should change the defaults to their liking?

    Or maybe I should just back off and stop wasting my time and apparently everyone else's time while trying to help anyone here.
     
    #34
  15. stanley bourdon

    stanley bourdon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    199
    "I looked at the following information before suggesting that this individual mod the Config.ecf"

    Time with the game or # of forum posts has nothing to do with any individuals desire or ability to manually configure game files.
    Reminding someone that it is possible is reasonable.
    The constant drumbeat from many that it is the way to fix balance issues in the game is the incorrect place to put energy into getting balance and balance options in the game.
    Pressure needs to be put on the developers to fix this.
    Getting the balance better and providing reasonable options in the game. Like the addition of more preset difficulty options and /or parameter adjusting sliders.

    I have no interest in twiddling config files, the game needs to work out of the box.
     
    #35
  16. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    765
    Wow I thought we were all here to test and help with feedback.
    And yet one of the features of the game and it is a feature that we can adjust many things in this game. Now we call this a mod. How about testing the config file and changing things to be sure it does change things?
    Or maybe the damage is wrong in your option. Will better settings help. If enough people are testing these very things then we might be able to help balance the base game so people will feel the game is just fine without changing any settings.
    Let's not forget the game is not out of the box yet. We are far from that. So yes you can feel this way. But at the same time I feel the Dev's would prefer we test everything. Change everything! Were there to break the game and test it's limits. Let's stop trying to make this game out of the box just yet. How about we help get it finished first before we call it vanilla and ready to roll out the door. So this is my option.

    Look at what @ravien_ff is doing with his Eden. Is what he doing a mod? No it's a feature of the game that allows you to make your own Scenarios or you can download it from the workshop. Think of every bug he has found for the dev's just in do what the game allows him to do. That man breaks the game, makes changes and when things don't work the way they should he's in there with bug reports.

    Look at the many test people have been doing with thrusters and the discussion's trying to find the right numbers and balance them. Many have stated hey it works better like, this try it.

    Stanley wasn't singling you out. Just what you stated there has been stated by others too.

    Didn't mean to be long winded but really were not ready for out of the box and a clean vanilla start.

    Ok done going back under my rock.
     
    #36
  17. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,648
    Likes Received:
    6,348
    I must have missed this change in the notes, but I just had my CV Repaired while it was still fully powered! That's a nice tweak and very welcome!

    Scoob.
     
    #37
    xerxes86 and ravien_ff like this.
  18. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Something tells me that's a bug and not a feature. Is it reproducible?
     
    #38
  19. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,648
    Likes Received:
    6,348
    I really hope it's a feature and I did nothing special. I simply placed a T2 Repair Bay under my CV, popped the Repair Console Down, selected "Repair Blocks" and fed it what it needed. I then clicked the Start Repair button.

    However, I did notice that the Start Repair button was going between an enabled (can click it) and disabled (can't click it) state every couple of seconds. So, perhaps this is some sort of bug?

    Note: I get that repairs while active could potentially be exploited to make a CV defending a Base while landed at it harder to defeat. However, a hopefully simple check for incoming damage disabling repairs would counter that while retaining the ability to not have to power down a CV. The worry for me, and for most I imagine, is that leaving a CV powered down for an extended period during heavy repairs could lead to food getting spoilt in Fridges. Equally easy to get distracted and forget to turn the CV back on of course when forced to power it down for repairs.

    I've run out of time this eve, but I'll try to test this again.

    Scoob.
     
    #39
  20. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,897
    Likes Received:
    8,020
    So many bugs... :D

    I'm making this scenario with the full expectation that there will be updates that break part or even all of the scenario. All of my space playfields will have to be redone if they change how space works, just as an example. And that's okay, because I didn't buy a finished game, I bought an alpha game. :D
     
    #40
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page