Alpha 12 Experimental - Updates and Hotfixes

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Hummel-o-War, Apr 22, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11,160
    Likes Received:
    17,944
    Hi Galactic Survivalists!

    Thanks a lot for the first 24 hours of awesome feedback and bug reports! :)
    We already have fixed a few things and will start to roll out the updates and hotfixes right now.

    Keep this thread bookmarked or on your watchlist, as we will add all the Experimental changelogs right here - at least for now.

    Please note:
    For discussing the new and updated features, please head over to the pinned threads in our Experimental Feedback forum: https://empyriononline.com/forums/experimental-features-discussion.35/

    If you did not yet read the Alpha 12 Experimental main announcement and the changelog, please find it here: https://empyriononline.com/threads/alpha-12-experimental-phase-i.92660/

    cheers,
    Empyrion Dev Team

    =======

    Patch 2020-06-14 EXP 12.6.2 (Build 2938)

    Fixes:
    - Fixed Marketplace DB corruption - leads to players can no longer connect to server
    - Potential fix for sporadic CoQ on connecting to a server
    - Players cannot enter AI vessels when they have been stopped

    =======

    Patch 2020-06-13 EXP 12.6.1 (Build 2936)

    Please note: This patch is kind of a "Release Candidate 1" for the Alpha 12 release scheduled for Monday.

    Changes:
    - Updated Invader vs Defender scenario
    - Reduced amount of Reputation points gained/lost by destroying enemy base blocks
    - More basic templates added to Small Constructor (BA) & Mobile Constructor (HV & SV)
    - Added possibility to set a PvE area around POIs using the property PvEArea and a radius around the bounding box in the playfield.yaml
    - Showing PvP icon now in player stats bar at bottom left screen area. Combined base and resource nearby icons into one slot
    - Update galaxy and system map help windows
    - Updated: Crashed Infector and Rados Missile Base Snow (thx to vermillion)
    - Lowered Durability drop for player armors
    - Snow Starter: added a few more goodies for EASY difficulty and other adjustmens/updates
    - Added/Updated Empyriopedia (F1) > Faction Report
    - Station Services: allowed for Adm POIs without reputation
    - Added new ambients sounds, created by Alex Jordon: Cypher, Diaspora, JumpingTheRift, Voyage, WhatWalksBelow
    - Added new ambients sounds to The Legacy Playfields and Cothga
    - Adjustments: SnowStarter, MoonIce, MoonForest (Creature Spawns, Visuals, POI, Descriptions)
    - Scoreboard window: the DB queries for the ranking boxes can now be configured in SqlQueries.txt
    - Kriel: Added Pavor and Imperium POI (thx to Escarli)
    - Zirax: Added Xenu Cloning Station (thx to sulusdacor)
    - Pirates: Added Outpost Maria (temperate, snow and desert versions) (thx to sulusdacor)
    - Enhanced Marketplace to support remote goods transfer incl. transport costs
    - Adjusted starter system (spawns of stations, vessels, asteroids in sectors and orbits > please check if you can still build a warp-capable CV in the starter solar system!)
    - Added: Kriel Warp Beacon (thx to Demonic)
    - PvE areas around POIs: not allowing to warp and spawn blueprints (ONLY IN MP!)
    - Faction window: when clicking promote/demote, the update is now seen immediately
    - Kriel faction color is slightly brighter now to make it better readable

    Fixes:
    - Fixed: Polaris Trading Station (planet) not airtight
    - Fixed: MP ONLY Reputation gets Neutral when only one faction has Rep assigned with DefReputation.ecf
    - Fixed: Bookmarks don't show their position on the sector map
    - Fixed: issue in system map where it can sometimes 'jump' in certain screen aspects
    - Fixed exception in playfield server on startup
    - Fixed:Invisible planet after playfield change
    - Fixed not fatal DB exception when writing player inventory
    - Fixed: MoonStarter sometimes did not spawn with SnowStarter
    - Fixed: enabling/disabling for Planet Info button not working in some cases
    - Fixed: 'Offworld Grave' bridge dialogue sometimes not triggered correctly
    - Fixed: SI on floating Legacy POI on Legacy planet
    - Fixed: exception when clicking on star in non-galaxy sector maps. Star type info for non-galaxy maps.
    - Fixed: Solar System map: fixed CoQ when clicking on a shortcut connection to another solar system (only legacy sectors.yaml)
    - Fixed: Players cannot enter AI vessels when they have been stopped
    - Fixed: "Ship too heavy to takeoff" message not looking for rear thrusters
    - Fixed: Drones & Troop transports continue to spawn after POI take over
    - Fixed: CoQ when starting on AridStarter in some edgecases

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-06-08 EXP 12.5 (Build 2927)

    Fixes:
    - Broken constructors / Food Processors

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-05-28 EXP 12.4.2 (Build 2921)

    Changes:
    - PDA: Secret Progenitor Mission now should start when discovering ANY of their POIs at any playfield
    - Control Panel Pentaxid Tank and Statistic Info need to show range in LY and AU

    Fixes:
    - Fixed: Start inventory gets lost when opening a container before having opened player inventory with TAB
    - Fixed distant stars/nebulas getting rendered over local planets
    - Fixed new property RotationSensitivity not taken correcty from/to Blueprint

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-05-27 EXP 12.4.1 (Build 2920)

    Changes:
    - Updated localization

    Fixes:
    - Fixed "Ship too heavy" notification
    - Fixed: Chat window: "matching names request" delay didn't work correctly
    - Fixed: Space playfields with Titanium asteroids missing Titanium-icon

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-05-22 EXP 12.4 (Build 2914)

    Changes:
    - Registry updating BA, CV, SV, HV and other counts when filter buttons are clicked
    - DB: added logging of player positions every 1 min

    Fixes:
    - Fixed CoQ when opening a constructor that has no containers assigned
    - Improved fix for: Player doesn't get his start inventory (old fix didn't work when you first open window with F4 instead of TAB)
    - Fixed rankings for Planets, Moons and Discovered POIs counting sometimes too many

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-05-12 EXP 12.3 (Build 2893)

    Fixes:
    - fix for communication abort when entering a server the very first time and opening the player window
    - Registry: fixed problem that two entries for some objects appeared
    - CoQ

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-05-06 EXP 12.3 (Build 2891)

    Fixes:
    - Suppress sudden Windows restart when first launching EXP 12.3

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-05-02 EXP 12.2.1 (Build 2885)

    Fixes:
    - server exception on Atlon (problem with Deconstructors)

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-04-25 EXP 12.0.1 (Build 2879)

    Fixes:
    - Fix for DB exception on entering a playfield that had lots of (discovered) structures

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-04-24 (Build 2878)

    Fixes:
    - in MP, bookmarks did not show up on HUD after logging off/on

    =======

    Hotfix 2020-04-22 (Build 2877)

    Changes:
    - Removed window background darkening for DialogSystem window
    - Doubled time when overloaded Generator gets destroyed: at 100% now within 2 minutes (old: 1 minute)
    - Added low rim lighting to territory bubbles in galaxy map

    Fixes:
    - Galaxy map territories not showing correct color during day
    - Bookmarks not persisting
    - CoQ when trying to join local co-op game
    - Vessels speed not maintained after playfield change
    - Space POI compounds sometimes cause CoQ error
    - Waypoints on stars get removed after the map is closed
    - Selecting a sun as a warp target by CTRL+LMB triggers a COQ
    - PDA NearUnit made wrong bookmark updates (markers were offset)
     

    Attached Files:

    #1
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2020
    KRanKO5, Anorax, Fractalite and 8 others like this.
  2. elmo

    elmo Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    578
    Thank you for fixing coop so promptly. will be testing this as soon as @jlego can join me in game/
     
    #2
    Fractalite, Germanicus and ravien_ff like this.
  3. tryst49

    tryst49 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    51
    Some waypoints persist too long now... Put up a survival tent and it created a waypoint. Now I've picked up the tent again, the waypoint won't go away and I can't see it on the map to remove it, nor is it in the registry.

    Also, I completely salvaged a crashed SV, nothing left of it but the icon is still showing on the map and also shows in the registry.
    Needs a "remove indicator" for individual indicators in the registry to remove the entry in the registry and the marker on the map.
     
    #3
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2020
  4. jbrown

    jbrown Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    107
    How come this thread is no longer updated? We're at .2883, and the last notes on changes are from .2879? Am I missing where the changelog has moved?
     
    #4
  5. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    2,556
    It's because the most recent update wasn't a hotfix, it was part 2 and has it's own thread. Once part 2 starts seeing hotfixes those patch notes will be posted here.
     
    #5
    jbrown and Germanicus like this.
  6. jbrown

    jbrown Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    107
    Makes sense, but it's clear that there were a LOT of changes in the release of Phase 2, and I can't find any listing of them. The post even says they will continue to update changes in THIS thread, but nowhere it seems, are a list of all those changes. Some I can easily see, with refinements of SU and other such things. But, there seem to be a lot of other changes. And, somewhere along the way, from the initial alpha 12 release to today, they even changed how the planets look from their moons, now having the new atmospheres, where previously from the moon, the planet had the old look prior to alpha 11's significant improvements.

    Just trying to keep track. Loving every bit of Alpha 12 so far. Some of the changes DO make things harder, but, not in a bad way, I find. Just more of a challenge, which I consider a good thing. Though I will say "small" and "very small" resource deposits are NOT kidding anymore. Went to a moon that had only 1 gold deposit, it was listed as very small. I got 12 ore from it ;-). Just 2 ingots worth. Lol. Not quite worth the fuel to go there and land. ;-)
     
    #6
  7. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    2,556
    Did you scroll down in the first post?
    https://empyriononline.com/threads/alpha-12-experimental-phase-ii.92862/
    There is a full changelog right in the first post. It covers all the changes that happened with the update, at least all the ones they are publicly disclosing.
     
    #7
  8. jbrown

    jbrown Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    107
    I SWEAR I looked ;-). But, missed that link entirely. Thank you!
     
    #8
    krazzykid2006 likes this.
  9. KnowItAllDM

    KnowItAllDM Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    233
    So, I just noticed that Small Armored Windows use Hardened Steel Plates, but have less HP than the Small Shutter Windows, which use Titanium Plates.

    I find this odd since both the Armored Large Window and Shutter Large Window use Titanium.

    Is this an oversight?

    Overview:

    Window S: Steel Plate 1, GlassPlate 1; 25 HP
    Armored Window S: Steel Plate 1, Glass Plate 2, Hardened Steel Plate 3; 150 HP
    Shutter WIndow S: Steel Plate 1, Glass Plate 2, Titanium Plate 4: 200 HP
     
    #9
    krazzykid2006 likes this.
  10. Vermillion

    Vermillion Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3,934
    Likes Received:
    9,947
    Yes, it's been confirmed as an oversight and will be fixed in the next update or so.
     
    #10
  11. KnowItAllDM

    KnowItAllDM Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    233
    Not sure if anybody has reported this yet, but it seems that Solar Panels do not function in space in creative mode. (Not sure about Survival)

    Have tried starting a new creative mode Just for A12, and all of my solar-only space bases (with 15 large solar panels all facing the sun with four green dots (and yellow dots) showing) have an energy output of 0.00, and they slowly drain power.
     
    #11
  12. Hawkie

    Hawkie Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    70
    Keep getting disconnect when trying a Coop game and equipping wepons before landing Escape capsule. Seems to occur on several other occasions as well
     
    #12
  13. StyxAnnihilator

    StyxAnnihilator Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    704
    Build 2891. Randomization of ore deposits seems messed up in one of the latest patches. Tried starting several new SP's with different seeds, where almost the same amount of ore deposits pops up, 8-10 of each of the 3 basic, 1 promethium and gold. Rich and Plentiful on large planet Temperate start. Starter area mostly have only copper deposits close. Also amount of Zirax POIs are very reduced.
     
    #13
  14. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    9,335
    #14
  15. Hawkie

    Hawkie Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    70
    I have been testing on making a New scenario. Took the STandard Multiplayer and copied it into its own folder. Also added 1 custom trading station. Tested working fine. Then edited slightly the trader config file and added it into the scenario (configuration folder). Spawned a New game, and find that game still reads the root trader config, and not the edited one included into the scenario. To test i copied the edited config file to the root configuration folder and renamed the old one, and kabloom it all worked. But that tells me it still doesnt read Your custom config in the scenario folder.
     
    #15
  16. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    13,864
    The trader file needs to go in the Content/Configuration folder of the scenario.

    So:

    YourScenario/Content/Configuration
     
    #16
  17. Hawkie

    Hawkie Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    70
    Did that, did not read. Moved it to gameroot/content/configuration and then it read fine.


    --- update ---
    Seems there is a permissions issue in the New folder made for the scenario. Fixed permissions on the New folder in the scenario and then it worked. Thats the disadvantage of working on 2 domain Connected PCs With file permissions on strict :p My bad for not checking that first.
     
    #17
    ravien_ff likes this.
  18. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    13,864
    You had me scared for a minute there! It would not have been the first time trader files got bugged. :D I just tested it and it worked fine though.
     
    #18
  19. FionnMacCumhaill

    FionnMacCumhaill Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    45
    On a related note, shutter window s has had a massive increase in weight from 25kg to 91kg, more than even combat steel blocks S. Is this intentional?
    ArmoredwindowS has also increased weight dramatically to 62kg
     
    #19
  20. FionnMacCumhaill

    FionnMacCumhaill Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    45
    On two other general notes:
    HOTBAR ITEMS:
    1) I can no longer repeatedly click on bandages in inventory bar. E.g. they are in slot 5. I press 5 then left click once, they activate. I left click again, they do not activate and will not be usable again until I switch to another slot then back again. I can repeatedly use from tab menu shift right click fine.
     
    #20
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page