Alpha 9.0 - Hotfix Releases - Part III

Discussion in 'Patch Notes' started by EleonGameStudios, Dec 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Track Driver

    Track Driver Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    I thought it did, but I was wrong!
    Apparently, Lights in the Control Options list, is a new code for LOGISTICS NETWORK. There doesn't appear to be a key to work the kights anymore.

    As things are fixed, other things get broken, It's a vicious circle with no immediate remedy.

    sorry for the misinfoemation. It seemed like it worked at the time but not now, I'm afraid,

    Anyway, Happy New Year!
     
    #41
    stanley bourdon likes this.
  2. rebuilthk47

    rebuilthk47 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    79
    I too am experiencing the freezing issue. Since A7 it's only been when I travel every few meters using HV/SV on planet. Now it's that and after a while when simply walking a few steps (really frustrating when in combat inside a base).
     
    #42
  3. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    5,986
    Things do appear to degrade over time. However, travelling at speed in an HV or, especially, an HV is sure to trigger it.

    I do wonder what's going on in the game engine to cause this. It doesn't appear to be the loading / streaming of the landscape, as drive access and the mini-freezes don't coincide. Plus, I tested running from a RAMDrive which had zero impact. Between the mini-freezes, the game plays flawlessly, plus CPU/GPU load dips of course, when the freeze occurs, suggesting it's not a hardware limitation.

    Scoob.
     
    #43
  4. dbeachy1

    dbeachy1 Ensign

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's likely C#'s garbage collection doing a "full pass", where the entire memory heap gets locked for a short time. Hopefully the devs can minimize that, though.
     
    #44
  5. IronCartographer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    I haven't seen any issues client-side, but entire MP servers are freezing, crashing, and burning... =/

    Co-op has had the "App not running" / disconnect issue too. It happened right after I used
    Code:
    sector '<an asteroid field name>'
    but ... not reproducibly, even after re-creating the server from scratch with the same seed.
     
    #45
  6. rebuilthk47

    rebuilthk47 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    79
    I've noticed the same thing. When moving, the freezing isn't consistent with how far one has traveled. It also doesn't seem to take place at specific time intervals because it doesn't happen when standing still. I know full well that my PC can handle the graphics, and I have a friend that has a PC with the latest hardware, and he has the same thing happen.
     
    #46
  7. Thundershock_LT

    Thundershock_LT Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    138
    Had those freezes too. I noticed when staying in one place for a while the fauna starts spawning in, and then the freezes seem to stop. So maybe that's where they should be looking into.
     
    #47
  8. Thundershock_LT

    Thundershock_LT Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    138
    On a side note.
    The hitboxes of the scorpion creatures seem broken. They seem only to be taken damage to the face... very frustrating fighting them in a wide corridor with them strafing from one side to the other while closing in. Not even a shotgun seems to be doing much damage.
     
    #48
  9. Thundershock_LT

    Thundershock_LT Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    138
    Power drain is shown for container controller box, but not for container expansion. On the other hand, shown or not, the current storage system drains power like crazy. A large storage capacity for a base quickly drains more than a solar array can supply.

    Personally I look at the new storage system like it's an automated storage hall. Where the controller is the automated lift and thus is consuming power without adding storage space (or maybe less than the expansions). And the expansions are just additional storage 'racks', not consuming power, just increasing the usable volume.

    If I'm busting in an open door here, then sorry. Just seems like the way to go.
     
    #49
    Germanicus likes this.
  10. vscuorzo

    vscuorzo Commander

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    103
    I assume the power draw of objects that you wouldn't expect to be using any power is there to make it a bit harder to expand your capabilities despite the fact that it's not very realistic. I view these things in the same way as you but I don't think they'll change it without some other limiting factor being added in its place.
     
    #50
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page