Alpha 9.4: General Update

Discussion in 'Patch Notes' started by EleonGameStudios, Feb 11, 2019 at 7:03 AM.

  1. Philipp

    Philipp Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    201
    would it be possible to deactivate the despawn of motorcycles for singleplayer in the future?
     
    #61
    krazzykid2006 likes this.
  2. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    740
    I would hope that they would at least increase the despawn timer IF they give the bike a storage in the future. I know I would be pretty upset if I had things stored in my bike and it just poofed 15 minutes later.

    They could at least export the despawn timer to the config file so we can modify it how we please.
     
    #62
    Philipp likes this.
  3. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    6,811
    Or, at the very least, not just not despawn a bike that had things stored in it.
     
    #63
  4. banksman45

    banksman45 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    4,586
    The pallets are a very very very nice TOUCH and I love the extra spaces added for future blocks
     
    #64
    ravien_ff likes this.
  5. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    740
    True, if for SP only. Otherwise we are back to the old issue of people parking hundreds of them on PVE planets on servers. I can remember a time when people intentionally did stuff like this to crash clients due to rendering.
    Now they would just have to put something in it, like a single crushed stone.

    Whereas if they simply export the timer to the config file then it's up to the individual for SP and up to the admin for servers.
    Or add in a setting to the difficulty screen, or a line in the gameoptions.yaml just like the DespawnEscapePod: true/false.
     
    #65
  6. Wayson

    Wayson Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    91
    With regard to BLOCK SHAPES...Its about time, thank you for finally adding those few "KEY" "MISSING" Block Shapes Eleon!!!!!!
     
    #66
    Sofianinho likes this.
  7. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    6,811
    True. Well, I guess another solution (for all terrain placeables) would be to remember who last placed it, and set some kind of limit on the number of them that any given player could place (or maybe set a despawn timer for the oldest one when going over the limit).

    But, in any case, I agree about somehow letting SP players and server admins interact with this setting on a per-game basis.
     
    #67
  8. jesterjunk

    jesterjunk Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    166
    ‌‌
    The icon for the Teleporter still looks like the old model of the Teleporter.

    2019-02-11_234200.png
    ‌‌ ​
     
    #68
  9. xmacleod

    xmacleod Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    EGS runs on Unity. I've worked with Unity; you can make a Linux version by basically clicking "compile for Linux." I believe EAC is the limiting factor here preventing it from running on Linux. Or maybe it's another factor that only the devs know about. Or multiple factors. I'm not claiming to be an expert; I just know that by default, basic Unity projects can be compiled for a number of platforms without any extra work. KSP is an example of a Unity game that runs equally well across platforms.
    ---
    I for one would be ecstatic for a Linux client of the game, even if EAC was left out. I run my server without it enabled anyway.

    I would also be just as ecstatic if there was a Linux server application available. I run a Windows Server 2012 VM for the sole purpose of running EGS, and speaking entirely for myself, find it incredibly difficult to automate and integrate with the rest of my environment, and I would love to power down that Windows VM. I'm professionally a Unix/Linux engineer and know very little about Windows, so this may likely be a problem of my own. Nevertheless, I'm sure the desire for a Linux server is quite strong amongst server admins.

    I digress. I'm not going to leave just because it's Windows-only, but I sure would be pleased if there were options. :)
    Apologies for not quite being on the 9.4 topic, but it seemed as good a time as any to put forth my opinions and viewpoint since there was already some rumblings.
     
    #69
    Moonsugar and flannan like this.
  10. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    809
    No such things is in the work afaik
     
    #70
  11. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    809
    Cause the icon isnt updated yet
     
    #71
    Gainesterism likes this.
  12. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    809
    It doesnt work that way.

    The code is defently different. Eleon is a small team. No time to code two platforms for now

    Without EAC? No thanks thats just asking for cheaters
     
    #72
  13. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    809
    For performance reasons no

    As server owner : would be nice to define our own timers in the config.ecf
     
    #73
    Philipp likes this.
  14. Myrmidon

    Myrmidon Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    According to Empyrion on Proton DB the caveat seems to be EAC

    protonDB.jpg

    Nevertheless your replies gave us more insight about the matter. It would be if it will ever be allowed for players to play Empyrion on Linux. Thank you.
     
    #74
    Taelyn likes this.
  15. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    809
    Don't give your hopes up, perhaps in time things change to get Linux added. Afterall its on our wish list =)
     
    #75
    Moonsugar and Myrmidon like this.
  16. J5Dev

    J5Dev Ensign

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Another option would be to still have it on a timer, which can be configured but only up to a certain limit. If it despawns with items in it, simply handle it the same as a destroyed container with items in it, and drop a temp loot container, which itself has a timer.

    Wouldn't meet all required use cases, but would certainly meet a good portion of them.
     
    #76
    Sofianinho likes this.
  17. Space Beagle

    Space Beagle Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Now I want nice functional model for bed (or two) for SV/HV, 'cause I want to live hard on the road - RV style!
    C'mon make it happen in next build, simply reuse new mattress & pillow from new 'sofa' and make one SV Decco with 2x4x1 or 1x3x1 block size :cool:

    Empyrion Spaceballs Eagle 5 needs it* :D
    (*not shawn on picture, fake Lego one used for forum deco purpose)

    [​IMG]
     
    #77
  18. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    5,668
    Likely a silly question, but when did Steel Blocks become pre-textured? In my prior 9.x start placing a Steel block gave a clean, textureless block. Now when I place them they're pre-textured... I just placed a few to patch up the "Very Old Base" POI I'd taken over in my fresh start. I just reloaded to save to confirm it didn't change.

    Scoob.
     
    #78
  19. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    809
    Start of A9 i believe
     
    #79
  20. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    5,668
    Really? Lol. From the earliest Experimental or a little later? My last game was actually started in version 9.0.1 build 2053. Perhaps I've become texture blind in my old age lol.

    Scoob.
     
    #80

Share This Page