Alpha EXPERIMENTAL 10.3.0

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by EleonGameStudios, Jul 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Booyaah

    Booyaah Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    780
    AI Pathing lol, what a strange reason to change it...just despawn the mob if its in the way.

    Didn't play much A9, but I still really dislike this change as it makes it impossible to align bases to mountain ranges now. Hopefully they could consider revisiting the issue when they have time.
     
    #61
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  2. Jacob Adjani

    Jacob Adjani Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    665
    See your point on the mountains Booyaah, and on reflection have to agree - I was sure it had always been that way, but all the builds are starting to mash up into one blur in my mind/memory... lol.

    Might be nice to have a bit of a "snap-to" option, as the cardinal points alignment does have it's uses - mainly in solar panel efficiency. But it's been a LONG while since I used one of my mountain bases, and I can definitely see how that would be a major pain in the ass in that instance - thinking about it, a great many of my existing designs likely would need some serious reworking if I started using them again.
     
    #62
  3. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Why would they just despawn the mob? The whole point was to make things more difficult by allowing mobs to traverse from terrain to blocks. This also had something to do with fixing the long standing issue of mobs not being able to climb ramps and stairs. Now they can.

    AI pathing got tremendously better because of those changes and others.
     
    #63
  4. Jacob Adjani

    Jacob Adjani Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    665
    Hey @Pantera,

    Not sure if this is "functioning as intended" so thought I'd ask quickly before submitting a formal report - let me know if you want me to submit one:

    Started a new game, Arid starter planet - just spawned my starter HV, and came upon a cluster of structures/POI's... in the screenshot below, you can see the "Old Farm", a "Ruined Landing Pad", "Junkyard", and "Old Tank Station" (... great find if it only had water nearby... lol). Off camera to the right is also an Alien Unknown Structure.

    As I approached, I only had 2 "signals" on my compass/detector display, and while when you get really close, the structure names will pop up on the HUD, notice... they don't show up on the minimap (or the main map either). I also only got notifications (and EXP) for the Old Farm and the Unknown Structure.

    Is this functioning as intended? (I'm thinking no, but want to check first):

    2531-2_2019-07-14_07-43-54.png
     
    #64
  5. Flash Hendricks

    Flash Hendricks Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    I've seen this too. I think it's intentional because some structures are tied to missions so they don't offer XP twice (but that's just my guess).
     
    #65
  6. cmguardia

    cmguardia Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    138
    It also happened to me.
    I think that the same scenario or those structures are always in close proximity. Even if you place yourself your core will not appear on the map either!
     
    #66
  7. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,924
    Likes Received:
    8,069
    Intended.
    Mapdistance 0 and huddistance 100.
     
    #67
  8. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,924
    Likes Received:
    8,069
    Zirax can now invade your base on foot.
     
    #68
    Philipp likes this.
  9. Philipp

    Philipp Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    263
    i love that new feature :)
     
    #69
    ravien_ff likes this.
  10. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,350
    Likes Received:
    4,491
    CHANGELOG: Alpha EXPERIMENTAL 10.3.0 (Build 2532)

    Changes:
    - Planet map: smoothing normals to show less zig zag lines
    - Permissions for adjusting color palette with Configure color window on structures

    Fixes:
    - Decoration: Unharvestable Trees
    - Moon playfield has weather after triggering the pole fog
    - OverflowException when parsing numeric faction abbreviations (f.e. '333')
    - Avoiding reported CoQ
    - Usage indicators display incorrectly in HUD
    - Heat & radiation areas break when a BA is rotated
    - Don't showing tracers and particles for a mounted weapon that cannot shoot (because it would hit the own ship, but still using ammo)
    - [MP] CoQ & disconnect from servers when changing playfields whilst still connected to container via wireless connection
     
    #70
    ravien_ff and Philipp like this.
  11. Booyaah

    Booyaah Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    780
    I just wish they would add a server option where you can toggle full base spawn rotation off or on, to hell with a few Zirax attacking my base
     
    #71
  12. Taelyn

    Taelyn Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    can you be more clear what you exact mean?

    Do you mean the regenartion of the drone base?
     
    #72
  13. Booyaah

    Booyaah Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    780
    I am talking about the issue where you can no longer rotate your own bases as you try to spawn them to any orientation you desire. They are locked to N/S or E/W orientation only. Like when you go to spawn a CV/SV/HV and you look around, the preview window rotates the object in the direction you are facing. This allows you to align a base parallel to a lake or mountain range so it sits properly, since the terrain isn't aligned to the 90 degree axis most of the time.

    I guess from the above poster, this was changed back in 9 to facilitate the Zirax AI not being able to path around a base placed arbitrarily.

     
    #73
  14. Taelyn

    Taelyn Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Yes this has to do with the Pathing of the AI. Wont be changed afaik
     
    #74
  15. Booyaah

    Booyaah Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    780
    Yeah that's why I was trying to propose a middle ground compromise workaround. Just add a param to the server config file 'IsBaseLockedToAxis' and set to true by default, but a server admin could go in and change it to false if they want to allow base spawning the old way, and just wrap an if statement around the current block of code that limits the rotation to check the value of that server parameter to decide if it locks the orientation or not.
     
    #75
  16. Taelyn

    Taelyn Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Cant. Will break the AI pathfinding. Something we dont want for obvious reasons
     
    #76
  17. Jacob Adjani

    Jacob Adjani Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    665
    @Taelyn , @Pantera ,

    Hey guys, I just got a second "update required" status on Steam - hotfix? If so, any details available on what is included in today's second update?
     
    #77
  18. Taelyn

    Taelyn Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Prob 2533 hotfix so turrets will work again

    CHANGELOG: Alpha 10.3.0 (Build 2533)

    Fixes:
    - Turrets not shooting
    - Chainsaw does not start animation unless you only start using it when standing close to a tree
    - Solar panels are not producing any output but appear to be 'online'
     
    #78
    cmguardia likes this.
  19. cmguardia

    cmguardia Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    138
    I have noticed that if you shoot the desert cactus you get 50XP even if it does not leave wood!
     
    #79
    Taelyn and Jacob Adjani like this.
  20. Jacob Adjani

    Jacob Adjani Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    665

    Thanks Taelyn - btw, I started a new game under 2533 to start testing... and the default seed that popped up on start up? I've found the long lost home planet of your ancestors!!!!: ;)

    2533-1_2019-07-15_19-29-49.png

    Global Seed: 479570 if you want to check it out!
     
    #80
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page