Alpha EXPERIMENTAL 9.0 - Update 2

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by EleonGameStudios, Dec 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Inappropriate

    Inappropriate Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    94
    Call me a nerd but this excites me. Can we get some more imfo on how exactly this works? Is there some kind of surface area calculation happening or is it simply using bounding box data?
    This wouldn't happen to be a step in paving the way to some kind of aerodynamics model would it???
     
    #141
    Andreykl likes this.
  2. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,184
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    Unfortunately, from preliminary testing, it appears to be the same drag calculation that we had previously before it got (presumably accidentally) removed/deactivated during the recent ship controller updates.
     
    #142
    Andreykl likes this.
  3. Inappropriate

    Inappropriate Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    94
    That's more then a little disappointing especially considering I wasn't aware there even was a drag calculation implemented to began with.
     
    #143
  4. Jon2

    Jon2 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    20
    I think the Container Controller for ore and wood of the hover should have it's volume capacity increased. The way it is now (only 125 SU), it only can take 25 ore of one ore type. that way i will need always put a cv together with my hover with to mine, so that i put the ore i take in the cv. But this will make things very slowly and anooying.

    I know i can put extensions in the container ore for hover to increase the volume capacity, but it will make the hover so big that it will get stuck everytime under the surface when mining.
     
    #144
  5. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,184
    Likes Received:
    7,136
    The way the modular container system works is that you put down a cargo controller to start the array, and then add as many cargo extenders adjacent to the controller and each other as you want to increase the capacity of the array. It sounds like you've been using the controller on its own without extenders, so perhaps try creating a larger storage array for your mining HV by putting some cargo extenders next to your cargo controller.
     
    #145
    runlykhel likes this.
  6. Furious Hellfire

    Furious Hellfire Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    2,780
    I cant be the only person who found that all automatic doors ramps and shutters in game are broken in 2075 right ?
    I spotted that in 30 seconds after loading new 2075 save yet I am the only person reporting it 0.o

    Basically any door or shutter or ramp you have will spam when your mouse cursor hovers above it.

    Whether it be hv sv or cv.
     
    #146
  7. dreadshane

    dreadshane Ensign

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Plz bring the no drag cruise back, this last update is very unstable. I got the same problem with my doors too
     
    #147
  8. Furious Hellfire

    Furious Hellfire Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    2,780
    Is their a testing session of the exp before it is released as exp to the public?

    I sure wish I was a part of that pre exp testing process because to wait a week for a patch and find all doors broken is not good at all and makes me wonder how did nobody notice the doors were all broken on all builds ? I clearly would have noticed it before release.

    So whoever did not notice that as part of their job, this is a slap on the wrist for you !

    I offer my services free of charge for pre testing future exp patches eleon, make use of me while im here I have nothing but time on my hands and a lot of desire to see this game succeed, but I cant wait a week for a broken patch like this and be expected to sit and wait another undisclosed amount of time before I can begin even testing this exp patch, all because people don't notice little or major things that did not meet quality control.
    Things I would have noticed in a heart beat.

    If I can spot these things so quick then invite me to test your exp before you release it.

    Autistic, aspergers, ocd works for free...
    can you afford to not have me around ?
     
    #148
    elmo likes this.
  9. KnowItAllDM

    KnowItAllDM Commander

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    112
    So, when updating a custom scenario to Alpha 9, I noticed that "SpawnNear" only works with if both POI are the same faction or one is "Faction:None", otherwise the one with the "SpawnNear" protocol fails to spawn.

    Is this meant to occur?
    I'm attempting to spawn an Admin POI between 1K-2K from an Alien faction POI. It worked in Alpha 8, but not alpha 9.
     
    #149
  10. Cluascorp

    Cluascorp Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    41
    At least i can get rid of those trees now :)
     
    #150
  11. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    793
    Just seen all the feedback threads go up for 9. Didn't expect this to get pushed to the stable branch this quickly.
     
    #151
    Thundercraft and elmo like this.
  12. R-TEAM

    R-TEAM Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    26
    I have no problem (if optional - as not all players like it..) with Drag in an Atmo ....
    But it should be calculated "halfway" realistic .... on SE it was an "Mod" where calculate the drag in an direction, based an the shape of the vessel ... so i hope we get here "inbuild" in the engine an , at last, compare simulation ..... (and get rid finaly of the unrelistic drag in space ...)

    Regards
     
    #152
  13. Arrclyde

    Arrclyde Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    1,989
    I just wanted to say: i actually like the idea of modular cargo container. Even that you can make your storage have a special look now.
    The thing is with the texture. I know it is just a placeholder right now and i hope for a more destinct cargocontainer look (like frameworks, and special plates) the dynamically change to fit the actual container form.
    That would make actual freighters have a unique look and a consistent look across all created vessels (if the cargo is on the outside and not tucked away).

    I am pretty excited about the possibilities of all of this. :)
     
    #153
    Thundercraft likes this.
  14. nexus_absolute

    nexus_absolute Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Sooo... what exactly was this teasing?

    Is this showing all our new Zirax buddies coming over just to say hi or is this the number of cargo boxes now needed on our builds, as represented by drones? ;)

    All joking aside, is this a feature that wasn't ready yet or am I missing something?
     
    #154
  15. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,761
    Likes Received:
    12,678
    Did not make it in Alpha 9 Part I i am afraid.
     
    #155
  16. Andreykl

    Andreykl Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    103
    Prefab tier 4 miner has 3 medium containers and a lot of armor, so it has 750 capacity from the box (decent 150 ore), you just need to make them all harvesting, and can be extended with a lot of CEs without affecting form.

    Exactly why I built this thing.
    P.S. For some reason my CV looks thinner on image then on screen.

    Wasn't an issue for me. You just get slower start before you get your first HV, and you indeed need a CV for storing larger outputs from miner.
    Bigger issue: we can't dock CV to CV so you can't take 'miner carrier CV' with you, you will have to 'drop' (sometimes literaly) you base-CV onto planets

    What drag? Have you tried pressing I?
     
    #156
    runlykhel and Thundercraft like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page