Alpha EXPERIMENTAL 9.7: Unity 2018.3 - Back to RakNet

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by EleonGameStudios, May 2, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EleonGameStudios

    EleonGameStudios Developer
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    10,966
    Update: May 6,2019 (Build 2319)
    - Fixed 06306: Anti Grief only if RegenAfter is set
    - Updated EAH Tool: https://empyriononline.com/threads/tool-emp-admin-helper-eah-free-v1-45-x.5771/page-54#post-305591

    Update: May 3, 2019 (Build 2318)
    - Optimized RakNet protocol (now sending packages with different priorities)
    - Fixed: Internal exceptions

    =========

    Hi Galactic Survivalists!

    We switched the network protocol back to RakNet since UNET could not handle the network traffic on busy servers. For RakNet to work with Unity 2018.3, we had to do some extensive internal refactoring.

    Internal test with our closed tester group did not reveal any problems. Thus, we will now do the next step and release it to EXPERIMENTAL.

    Changelog: Alpha EXPERIMENTAL 9.7 (Build 2317)
    - Switched network protocol back to RakNet .
    - Internal refactoring to make sure RakNet is compatible with Unity 2018.3.
     
    #1
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
  2. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    5,415
    Great Work ELEON!

    Has this any influence on existing SP-Games on EXP?
     
    #2
  3. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    4,457
    It shouldn't do.
     
    #3
    Germanicus likes this.
  4. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    5,415
    Thank You @Pantera, I keep an eye on it :)
     
    #4
    ravien_ff likes this.
  5. D00mnoodle

    D00mnoodle Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    86
    Glad you guys managed to fix the unity stuff. Hope it didn't detract too much from alpha 10, which i can't wait to play!
     
    #5
    Pach and ravien_ff like this.
  6. nexus_absolute

    nexus_absolute Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Nice work!

    These are the moments that tell the story of Empyrion. Things like "I remember how long the development of A.6 took" or "do you remember before we had structural integrity?". Now we have "Remember when the A.9 / Unity 2018 upgrade" ;)

    And for the future... well there is a nice blocks preview on Discord :D
     
    #6
    Sofianinho, Maverick241 and ravien_ff like this.
  7. OddTheViking

    OddTheViking Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have complete faith in you guys. Keep up the good work. I shall do my part by testing what I can.
     
    #7
    Ephoie likes this.
  8. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    5,415
    No need to point anyone who want to know more abut A10 Teaser towards Discord - IT's HERE!;)
    https://empyriononline.com/threads/alpha-10-teasers.48847/
     
    #8
    Last edited: May 2, 2019
  9. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    5,415
    I can't say if it is a Bug but since the Patch I can't use the VT to move produced items into the BP-Factory. As soon as the Factory is open I see only my normal Toolbar but can't switch between them by using the T-Key. Have produced 500 Steel-Blocks and wanted to feed them into a BP But it won't react to pressing the T-Key. I will now re-log and see if it is persistent.

    EDIT:

    Problem persists. T-Key works only while not in the BP-Factory. As soon as I close the BP-Factory the T-Key works as it should be. I will file a Bug-Report in the EXP Section. It seems that even if connected via WiFi to the CC it won't let me use the function. I therefore walked to a Place close to a WiFi and checked again. Now I could use the VT as it stayed open while I accessed the BP-Factory. Nonetheless T-Key was without function still.

    SOLVED: Some loading error it seems - All fine again!
     
    #9
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    Hummel-o-War likes this.
  10. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    4,457
    OP Updated: Update: May 3, 2019 (Build 2318)
    - Optimized RakNet protocol (now sending pacakages with different priorities)
    - Fixed: Internal exceptions
     
    #10
    SacredGlade, Germanicus and Pach like this.
  11. chaser

    chaser Ensign

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Это очень хорошо, но есть вопрос?
    - На этом форуме есть раздел "Дневники разработчиков", где нам расскажут о ближайших перспективах? что ждать?

    С уважением!
     
    #11
  12. nexus_absolute

    nexus_absolute Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    The developers move too fast for this :D
     
    #12
  13. chaser

    chaser Ensign

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Согласен, но космонавт не летит в космос без цели?
     
    #13
    imlarry425 and nexus_absolute like this.
  14. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    5,415
    Is there a further advancement of Unity planned or is the next step the A10 - Patch?
     
    #14
    elmo likes this.
  15. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,307
    Likes Received:
    4,457
    Staying with 2018.3 for now.
    Any A10 news will be announced when it's ready ;)
     
    #15
    Pach, Germanicus and Maverick241 like this.
  16. Combat Wombat

    Combat Wombat Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    131
    Seems like it takes longer to connect to servers in 9.7 or just me? Its hard to tell because there isn't the exact same server running both 9.6 and 9.7.
     
    #16
    ravien_ff likes this.
  17. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,816
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    The first time connecting to a server since a game update usually takes longer than usual, and how long can depend greatly on the scenario size, server, etc.
     
    #17
  18. Liang

    Liang Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    135
    I would be willing to deal with A10 bugs right now on experimental :D
     
    #18
  19. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    598
    #19
  20. FRAGaLOT

    FRAGaLOT Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    508
    So main channel release this coming week maybe?
     
    #20
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page