Are underwater bases super-fickle on Structural Integrity or something?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zor_The_Cruel, Apr 26, 2017.

1. Zor_The_Cruel

Zor_The_Cruel Commander

started a new SP play-through for part 4 experimental and decided that i would try building a base underwater in a lake, and I've never done it before even in stable.

I was able to place a small starter base (core, small gen, fuel and O2 tanks, clone station, O2 station, large constructor, fridge, food processor, armor locker, and a couple of storage units.) Whole thing underwater, just built into the lake bed. roughly character-height distance from tallest stuff to water surface. Was slow getting in and out, but it was pretty cool for a change of pace, and i had plans to build a walkway and ramp down to it to make access easier. (the whole idea was to avoid brutal patrol CV's finding me and squashing me in the first day or two, as I've had bad luck with that) Was curious if hiding underwater was still a way to cheese the AI or not, so i decided to experiment. I made the base with the core on the far edge, so that if it got shot up, the rest of my stuff would likely survive. everything was partially sunk into the lake bed, nothing was hanging unsupported.(it was all just devices stuck together though, no actual hull/wall blocks. No turret.)

I left to go gather resources and explore for the day and didn't remember hearing any drone wave warnings, and when i came back it was all gone. A single suitcase with some items in it on the sea floor.(not all of the items that were in the base's devices, tons were missing.) I hadn't made a backup save before that point, and there was no drone in the area that i could see when i returned.

So my question is this: What do you think happened?
    Was drone AI reprogrammed to destroy everything player-made and not just to drill for the core and move on?