Biomes gone on Static yaml playfield?

Discussion in 'Planets & Playfields' started by TGRF_Trainer, Sep 23, 2019.

1. TGRF_Trainer

TGRF_Trainer Commander

If this is the wrong place, I apologize. Still fairly new to the forums.

I've recently begun looking at the game files, and trying my hand at tweaking settings and creating scenarios (all after backing up everything of course). I have had limited success, but I'm still learning.

I am trying to make a few simple changes to the singleplayer mode (not a scenario - the random start SP survival - I have to do that because I can't find a way to emulate random planet and terrain generation in a scenario). I've successfully edited the solarsystemconfig.yaml under Content > RandomPresets to do two simple things in an effort to make games more difficult: increase the difficulty range of all planets, and allow starting on nearly all planets. This has worked, and I was able to successfully run a SP survival game (again, not a scenario) on a randomly generated desert planet with high difficulty.

There is one more change I would like to add: I would like to have Zirax patrols roaming the entire planet, just as they do within Zirax territory. This will, I hope, make the game substantially more difficult. However, I can't get this to work.

My main problem is lack of experience/information. Under Content > Playfields > Desert there are three yaml files: debug, dynamic, and static. I don't know the difference. I was editing the dynamic yaml, using the EPD tool, but eventually figured out that the game is not running the planet on that yaml file. Assuming the debug is for debugging, I went to the static yaml and tried to make the same changes (adding Zirax patrols to the creature list for specific biomes).