Fixed Blocks placing above/below where pg up/down puts them [7139]

Discussion in 'Fixed' started by TGRF_Trainer, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. TGRF_Trainer

    TGRF_Trainer Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    139
    Mode: Creative (haven't tested sruvival, could be there too).

    Reproduce: simply enter a game, find a build, select a block, pres pg up/down on your keyboard, and the block will be placed above/below where it was previewed.

    Description: This is a bug I've noticed in Creative. I have made a video (below) showcasing the bug, since it's easier to show than to try and describe it.

    Please let me know if more info is needed.

     
    #1
    Kronoss and krazzykid2006 like this.
  2. TRX

    TRX Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    142
    This may already have been noted, but I didn't see any posts with "offset" or "creative"

    Mode: Creative
    Mode: Single Player

    SERVER NAME: Home Computer
    SEED-ID: Zero (0)

    If applicable:
    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: N/A

    Reproducibility: Always
    Severity: Trivial (invonvenience)

    Type: Block Positioning

    Summary: Block Position Offset in Creative Mode Error

    Description: Using PG UP and PG DN in creative mode moves the block 1 up/down. But when applying the block (right mouse), the block is move an additional block distance (e.g. 2 blocks up instead of 1). If you up 2 blocks using PG UP x2, then when applying the block it is moved 4. Appears to be adding an additional distance "after" the placement is set.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1. Open new game in creative mode.
    2. Place starter block for BA
    3. Select concrete block for placement in hotbar
    4. Use PG UP or PG DN to displace by 1 block.
    5. Right Mouse to set block - will place the block 2x instead of 1x displacment.

    Screenshots, Crash Logs, any other Relevant Information or Download links:
    1. PG UP 1 block off the foundation
    2. Actual placement when right mouse click is 2 blocks off foundation.
    20200428152416_1.jpg 20200428152428_1.jpg
     
    #2
    Kronoss likes this.
  3. allen_idaho

    allen_idaho Ensign

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    MODE: Survival / Singleplayer
    SEED ID: 814139
    PLAYFIELD: Oafiadae
    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: No

    REPRODUCIBILITY: Always
    SEVERITY: Minor
    TYPE: SV and HV Blocks

    SUMMARY: Certain objects aren't spawning in the correct position when building

    DESCRIPTION: Windows, Landing Gear and Ramps are spawning one block above or below the intended location when it appears blue and in the correct position when clicking the mouse to place the object.

    STEPS TO REPRODUCE: It happens more often if you press the "Page Up" or "Page Down" keys to move the object where you want it before attempting to spawn the object. At which point it will usually spawn one block lower or higher than it should depending on which button you pressed.
     
    #3
  4. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    2,392
  5. Kronoss

    Kronoss Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    554
    I am placing this here because you people don't give me "privileges" to post in the "know bug issues" threads. I hate forum politics. This issue involves block placement of devices that will automatically place the device one block lower then intended or will not place item because there is "no space to place block" when the guide lines are blue. This is due to the "automatic orientation" of devices that is "over compensating" by overriding placement. This feature is doing more harm than good and is impeding game functionality.

    This happens to me in survival and creative mode and is entirely persistent.
    The blocks that have this happen (for me) are:
    Ramps blocks: (3x4x2 specifically)
    Shutter door blocks: (5 x 3 specifically)
    Thuster jet L: (2x5x2 specifically)
    Modular wings: Angled tapered small (2,2,3)

    Advise, removing auto orientation and block placement restrictions for placement when block is capable of being placed(blue grid lines). Block can be place with "manual orientation" until these issues are fixed.
     
    #5
  6. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    857
    No one can post in the "known bug issues" threads. It's not politics. It's to prevent people from posting "ME TOO", or adding information to a thread that they already know what it is, but it's not as high on the priority list as other things.
     
    #6
    Germanicus likes this.
  7. bYtE69

    bYtE69 Ensign

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi

    Mode: Creative

    SEED-ID: /

    Reproducibility: (Always)
    Severity: (Trivial)

    Before placing any block and pressing Page Up or Page Down the keyboard key is doubled. If you press Page Up once the block will be placed as you were pressing Page Up twice. If you press it twice it counts as four, and so on...


    Here Page Up was pressed only once and the block was placed above the spot I wanted it to be: 20200604102707_1.jpg

    Thanks
     
    #7
  8. Pantera

    Pantera Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    6,160
  9. AlbaN

    AlbaN Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    175
    Mode: Creative

    SERVER NAME: -
    SEED-ID: -

    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: no
    Reproducibility: Always
    Severity: Trivial

    Type: Building

    Summary: Page Up button problem

    Description: In steps below

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1. Prepare Block - simple steel block
    20200610164739_1.jpg
    2. Press "Page Up" to move block above
    20200610164716_1.jpg
    3. Place block - it appears above blue block
    20200610164745_1.jpg
    4. Try tu place another block in the same place - Error: "no empty space to place block"
    20200610164748_1.jpg
     
    #9
  10. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    4,754
    Likes Received:
    8,865
    #10
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2020
    AlbaN likes this.

Share This Page