[Builders League] Missing Creative Features

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hummel-o-War, Nov 6, 2016.

  1. Runningwithhamster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    365
    Select multitool > right click > choose rotation mode on a wheel > point to the block that you want rotate > use [Insert] and [Delete] to change rotation axis, [Home] and [End] to rotate block (same keys you use for placing blocks).
     
    #141
    Tyrax Lightning and Starwing6 like this.
  2. zztong

    zztong Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    522
    I really like the idea of community created art assets. I would likely submit a few symbols, and things within my pathetic artistic reach.

    But let me play devil's advocate for a bit:

    1. The Devs would have to worry about community folks submitting copyrighted material and derivative works.

    2. The Devs would have to have somebody screen submitted assets for quality. This perhaps isn't a big deal. They already have somebody doing this with workshop content and things submitted to them via these forums.
     
    #142
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.
  3. Starwing6

    Starwing6 Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Thanks :)

    The issue of the way textures wrap around blocks still NEEDS work though, because textures become extremely limited when you need to have multiple faces of a block visible--or shapes like the rounded corner that can't be rotated in a way to match a texture around it. :mad:
     
    #143
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.
  4. oojimaflip

    oojimaflip Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    yeah it's massively frustrating sometimes, but unfortunately the block data just cannot support rotated textures right now. I'm afraid we're all stuck waiting for a rather major update in the way block information is stored in the matrix. I have no idea if this is on the cards or not. :(

    Edit: I've constanlty evolved my building style to the point where I know what blocks and textures I can use safely in most situations without becoming frustrated by the limitations.... until I want to build something new that isn't part of the Space Moles Fleet.
     
    #144
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.
  5. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    @rotate textures: this would need a complete overhaul of the blocks like we did it when we added the multi-face coloring/texturing. It is still on the list, but hard to achieve.

    @paint color selection tool: can you create an example with a usecase for its function?
     
    #145
    Tyrax Lightning and Starwing6 like this.
  6. Starwing6

    Starwing6 Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Fantastic! I certainly wouldn't expect it to be an easy thing to do--I'm just putting my wishes out there. To read it's being considered made me happy :D

    When we create our characters, the colour selection tool enables us to pick the precise colour we want. If the colour tool had that kind of fine control, we'd have access to all the colours. I couldn't possibly guess how challenging it would be to add more colours to the selection we currently have with our colouring tool, let alone providing the ability to select any colour desired...

    I'm so happy about everything in this game that my biggest requests are for more of the pretty things! lol
     
    #146
    geostar1024 and Tyrax Lightning like this.
  7. LiftPizzas

    LiftPizzas Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    4,564
    She means being able to pick any color to paint your ship or base blocks, instead of choosing from a handful of preset colors.
     
    #147
    Tyrax Lightning and Starwing6 like this.
  8. Tyrax Lightning

    Tyrax Lightning Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    3,687
    Agreed, seconded, & Amen.

    I'm gonna take a wild guess that this meant that Star wants the entire HSV Spectrum... not just a small handful of Pre-Selected Colors as the only choice. :p

    I also wouldn't mind a RGB or Hex Triplet Color Selector so I can select an EXACT desired Color for use, like for example, my fav, #0047AB, Hex Triplet for Cobalt Blue. :) (Also answers to the RGB Designation, R 0, G 71, B 171)

    Actually, no it doesn't for me. I stick the marker onto a Color but I have no clue if it's exactly what I was aiming for. Cobalt Blue above? How the hell am I supposed to stick that HSV Field Marker in the exact single Pixel of space that = exactly Cobalt Blue & then be able to KNOW I did exactly that? :(
     
    #148
    Neal and Starwing6 like this.
  9. N99024

    N99024 Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    446
    Maybe take a page from ATS. (American Truck Simulator) they allow you to save up to 6 favorite colors from the millions of options you can chose, although for a game like this I'd recommend at least 10, and more around 16. I mean, we are flying giant a** warships or sleek fighter, we need some more options than what the color tool gives us, but we need a way to save our favorites not only for our character, but for the ships we'll fly as well.
     
    #149
    jmtc, Jacoviz and Tyrax Lightning like this.
  10. Tyrax Lightning

    Tyrax Lightning Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    3,687
    I've wished I could target my Suit Primary Color onto exactly Cobalt Blue & the Secondary Color onto exactly Silver.

    For my Ships, i'd wanna Fav Cobalt Blue, Sapphire Blue, Electric Blue, Silver, & Orange.

    Will also be cool if we could ever Color Light Textures's 'Body' & 'Glowiness' separately so I could Blue the Body & Electric Blue the Glowiness at the same time. Whether or not this'll ever be doable is anyone's guess I suppose.
     
    #150
  11. Ramachandra

    Ramachandra Captain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    287
    When I build sometimes I miss to have different color (not the body) and shape propusions. Or even something what is not based not on the traditional rocket engine. Races specific technology could increase immersion. I just dream, one day we able to get different look or even parameter propusions from races. In my old favourite game Privateer, the Steltec ship had nice drives for example.

    [​IMG]
     
    #151
    Neal, Jacoviz, binhthuy71 and 2 others like this.
  12. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    From the poking around in the epb format that I've done, it probably wouldn't be too hard for Eleon to add a section that lists colors (stored as 8-bit RGBA), and then references them by position in the color data section. If we were ok with only having 16 different colors per structure (but each of those colors could be custom), then the current way that color is stored in the block data wouldn't have to change (right now each face of a block gets 5 bits to specify the color, hence us having 16 colors right now; 6*5=30, so this just fits in a 32-bit integer). Better would be to devote more bits to the color (and texture) numbers; I'd say 6 bytes per block for colors and for textures would be a big improvement (256 distinct colors and textures).

    Actually, since the texture for each block current takes up a full 8 bytes (but only 6 bits per face are being used right now), there's totally enough space to put in 2 bits per face for texture rotation. In fact, there's enough space to devote 8 bits per face for the texture, along with 2 bits per face for the texture rotation (leaving 4 bits left over, even). The texture and symbol tool could be given the same rotation interface that the multitool has, and that'd be pretty much all we'd need. To keep things simple, for the moment just the rotation bits could be added in, in the last 12 bits of the texture data (which would keep things entirely backwards compatible with existing blueprint files).
     
    #152
  13. SacredGlade

    SacredGlade Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    81
    Does anyone know if there is a way to perform a bulk block change in creative using the console commands?

    Trying to find a way to convert multiple large Pyramid Combat block based builds into Cube Combat block versions in creative and this is not viable manually.

    If there is not - then this is a feature I would like to see :)

    Thanks for any assistance with this!
     
    #153
    Jacoviz and Tyrax Lightning like this.
  14. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    As far as I know, you can only convert one block material into another; there's nothing that will convert between block shapes. I'm currently working on a blueprint editor, though, and I've added this to the list of features I intend to build into it.
     
    #154
  15. oojimaflip

    oojimaflip Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    Yeah, there's currently no way to do a "replaceblocks" with only a specific block shape, because the block shapes are (probably) a block type id and a sub block of the parent cube.
     
    #155
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.
  16. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    That's exactly correct (that's how it is in the epb file); in light of that, it would be fairly easy for Eleon to implement a command to change the subtype, given that it really doesn't require much more work than what the current command for changing the primary block type does.
     
    #156
    Tyrax Lightning and oojimaflip like this.
  17. oojimaflip

    oojimaflip Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    Yeap, replaceblocks could be super powerful, imagine this:

    replaceblocks 1234 :mirror empty = replace all blocks on the currently active mirror plane with empty blocks.... effectively cleave a build anywhere you like...

    I can think of more :)
     
    #157
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.
  18. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    You could now do this with my offline blueprint editing tool (https://github.com/geostar1024/epbtools). You'll need to know a bit of python to use it; for your case, the following python script might work:

    Code:
    from epbtools.readepb import readepb,writeepb
    
    filename="some-blueprint-file.epb"
    newfilename="some-new-blueprint-file.epb"
    
    blueprint=readepb(filename)
    
    # pyramid shape is 63, standard cube is 0
    blueprint.getProp("Grid").changeAllBlockPropertyConditional("SubType",63,"SubType",0)
    
    writeepb(newfilename,blueprint)
    Note that at present my code obliterates groups and signal logic (to be rectified in future versions), but this may be functional enough for your testing purposes.
     
    #158
  19. banksman45

    banksman45 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    3,354
    I 100% AGREE WITH THIS!!!! Big time. I wish the devs would give some thought to this.
     
    #159
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.
  20. A.F.T

    A.F.T Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    15
    Please can you give more full instruction? I tryed and fail.
     
    #160
    Tyrax Lightning likes this.

Share This Page