Config.ecf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Amberyl, Jun 9, 2021.

  1. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    I went after the new update to change my food items, and misc other stuff to an old file that is no longer supported. Just changed mainly the food so it wouldn't rot away so fast, you know the perish times...anyway, put the file in and config_example.ecf, renamed to config.ecf went into the game and no perish times were changed.....did I miss a step along the way?

    Thanks....
     
    #1
  2. Taelyn

    Taelyn Guest

    The Config.ecf isnt working anymore

    Use the BlocksConfig.ecf and ItemsConfig.ecf
     
    #2
    Germanicus and Amberyl like this.
  3. SylenThunder

    SylenThunder Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    278
    I did notice that my BlocksConfig.ecf and ItemsConfig.ecf weren't loading from my scenario folder. They did in experimental, and I just copied the config over to the live server.
     
    #3
    drog007 likes this.
  4. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    126
    What about teleporter range values, can you not mod these ones any longer? The RangeLY is now gone from config_example and is now in BlocksConfig, can you enter other values except 0 or 1, what about RangeAU, is this gone totally?

    Thanks,
     
    #4
  5. SylenThunder

    SylenThunder Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    278
    The line was removed, but you can just add it back in and it works.
     
    #5
  6. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    thanks...I got those things done, but I am wondering..went into blocksconfig, was going to change the armored and automatic doors that were still false for oxygen tight, changed the ones I could find to true, looked in the game and they are still false....any idea?
     
    #6
  7. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    Seems as though when I edited the blocksconfig.ecf it will not accept the changes...changed some of the false doors for oxygen tight to true and now just tried to change the hull shield capacities higher (like on the previous designers file, that doesn't work) to their figures and none of them were replaced...

    Any help would be appreciated......

    Thanks...
     
    #7
  8. Alhira_K

    Alhira_K Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    411
    Are you trying to adapt configs from vanilla game or from a scenario? They're in different paths and changing one doesn't affect the other.

    EDIT: Folder for the scneario hides in
    steamapps/workshop/content/383120/...
    You'll then have to look through the folders to identify the specific scenario, if its Reforged Eden, it ends with 616.
     
    #8
  9. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    not a specific scenario, just generalized game. A person on Nexus had a file changing values back in 2020 for cv weapons to use on planet, and more efficient solar panels, stacks, etc. We are so use to playing with it since it came out...we wanted to change our game back to it....
     
    #9
  10. Alhira_K

    Alhira_K Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    411
    We? I guess you're playing on a server then? Did you restart after you applied the changes?

    And if you want help consider giving some more info here, like the server host, proper version number and whatever could be helpful and hope someone else here can help you. I read there are some server hosts where changing configs is a bit more difficult but as i am singleplayer I'm out as i cannot help you with this, sorry.
     
    #10
    Germanicus likes this.
  11. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    My hubby and I play coop server...and I tried on a single player after I changed it...no changes...thanks for the help
     
    #11
  12. Taelyn

    Taelyn Guest

    What Scenario you use for this CooP Game?
     
    #12
    Germanicus likes this.
  13. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Then it should be removed.
     
    #13
    Inappropriate and krazzykid2006 like this.
  14. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2,338
    Likes Received:
    3,012
    At the very least, the example config should be edited to have all the things that don't work anymore removed.

    How are players supposed to know what does and doesn't work in the config.ecf if the example file is broken from the get go?
     
    #14
    Inappropriate likes this.
  15. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    Not any scenario just the plain jane vanilla game.

    I just want to make the base/ship shields stronger and make all doors airtight.
     
    #15
  16. Taelyn

    Taelyn Guest

    If you leave them at default directory they get overwritten

    Best is to coppy them to Root/Content/Mods for the Vanilla Game
    But this also requiers you update them manual when a GameUpdate gets released and changes are made to the files by us
     
    #16
  17. Taelyn

    Taelyn Guest

    It will not be removed neither changed. As ModAPI Modders need this file to get certain information for a API Call
     
    #17
  18. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Reduce it to only contain that information then?
     
    #18
    Inappropriate likes this.
  19. Preston

    Preston Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    20
    I agreed totally with the statements before. I'm confused about the behaviour, too.
    • The updater recreate/readd the "Example_Config.ecf" -> suggest's to use it.
    • In the Example_Config.ecf still is the description to rename it to "config.ecf" to use it. -> suggest's to use it.
    • Some settings in the "config.ecf" still takes effect, some not. The file is in fact not ignored at all. -> suggest's to use it.
    • And at least it would be a good programming practise to inform the people in any way at game/server start if a "config.ecf" is present in the directory if it not should be....
    Additionally confusing is how to work with the new files since the with "config.ecf" introduced "revision counter" is not used any more.
    And how it is possible to leave just changed entries in the different files to get a better overview over changed settings.
    Nobody knows how to deal with game update any more.

    ...just my view to this change...
     
    #19
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2021
    drog007 likes this.
  20. Preston

    Preston Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    20
    left is the original file from
    Code:
    D:\Spiele\Empyrion - Dedicated Server\Content\Configuration
    right is the copied file emptied to just the needed config in the mod path like mentioned
    Code:
    D:\Spiele\Empyrion - Dedicated Server\Content\Mods
    But nothing happens. The vanilla game not changes anything from standard.

    [​IMG]

    What do I miss?
     

    Attached Files:

    #20
    drog007 likes this.

Share This Page