Creative Mode - Quality of Life requests

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by ArcticPrism, Dec 23, 2018.

  1. ArcticPrism

    ArcticPrism Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    101
    Just a list of things that would make creative mode better to use.


    -Godmode enabled by default. You can get around much faster especially with shift/ctrl and control in the air is much better than the jetpack. The extra control is especially noticeable if you're doing anything in space. You can also travel through walls which makes many things easier/faster. I know that in space you can use Q and E to rotate and you can't do that in god mode so maybe make it where you have to press G to turn it on like with the jetpack?

    -Teleport enabled by default. I can't think of why it shouldn't be enabled by default. It's good for getting around if you have stuff spread out or want to move to certain parts of the planet to do things. Somewhat off topic but can you make it so that teleport always stays on once you enable it? It's annoying to have to type the command every time you go to a new planet/orbit/moon etc.

    -Always return blocks. In creative mode you don't always get your blocks back with the Multi Tool and for creative mode only blocks like alien stuff, you get junk parts like electronics. This wastes blocks and fills up your inventory with meaningless items. A debug Multi Tool would be very helpful for this.

    -Instantly remove blocks with Multi Tool. This wastes a lot of time with things like turrets because it takes several shots to remove the blocks. Can be a function of the Debug Multi Tool.

    -Long range Multi Tool. Would just be part of the Debug Multi Tool. Much more range than the normal one.

    Part 2:

    -Destructible checkbox for all devices. If anyone has messed with admin cores then you know that if you want players to be able to destroy things like sentry guns you have to go to each and every single one manually and damage it.

    -Public checkbox for devices. Similar to destructible devices in admin cores, if you want players to be able to use doors you either have to damage them so they can be destroyed or enter 0 as a code for every single one of them so they can be opened/bypassed. In addition, it would be SUPER handy if there was an option somewhere in the control panel you could press that would set all doors to public.

    -Eyedropper button on color/texture. Would save lots of time getting the right texture/color especially now that you can use custom colors with the color wheel feature.
     
    #1
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
    bbk.3164, Bollen, Monroe and 5 others like this.
  2. Bigfeet

    Bigfeet Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    You don't need to use the multitool in creative really.
    If you hold a block in your hand (any block), aim at what you want removed, hold run button + RMB.
    Blocks are not returned, but that is not needed as it would just clutter up your inventory.
    Took anything out too much ? Just press N and UNDO to get it back where it was. Or for any step of action you did really ...
     
    #2
    Ephoie, Bollen, Driftwolf and 4 others like this.
  3. ArcticPrism

    ArcticPrism Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    101
    Ah. Thanks for the tips. I'll give those a try next time I'm in it. Still, just holding left click to remove blocks is easier than using two keys (the run + rmb)
     
    #3
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2018
  4. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    10,453
    The multitool can't instantly remove blocks in creative mode because you need the ability to damage blocks for creating POIs and all 3 of the tiers of multi tool is useful for doing that to varying damages. Other weapons either don't do enough damage fast enough, do AOE damage that would hit other blocks you don't want to, or can't even damage most blocks.

    Godmode being on by default would be a really nice QOL feature. Once you enable it in the console, you can toggle it on or off with G. Having it and teleport enabled by default would be very helpful.

    So would starting out with an inventory with some fuel, o2, multicharges, color, texture, and multitool, etc.

    A one-time PDA window popup and/or some LCD screens in the starting location that gives you hints for creative mode (shortcuts, creative mode functionality, how to save blueprints, etc) would be nice too.
     
    #4
    Bollen and 7HzHetrodyne like this.
  5. Damocles

    Damocles Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    552
    A mark - copy - paste system. Where a whole group of blocks is marked, and can be copied, rotated and placed.
    Also allowing to save marked blocks to a edit-template.
     
    #5
    Monroe likes this.
  6. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    10,453
    The first is already in the game. :D for the second, you can save the block group as a blueprint and spawn it when you need it.
     
    #6
    Ephoie and TNTBOY479 like this.
  7. ArcticPrism

    ArcticPrism Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    101
    Hm, that's a good point. What about the salvage function doing that then? Could have creative mode only multi-tools with salvage always returning blocks in one hit.
     
    #7
    Spirit_OK likes this.
  8. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    10,453
    We have a debug drill and a debug rifle and rocket launcher. Time for a debug multitool maybe? :D
     
    #8
    Ephoie, Bollen and Spirit_OK like this.
  9. ArcticPrism

    ArcticPrism Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    101
    That's what I said in my posts earlier ^^
     
    #9
  10. Dagron

    Dagron Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    7
    The ability to enable to more then one mirror Axis at a time.
     
    #10
  11. 7HzHetrodyne

    7HzHetrodyne Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    65
    Standard hot keys...
    Ctrl C
    Ctrl V
    Ctrl X
     
    #11
    Ephoie and Ian Einman like this.
  12. ArcticPrism

    ArcticPrism Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    101
    Part 2:

    -Destructible checkbox for all devices. If anyone has messed with admin cores then you know that if you want players to be able to destroy things like sentry guns you have to go to each and every single one manually and damage it.

    -Public checkbox for devices. Similar to destructible devices in admin cores, if you want players to be able to use doors you either have to damage them so they can be destroyed or enter 0 as a code for every single one of them so they can be opened/bypassed. In addition, it would be SUPER handy if there was an option somewhere in the control panel you could press that would set all doors to public.

    -Eyedropper button on color/texture. Would save lots of time getting the right texture/color especially now that you can use custom colors with the color wheel feature.
     
    #12
    Ian Einman and ravien_ff like this.
  13. Razorlight Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    From the Steam thread - https://steamcommunity.com/app/383120/discussions/1/1642042464736730239/

    Greetings denizens of Eleon Space Offices,

    Could you kindly fix the Replaceblocks command parameter for HullExtendedLarge, so that it works pretty much like HullFullLarge?

    Right now replaceblocks ID HullFullLarge HullArmoredFullLarge replaces all the full blocks.

    HullExtendedLarge to HullArmoredExtendedLarge does not.
    We need to enter the individual IDs for the corridor tiles - as in Replaceblocks HullExtendedLarge5 HullArmoredExtendedLarge5.

    Could it be made to function the same as HullLarge? The same thing for HullArmoredExtendedSmall, if applicable, please.

    I have been told that these commands were not meant to be used by Creative Builders, but ReplaceBlocks is quite convenient and VERY time saving. Keeping it updated would keep all the builders happy, I think. It would make me VERY happy, at least.

    Cheers. :)
     
    #13
  14. Lonesome Joe

    Lonesome Joe Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    39
    I would really like some view modes, perhaps added to the N interface, and I guess they could be added to Survival mode as well:
    A mode that hides all non-block devices, to make painting and detailing behind them easier.
    A mode that hides all blocks, so I can get a quick look at installed devices, -and repair them in Survival-.
    A mode that colours blocks in view according to their type, to make it easier to, for example, keeping track of progress when upgrading the outer layer of a BA to armored concrete.
    A mode, though this is mostly for Survival, that show the damage state of blocks in view, shading from green to red, to make it easier to do repairs to a damaged build.
     
    #14
    Monroe likes this.
  15. IndigoWyrd

    IndigoWyrd Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Time Stop

    I don't know about anyone else, but it bothers the hades out of me to try to build something at night. Being able to stop time so that it remains daytime while I build would be handy. I know, we can adjust the time of day, but it still progresses, and having to stop building to fiddle throws off the creative flow some times.

    Of course, when I've finished a build, I don't mind giving it a good look at night, to make sure it has the right kind of visibility (if required).
     
    #15
    Ephoie likes this.
  16. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    1,831
    You can already stop time in the debug menu. The top slider is to change the time of day. The slider right below that one is to set the speed that local time advances. Drag that second slider all the way to the left and time of day doesn't advance.

    Of course flying around the planet will put you at different times of the day still, so you may have to adjust time of day if you leave that area.
     
    #16
    Ephoie and stanley bourdon like this.
  17. IndigoWyrd

    IndigoWyrd Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Never played with that - don't spend a lot of time in Creative mode, except to work out a build, so thanks for that.
     
    #17
    Ephoie likes this.
  18. Lonesome Joe

    Lonesome Joe Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    39
    It's a bit outside Empyrion itself, but I'd like it if uploads to the Steam Workshop could automatically include the stats of the build, like resource cost, installed devices and so on. I upgrade and adjust my builds a lot over time.
    Also, when ordering a blueprint, I'd like options to build the object without weapons, and without devices. This is just so I don't have to waste internet space on uploading unequipped variants of my more modifiable designs!
     
    #18
  19. IndigoWyrd

    IndigoWyrd Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    That's going to be largely on the blueprint creators if they want to make "stripped" version of their designs or not.
    I kind of think of it like this - if I were to download something, factory it out, and didn't want the weapons it came with, those would go right into my Deconstructor, to be recycled into things I actually did want. "Free" materials.
     
    #19
    Khazul likes this.
  20. Khazul

    Khazul Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    259
    Most of my designs that I use in game from early on have several versions, in some cases 4 or 5 for something built very early game that goes through many upgrades and remains useful late game. I havnt yet put these on the workshop mainly because it is so much extra effort to create and maintain them for public consumption and in some cases, it just doesn't work when you cant put upgrade guide symbols on some area because the block isn't present at that unlock level.

    I really wish there was a mechanism with blueprints to directly support such progressive blueprints. For eg, suppose you have an HV that can be initially built at L5, then gets an upgrade at L7 (T2, constructor, medical for eg), and then another at L10 (drills), then another at L12 (minigun turret replaced by something better for eg).

    I would like to be able to represent that within a blueprint such that a consumer of the blueprint can built the initial build, then from that point on, they could take it to the repair bay (or a new upgrade facility) and upgrade the existing build to the next stage in the progression.

    Currently, for authors it is a real pain to maintain several stages of a build as they end up being separate workshop items, that each need to be maintained and published separately. The best we tend to see right now are a load of painted symbols that guide a consumer in what extra block can go where. That is fine when you have the space to do that, but not otherwise.

    My HV and SV for eg would probably be great starter vessels for people, but self describing their upgrade process is pretty much impossible (its complex and goes through many stages from L5/7 through to L20) in game at this time and the only way most people could ever make sense of the progression would be to publish all of the stage so at least they are available as a reference, which is a real pain to maintain.

    Of course a lot of build are very easy to describe an upgrade and often need no more than space for it and a painted symbol.

    Another thing I do is consider the context in which something will be built - for eg, a CV with loads of grow plot is going to be annoying if the player is very unlikely to have or want an advanced constructor prior to that (40K CPU vs the 20K of a large would need a T2 upgrade mostly likely, so that will get annoying fast for someone building a starter CV - when most likely the starter CV will have the advanced constructors).

    Or an early game SV with a warp drive - where are they going to get the cobalt from? Probably the moon, so best leave the wrap drive off and let them add when they have used the SV to get to the moon. If they already have the cobalt, then easy to add, but they will have to spend points unlock it.

    And then there is another issue - the factory bypasses unlocks, so people probably mostly want blueprints that preserve that bypass. For eg, unlocking a shield required unlocking a ton of previous stuff. Its a balance between ease of build vs bypassing unlocks.
     
    #20

Share This Page