Ethernet Overload ??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TRX, Oct 17, 2020.

  1. TRX

    TRX Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    177
    Been away for a while and just started Empyrion back up again. What has changed? The first thing I noticed was the game is now very "choppy". Checked the system and in stand-alone single game mode, the game is hitting the ethernet like crazy. It's almost unplayable - especially in fights.

    I have an Omen 880 which consists of
    - Intel I7 @ 4.2GHz
    - 16 GB RAM
    - 1TB HD
    - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti

    CPU is typically around 20% taxed and GPU at about 60% taxed.

    Any suggestions??
     
    #1
  2. SylenThunder

    SylenThunder Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    278
    "Intel I7" is pretty vague as it covers about 12 years worth of CPU's. Based on the "Omen 880" and the 1080, it's most likely an i7-7700.

    Your biggest issue is going to be the 7200rpm 1TB SATA drive.

    As far as network activity, that should be negligible if you're actually in Single-player without a co-op mode selected.

    I'd suggest checking what other programs you have going on. Especially things that would interfere with client operations, like your antivirus.
     
    #2
    TRX and Germanicus like this.
  3. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    1,888
    4.2Ghz suggests at least a 6700k (in turb0), more likely a 7700k onwards.
     
    #3
    Germanicus likes this.
  4. SylenThunder

    SylenThunder Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    278
    Yeah, they shipped with 8700's as well, but based on the clock speed, it would be a 7700. Not an exceptional series, but capable. Almost as fast as my 3930k was at the same speeds.

    Choppy game indicates FPS stuttering, so I'm not sure why the OP is bringing up network activity. There's a big different between lag and low FPS.
     
    #4
    TRX likes this.
  5. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    1,888
    No idea - game is running right now in solo creative and no network activity. I have a 7700k at 4.2 with an RX580 @ 1440 and its fine.

    Something else maybe interfering.
     
    #5
  6. TRX

    TRX Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    177
    Appreciate the feedback :). It was actually an old anti-virus program that I no longer use. I "thought" I had deleted it, but turns out all I did was turn it OFF. There were several proc's running in the background :-( which are now history so it' off to the stars once again :). Thanks all!!!
     
    #6
    Germanicus likes this.

Share This Page