EXP 1.8 - New Game Start: SKILLON (Barren Starter Moon)

Discussion in 'Experimental Features Discussion' started by Hummel-o-War, May 17, 2022.

  1. tigrean

    tigrean Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2022
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Even with an Ore scanner I had one deposit of Promethium on Omicron have nothing I spent almost 5 minutes in an SV miner trying to find the ore, all I got by digging a really big hole around the deposit was 4k in rock which can't be turned into promethium unfortunately. At least there were still 4 other deposits that were fine.
     
    #81
    BushiNeko likes this.
  2. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    2,662
    Ore Scanner only works if you're using a Hand Drill - if you're using an HV or SV to mine you can't see the nuggets. Really, being higher tech, HV and SV-class Drills should ideally see the nuggets, just like the Ore Scanner. Basically, the Ore Scanner could then be an early-game, hand-tool only sort of thing, with HV/SV Class stuff replacing it fully. Or make the Ore Scanner work in HV/SV of course :)
     
    #82
    Wellingtoon likes this.
  3. BushiNeko

    BushiNeko Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    28
    I am pretty sure I have a visor o_O < shrug >
     
    #83
  4. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    98
    I tried to replicate missing ore with HV but could not.

    I got to promethium with visor, saw nodules, took visor out of inventory and after a while the nodules vanished.

    I drilled with HV drill to one nodule wearing the visor and it appeared, took the visor off again drilled to where a nodule should be and that appeared too so HV drill worked OK, was able to harvest.

    One small snag was the harvest failed to drop when the ore cargo was full so was lost. I thought it ought to drop on the floor like drone mining IMHO.
     
    #84
  5. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    2,662
    If you were only using an HV or SV to mine though it doesn't work. I just wanted to make you aware that the Ore Scanner only works with hand-held drills, in case you didn't know. I had a "where are the nuggets" moment the first time I mined with an HV.

    Note: I do also sometimes encounter untouched empty (yet showing as 100%) deposits, but haven't for quite some time now and certainly not during this Experimental Phase.
     
    #85
    BushiNeko likes this.
  6. BushiNeko

    BushiNeko Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    28
    I was not ;)
    I have not done any further test yet. But that scenario was as the original complaint by the other poster..

    I moved from the starter moons having begun on Skillon to Akua and all ore showed fine on both. Mining was as expected.

    I arrive on Omnicron and the deposits register with SV Scanner... and leaving craft with handheld drill ( actual drill ) and goggles but on drilling.. nothing comes out but rock.
    No matter how deep or far I drill. Just rock.
    The indicator on promethium also never changes. It remains at 100% ( which is good as I am not getting any out of the ground. )
    And as for nuggets. Nada to be seen ( other than normal on surface types )
    I do intend to go back in today to see what I can try different to see different possibilites.

    CC @Hummel-o-War @Kundara

    EDIT:
    hmmmm... :confused:
    So I think I found an ' insect ' and I will now see if I can recreate... somehow. :-/

    I returned to the above mentioned situation, and no nuggets seen.

    I crafted a ' new ' goggle scanner on site with SV constructor.
    Put new google in inventory ( old one was removed ) then restart from exit, and voila.

    Nuggets.

    What the???? < deer in headlights look appears >


    [​IMG]

    I have no words on this one..... :confused:

    Someone PLEASE do this if your having issue and tell me I am not crazy.... please. :p
     
    #86
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2022
  7. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    9,470
    Opt out of EXP and into Stable...:NewSunglasses:
     
    #87
  8. BushiNeko

    BushiNeko Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    28
    Nah, I like being part of the process. I used to work for some gaming companies and this kind of reminds me of employee masochist traits in testing before release ;)

    The team needs all the viable help and input they can get. :p
    It's actually a benefit overall to endure.

    IMO anyway.
    EDIT:
    Oh.. FFS.. lol. I just saw that 1.8 has gone public. :D I guess switching soon is viable.
     
    #88
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2022
    Germanicus likes this.
  9. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    9,470
    I like to point out that the EXP branch Version 1.8 is now life on the Stable Branch - therefore I suggested to change to the other branch:NewWink:
     
    #89
    BushiNeko likes this.
  10. Scoob

    Scoob Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    2,662
    @BushiNeko - looks like it's working for you now. I think the Ore Scanner (visor thingy) only works if it's in your main inventory, not on the toolbar... just in case that's what you did. That said, many a time an inexplicable issue has been fixed for me by a simple save and reload.

    v1.8 is Live now, but I need a little rest before I start again... had just restarted for Exp IV.
     
    #90
    BushiNeko likes this.
  11. BushiNeko

    BushiNeko Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 20, 2022
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yup.. I saw it after our discourse here. :p And I'am not ready to start anew either. ;)

    Yup.. it was. And for whatever reason crafting a new one fixed the issue.
    Life / and programming can be strange.
    :D
     
    #91
    Germanicus likes this.

Share This Page