Fixed Faction - custom standings not applied in any scenario [6724]

Discussion in 'Fixed' started by cpontin, Jul 28, 2019.

  1. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    Customising default faction standings seems to be broken.

    At first I thought it was just my scenarios but I just checked Def vs. Inv and the faction standings for each start are at the default values (not the intended scenario values) there too.

    Example:
    In Def vs. Inv the Invader is supposed to be a Zirax ally as per the DefRepution.ecf.
    However this is what I see when running the scenario as Invader.
    [​IMG]
     
    #1
  2. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    Ive just tried it from my own scenario and works fine.

    From where are you calling the reputation file?

    Naamloos.png
     
    #2
  3. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    In the example of the Defenders vs. Invaders it is in .\content\configuration\DefReputation.ecf
     
    #3
  4. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    IvD shows the right rep for me aswell,

    Try cleaning cache and very your files
     
    #4
  5. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    So I performed the following steps and it TEMPORARILY fixed it for Def vs. Inv
    1. Cache Cleared
    2. Files Verified
    3. Launch Game
    4. Start New Game - Def vs. Inv Scenario - Chose Invader Medium
    5. Start New Game - Def vs. Inv Scenario - Chose Trader
    However when I go into my own custom scenario and then back into Def vs. Inv, the Faction is broken in both.

    I repeated this and it broke 2 out of 3 times with my Scenario sometimes inheriting the Faction of the Def vs. Inv game and sometimes just seemingly random.

    Something odd is going on but I cannot reproduce it 100%.
    It definitely seems that going into my scenario is the start of the issue after each Cache flush.
     
    #5
  6. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    I've tried it in 10.5 what worked fine,

    I'll try your steps there and see if I can reproduce it
     
    #6
  7. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    I think my scenario has a fault somewhere but I can’t find it.
    I’ve set up a single origin as Human:0 in the sector.yaml but it doesn’t appear in game. I only see the NPC tab.

    This could be the cause of the break.
     
    #7
  8. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    There is definitely something wrong here.
    After an uninstall and reinstall of EmpyionI have done the following:

    Start a new game in the Defender vs. Invader scenario
    Select Invader (medium)
    Wait until the game starts
    Exit
    Start a new game on Survival (temperate)

    Result:
    I am Friendly with Zirax !! (this is the faction standings from the def vs. inv scenario when choosing Inv)

    Here is the client log:
     
    #8
  9. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    I did another test as follows:
    1. I uninstalled again and this time deleted the entire" C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival" folder.
    2. Reinstalled (from steam)
    3. Loaded the gamed and started the Invader vs Defender scenario choosing Invader (Medium)
    4. Waited until the game loaded
    5. Exited
    6. Started a new Survival game (Temperate) using all defaults
    7. This time the Faction was like this (note the 'Defender' Faction at the top which I think is a hangover from the defender scenario in this instance)
    [​IMG]


    Do you agree that something is amiss here with the faction settings between game types?
     
    #9
  10. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    I run some tests later. Everything I tried so far it worked as it should.

    If it cant be reproduced then not much we can do
     
    #10
  11. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    Understood and that is fair.

    Is there anywhere else that affects faction/origin in the game files besides sector and playfield yaml files in a given scenario?
    Something not removed by a reinstall?
    Something in the registry?

    If it’s just me then it was caused by something I’ve done when creating a new scenario most likely, although as I said I’ve removed all of the game folders and reinstalled.
     
    #11
  12. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    Only thing I can think off is that it keeps reading the default file in content/configuration

    Try to replace it and see if it works then
     
    #12
  13. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    You put me on the right track for part of the problem:
    I had my DefReputation.ecf in ...myScenario\Content instead of \content\configuration so it was picking up the default one but still using the origins from my sectors.yaml.
    This seems to have been causing havoc :rolleyes:

    However it doesn't explain the cross over between the Defender and Survival game loads after a fresh install.
    It only seems to be me its affecting me so far so I guess you can just park this report until you get any more instances.
     
    #13
  14. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    It should be read from the Scenario folder aswell

    But i might know what you do wrong :)

    You says myScenario\Content

    Needs to be myScenario\Content\Configuration

    Do you have it there?

    Ive just tested every possible way. CooP, MP, SP works all fine for me, I cant reproduce this
     
    #14
  15. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    Yes, When I move my one to \content\configuration it works but its still picking up an extra origin in all game types depending on the last one played.
     
    #15
  16. Taelyn™

    Taelyn™ Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Administrator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    3,351
    hm doesnt do it for me,

    Ill ask tomorrow about it maybe someone knows
     
    #16
  17. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,529
    Likes Received:
    4,684
    A possible fix will be in the next release for this please retest when it is released & leave feedback here after you have tested the report out again thanks.
     
    #17
    cpontin likes this.
  18. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,529
    Likes Received:
    4,684
  19. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    182
    After a quick round of testing, this one appears to be solved.

    Repeating all of the tests detailed above now result in the correct faction standings and even my own custom scenario is working!

    Good work guys.
     
    #19
    Pantera likes this.

Share This Page