General Feedback on 1.3 onward

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by Foofaspoon, Jan 20, 2021.

1. Foofaspoon

Foofaspoon Commander

I wanted to give some overall feedback on how I am finding the game as of 1.3. I've just finished a single player run through of the vanilla campaign, and my overall view is that I enjoyed the story, and the game is overall better balanced. There are some buts in there though. To run through the different bits:

1. Starting planet / system (Temperate start): This now feels much more balanced and appropriate in terms of progression and loot, compared to when I started playing about a year and a half ago. You can get together the resources to build an early game warp CV, but without going further afield would struggle to get anything more (more optimal players I'm sure could push this further). The starter 'Abandoned' POIs are a welcome addition and a good balance (With one exception I'll mention below). The zirax cluster is fun to take on - though I do wonder, for a new player, whether it would be worth having at least one lightly defended Zirax POI that could be taken more easily on foot (like the old Spaceport). Generally the POIs are well done and fun.

2. Story. Some may disagree, but I really like the story - you seem to be doing something different with the Legacy than I first thought, and there is enough mystery that I want to find out more which is good. The missions have certainly been improved, with less walls of text (the Titan could still do with some cutting down IMHO though). The new missions, I think, show you are learning and are generally well designed. I enjoyed them more, but especially the infiltration of the pirate base (The base itself is amazing and one of my favourite POIs). It gave a different challenge having to be careful what you shot! There was one frustrating bit, but that is part of a more general problem (see below).