Filed / Tracking Horizontal 2 Solar Panel is not counting max amount allowed properly [6955]

Discussion in 'Tracking / Filed' started by fa_q2, Nov 23, 2019.

  1. fa_q2

    fa_q2 Ensign

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mode: Survival
    Mode: MP

    SERVER NAME: Official US Server

    If applicable:

    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: DontKnow

    Reproducibility: Always
    Severity : Minor

    Type: BA

    Summary: Horizontal 2 Solar Panel is not counting max amount allowed properly.

    Description: Horizontal 2 Solar Panel seems to include all solar panels in the area rather than the number that are installed on that base when checking to see if the max number is already installed.

    Steps to Reproduce: Build multiple bases next to each other that are solar powered. Try building a new base and add horizontal solar panel 2 to it. The game seems to be calculating the current number installed on the new base using the total number installed on ALL bases. in my case it states I cannot add the new solar panel because 57 are already installed and that base has zero. All other solar panels seem to be working fine - I only get this error when trying to install horizontal 2.
     
    #1
    stanley bourdon likes this.
  2. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,597
    Likes Received:
    4,747
    Hi can you tell me which playfield you have the bases you mention on the server ?
     
    #2
  3. fa_q2

    fa_q2 Ensign

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sect Orbit

    Ill add that I did try destroying the new base and starting over with a new base block as well as the standard relog/zone in and out ect.
     
    #3
  4. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    same problem here...
     
    #4
  5. fa_q2

    fa_q2 Ensign

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Did a little more testing and it seems to effect all solar panels but effects them separately. IOW, you can use 15 of a single type of solar panel on all the bases in the local area but I am not sure how far it goes or if it effects the entire playfield. After installing 15 of another type I could also not use that one on any more bases. It seems to be effecting the existing panels as well causing some of them to simply stop working entirely. Still not sure why or in what particular way the game breaks existing panels. Ill post more if I notice anything else.
     
    #5
  6. KayaM82

    KayaM82 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Mode: Survival
    Mode: Dedicated Server

    SERVER NAME: Brothers Home / das unentdekcte Land

    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: Yes ( are still out of Alpha 10 )

    Reproducibility: Always
    Severity: Minor

    Type: Global

    Description:
    The solar panels are not calculated with the correct number and do not generate power.

    Block ID: 1496 = without function & number is not calculated correctly
    Block ID: 1510 = works without problems
    Block ID: 1511 = works without problems
    Block ID: 1497 = without function & number is not calculated correctly
    Block ID: 1498 = works without problems
    Block ID: 1499 = works without problems
    Block ID: 1512 = works without problems

    Block ID: 1515 = without function & number is not calculated correctly
    Block ID: 1514 = Power is generated / more, much more like 15 placeable
    Block ID: 1516 = Power is generated / more, much more like 15 placeable

    config.ecf adjusted, example based on block ID: 1496

    { Block Id: 1496, Name: SolarPanelSlope
    Group: cpgSolar
    PanelAngle: 30
    SolarPanelEfficiency: 2.8, display: true <----- here the only change
    Material: metallight
    Category: Devices
    HitPoints: 150, type: int, display: true
    Mass: 250, type: float, display: true, formatter: Kilogram
    MaxCount: 15, type: int, display: true
    CPUIn: 45, type: int, display: true
    TemplateRoot: SolarPanelBlocks
    IsOxygenTight: false, display: true
    BlockColor: "110,110,110"
    }​

    Screenshots attached
     

    Attached Files:

    #6
  7. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,597
    Likes Received:
    4,747
    #7
  8. Redgum

    Redgum Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    16
    We've noticed the same thing - I was about to write this bug up.

    The bug seems to manifest after all solar power was drained from the battery bank. I noticed the next day that the batteries were not charging, so I went out to check on the panels and noticed that during the day, no power was coming from the solar arrays. Closer inspection revealed that none of the installed (Horizontal, type 2) panels were lit - not one.

    I began to remove them and when I tried putting a few back down I get the message to the effect I already have 21 panels out of 15.
    If I try putting down a different style panel, it will place.
     
    #8
    Germanicus likes this.
  9. KayaM82

    KayaM82 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    The complete savegame should be HummelOWar available
     
    #9
  10. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,597
    Likes Received:
    4,747
    He doesn't have a save game when I asked him about it.

    I'll merge this thread with the one I linked too then check with you when this is resolved.
     
    #10
  11. KayaM82

    KayaM82 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    #11
    Germanicus likes this.
  12. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Any word on the solar panels, not been playing the game because of it.
     
    #12
  13. fligmin

    fligmin Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Solar panel Issue with multiple bases close together

    I like to build 2 bases and tie them together so they look like one. Been doing it for a while so my fridge does not run out of power when others are on and I am not.

    Today I noticed that I could not snap solar panels to the second base as I was at my limit -Problem is that's the other base. So I tried moving the second base farther and farther away right to the point of going past the wireless range.

    The problem continued then I tried a different model for the second base and wola.

    SO there is some kind of issue there.

    Either I should not be able to place the new model on the new base (reached the limit in a given area not just a base) or I should be able to place a whole new set of the same model on the second base)

    Multiple bases should not and does not seem an exploit to me either as the result is I get double the base attacks. I get a penalty for doing it.

    Now to rebuild the building I tore down playing with this experimenting. LOL
     
    #13
  14. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Are all your panels lighting up? See mine on 8 bldgs only 2 bldgs are fully lit.
     
    #14
  15. fligmin

    fligmin Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Only 2 buildings ATM and will start the farm soon. But all panels are lit and working. Other than the limit within the area for the one type of model I seem fine. MY only other Issue with solar was I originally placed my capacitor before the panels on my original building and after 10 min it failed to light but panels had lights so I picked it up and replaced it (panels in place now) and it lit in under 30 seconds.

    So fridge I placed the panels first Never tried the other way - Probably should have for a test.
     
    #15
  16. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just put up 2 gun towers the only bldg with solar panels, 4 each on them, and only 2 panels are lit up fully (green and yellow) on one bldg. BUT it seems to maintain the power somewhat..I wish they would fix it like before the update to 11.
    :)
     
    #16
  17. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,597
    Likes Received:
    4,747
    Hi what you appear to be experiencing is not related to what is reported in the first post.
    Can you send me your save game with your character left standing next to a panel that has a issue so I can load in & check it out ?

    What you describe sounds more like what was found here https://empyriononline.com/threads/alpha-11-1-1-some-solar-panels-stop-working.91513/
     
    #17
  18. Amberyl

    Amberyl Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    You are correct...sorry...thanks for the news of an update.
     
    #18

Share This Page