How do you turn off generator self damage?

Discussion in 'Experimental Features Discussion' started by Kronoss, Apr 23, 2020.

  1. Kronoss

    Kronoss Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    557
    I was using one of my old HV laser drills and the generator took damage and then exploded. At this point I don't like any of your Idiotic new "features". I just want to turn this trash off. Items taking damage from use.... I DO NOT WANT!!!!!! Is this game is trying to go bankrupt and collect insurance money. Having to micro manage absolutely everything, just drives most players away. This game is simply not fun any more.

    I am so mad right now I am shaking.
     
    #1
  2. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    13,938
    Not that I know of, but it would be a good option to have.
    I think a lot of ships will need to be redesigned a bit to account for the new balancing and such however. And it's probably not the last time a change will require some redesigns. :D
     
    #2
    Kronoss and Germanicus like this.
  3. nottrox ¯\ (ツ) /¯

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    388
    I get that you hate the need to micro manage everything but come on, that a generator get's damage when it runs on overpower for some time is reasonable. Just put more generators into your vessels. What is wrong about using as much generators as the item values demand? You also don't expect that your oven works when you connect it to a mobile charger do you?
    For me this is something I missed for a long time as till Alpha12 the use of appropiate generators was just something to make the little engineer inside yourself happy.
    I just wish there was a control that allows us to choose between an overpowering generator or a structure with less device efficiency (We have that other thing at CPU so it should be possible.)


    That's a good thing, those statistically underpowered structures are ridicilous and make my inner engineer to shake its head.
     
    #3
    builder680 and Germanicus like this.
  4. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11,176
    Likes Received:
    17,971
    there is no way to switch it of...except adding the appropriate amount of generators.

    (Currently there is no plan to give this as a gamestart setting)
     
    #4
  5. Don't Panic

    Don't Panic Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    156
    Unfortunately, after around 1000 years, mankind has lost the knowledge of how to build surge protection devices to protect the generators.
     
    #5
    Cpt_Beefheart, Doc 447, Addy and 6 others like this.
  6. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,164
    Likes Received:
    9,414
    It prevented humanity not from keeping its stupidity and to go on destroying its own Planet;)
     
    #6
    SifVerT, Fractalite and Taelyn like this.
  7. Khazul

    Khazul Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    I wouldn't mind this feature *IF* there was a simple way to see the sum total peak of all possibly required power - ie a 'Peak Consumption' value in power statistics.

    Instead, this seems to be deliberately designed and implemented specifically to just piss people off instead of meaningfully adding to game play and ship design.
     
    #7
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2020
    Addy likes this.
  8. cpontin

    cpontin Commander

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    197
    I doubt it was in any way intended to irritate anyone. This is just the first pass at this in an experimental build.
    Offer solutions you think would be more suitable.

    Is there currently any way to see what power will be used prior to powering on the vehicle?
     
    #8
  9. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    LOL Why it happens in real life!:eek:
    Daughter had a mate come over to wire up our new stove we had gotten. Bloke pulls the old one, looking at the old wiring. Moved the new one in place double checked and then wired in the new one.
    He had me go turn power back on to the house at the fuse box and said "All that can happen is we have sparks!":rolleyes:
    I flipped the main breaker and the 30 am fuse wire burned in a flash with sparks and all.:eek::eek::eek:
    I stand there shacking my head yelling out it blew the fuse (old house):rolleyes:
    So the bloke laughs, checks the schematics, swaps two wires. :oops:
    Goes out and puts two 15 amp fuse wires in the 30 amp fuse block and turns it back on.o_O:rolleyes:

    In the end it all worked.:)
     
    #9
  10. Liang

    Liang Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    285
    Well...you could perhaps maybe try editing the config file and increasing the amount of power the generators could put out...

    EnergyOut is the entry you are looking for. Put a 1 in front of the current number and give it a try.
     
    #10
    Kronoss likes this.
  11. Khazul

    Khazul Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Well if it was I could respect that.

    But thoughtless crap? cant respect that.
     
    #11
  12. HurtfulPlayer97

    HurtfulPlayer97 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    55
    The Generator should blow a fuse and turn off not EXPLODE.
     
    #12
    Doc 447 and Kronoss like this.
  13. builder680

    builder680 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    45
    It could operate like your house when a surge protector switches stuff off, suddenly devices are turned off on a circuit. Or if the surge is big enough it might explode everything anyway AND turn stuff off :) AND set the rest of your stuff ON FIRE :D
     
    #13
  14. Fractalite

    Fractalite Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,496
    Likes Received:
    11,213
    Kronoss, common man, this feature, like thruster damage, has been telegraphed as a "for sure" addition to the game for YEARS. I know you have been playing this game for long enough that you knew that.

    For everyone new here, "thruster damage" means that if you place blocks in front of the "output" side of the thruster, they will take damage and eventually be destroyed. So keep your thrusters from being embedded and do not place blocks in front of the output. That will help keep your BP's relevant.

    Lets be honest with ourselves, it does not seem like that at all. This is a more than reasonable addition and the p-gens output stupendously huge amounts of power with very little down-side, so there is really no excuse to make an assertion that this feature "is there to deliberately piss people off." Please do not warrentlessly feed peoples anger.
     
    #14
  15. Khazul

    Khazul Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    There are so many ways they could have handled this, but no - the choice was about the most disruptive they could think of - instant damage if a spike should occur.
     
    #15
  16. playlessNamer

    playlessNamer Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    bad feature +1
    pls remove. When there is not enough power some devices dont work, thats the proper solution.
     
    #16
  17. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,164
    Likes Received:
    9,414
    Haha! I hear those who have it your Way crying: "ELEON! Please fix!"
    No. That feature should Stay. Learn to energize your Builds properly.
    Btw., what happens in Real Life if you running a Reactor on 105%...BOOM!:eek:
     
    #17
    builder680 and krazzykid2006 like this.
  18. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Well, in real life we factor safety systems into our power ratings for a reason. We wouldn't generally go over 100% because that is typically the absolute max it can attain anyways.
    In cases where a power source can be pushed over 100% in real life we would typically shut it down before it started a meltdown or damaged itself.
    Honestly in my opinion the developers should have never allowed generators to go over 100% in the first place. They have a max output for a reason. Systems should have just shut down if there isn't enough generation in the first place.

    We also typically would install fuse breakers and voltage regulators in real life, so.....

    Sorry, I couldn't help it. Lol.
    I don't completely hate the mechanic but it's not the best solution either.
     
    #18
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  19. Vermillion

    Vermillion Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    10,028
    We run our generators on nuclear fuel and like any nuclear-based generator, they produce heat. The hotter they are, the more power they produce. But the casing can only get so hot before it melts and ruins the whole thing. When you exceed 100% safe power capacity, you don't run out of power, this isn't a battery, it's a portable nuclear reactor it gets hotter to meet the power demand.

    Realistically, there would be a safety system in place to shut down the generator before it melted down and we may get one in future. But it's highly unlikely that some systems would simply not work since there's no way for the game to decide which devices work and how many without severe performance issues from checking constantly.
     
    #19
    Liang, krazzykid2006 and Germanicus like this.
  20. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Simple, shut the whole system entirely down if there isn't enough generation. No need to pick and choose. It would be nice but not necessary either.
    That would mean you had to worry about protecting your generators even more because if you didn't have redundancies and too many got taken out everything just goes down. Overloaded the breaker and shut down, or more accurately demand exceeded the generation and the generators shut down.
     
    #20

Share This Page