How to back up your games!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gary Parkin, Jul 27, 2020.

1. Gary Parkin

Gary Parkin Captain

I've played a lot of video games. I love everything from top down to first person shooters.
    I've had a lot of good times, building and exploring, but what happens when things go horribly wrong?

I'm not an expert, but sometimes the said games crash, leaving you with a corrupted game save.

I've read a lot about this on this forum and I feel so bad for the player who can no longer play, and has lost all those hours so I'm sharing my code and my way of backing up my games. It may not be the best solution, but it's easy to do and it works great.

(I take no responsibility for you hosing up your saves or anything else you break. Please make a MANUAL backup, and or test this on a text file first until you get the hang of it).

I added thumbnails so you can see the entire process.
    I have 2 drives, but if you don't it's ok. You can set up a folder for your game saves.
    I wanted to make this as easy to set up as possible for as many games that I have.

This is broken into 2 pieces; the main save script and the shortcut that calls it. The main script you never have to change. I promise.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    I use Windows, so I don't know Mac. I'm sorry Mac guys.

Set up a folder called Utilities or what ever you'd like to call it. I called mine Utilities.
    Next get yourself a copy of Notepad++. Don't use Windows notepad because it adds junk at the end of the lines.

Create a file named BackupSaveFile.bat and add these lines to it. This is an old style Windows batch file. You can do it with Windows Scripting Host too, but some Windows have this disabled for virus protection. (Mine does).

Code:
    For /f "tokens=2-4 delims=/ " %%a in ('date /t') do (set mydate=%%c-%%a-%%b)
    For /f "tokens=1-3 delims=/:/ " %%a in ('time /t') do (set mytime=%%a-%%b-%%c)
    set mytime=%mytime: =%