I use a motion sensor to auto-switch power of a SV, but it powers off when I enter the cockpit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by van.eon, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    I use a motion sensor to auto-switch power of a SV and it works well, except that it powers off when I enter the cockpit.
    How to prevent this issue?
    20170913151552.png
     
    #1
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
  2. Christianholmes

    Christianholmes Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    401
    That's just the way the sensors currently work. Same happens for CVs. It's good when you use the sensors for lighting, but you can't use them for power. I use a wall mounted swtich now that turns on all my thrusters, so I can leave fridges/turrets powered without the engines draining too much.
     
    #2
    geostar1024 likes this.
  3. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    you can place manually sensors in every direction but change their detection hitbox so it isnt in cockpit? kinda hollow cube
     
    #3
  4. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    The hitbox covers the whole SV. When I come near, it can auto power on, but once I get in the cockpit, it went off.
     
    #4
  5. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    maybe a rs latch so it stays on until you leave then? if its because sensor stops spotting you when in cockpit and turns ship off

    gonna try building one
     
    #5
  6. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    how do you turn on/off whole ship or do you only turn on devices?
     
    #6
  7. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'd like to see a screenshot of your circuit when you done :)
     
    #7
  8. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    The core can be controlled by signal.

    And the sensors still function when the whole ship power off.
     
    #8
    Xenophon likes this.
  9. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    ultimately problem is ship doesnt detect player in cockpit. every circuit has to guess where player is (in ship or not) depending only on their movement before getting inside or walking away - prone to errors.

    Got only 1 double sensor way it might work now that checks if youre approaching or leaving, gonna check.

    suggestion - cockpit should give signal if someone is in it.
     
    #9
  10. rucky

    rucky Captain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    907
    The problem is, the player is HIDDEN / NOT EXISTING when he sats down on a seat / cockpit seat.

    It's the same problem with AI : Just try this:
    Build a micro-SV and invade a POI with it. You will NOT get shot. It's like GOD MODE.
    I'm not sure when the problem did encounter, because in 5.5 and very early 6.x versions you did got shot.
    (But because of this I haven't done that since 6.5 I think)
     
    #10
  11. Kaeser

    Kaeser Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    1,742

    Yes, I already raised this issue and according to @Hummel-o-War it works that way, player not detected while in cockpit, to avoid bigger problems with sensors, can't exactly say what myself...

    I've been promoting a harassment... herrr... promoting the enhancement of sensors to allow for additional features like detection types like player, ground, structure, ship.... and also to enhance logic gates to allow them to work with device states like On/Off or Open/Closed....

    The sensors themselves should have a state On/Off we could work with....

    Edit: I would also like to have simple operators with conditions and test like IF.... THEN.... ELSE...
     
    #11
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017 at 5:51 AM
  12. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    EVERYTHING should have a state On/Off.

    Stupid cargo boxes using up power...
     
    #12
  13. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Double sensor is brilliant! Let the larger hitbox contain the smaller one. Once they all lost track at the same time, that means someone just entered the cockpit. :) And the other case can be ignored. Just add this function to the original setup as higher priority.
     
    #13
  14. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    didnt try yet, but it might activate if you fly past someone (not sure about clock speeds) as biggest problem and then youre a brick at 100m/s possibly going to a wall or planet until you notice and press Y. Or if someone goes to ship and sensor doesnt notice (might happen in MP). But yes might work ok.
     
    #14
    van.eon likes this.
  15. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Hmm...never thought of a second person...
     
    #15
  16. Kaeser

    Kaeser Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    1,742
    That is why we need detection types and on/off states for sensors

    The operators could also help
     
    #16
    martian101 likes this.
  17. Cyrus

    Cyrus Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think they should make it so the cockpit (and other seats) could itself act as a switch.

    So you could do a basic senors to check the area with an OR "cockpit in use" type deal to keep everything running.

    That way you could also set up thrusters (or whatever) to only have power when you are actively in the seat without trying to rely on the sensors..
     
    #17
    Mortlath likes this.
  18. Xenophon

    Xenophon Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    239
    This seems to work:

    FS - far sensor
    CS - close sensor
    On - ship on/off
    rest are used for circuit only. 20170915064653_1.jpg
     
    #18
    martian101, Kaeser and van.eon like this.
  19. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    This can be simplified as below:

    InRing = inside FS & outside CS

    But the CS hitbox should be large enough, because if you enter the cockpit from outside the CS range, it will not power on.
    20170915164657.jpg
     
    #19
  20. van.eon

    van.eon Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    I don't know Why but this alone can achieve that ship power on only when you enter the cockpit from inside the range of CS, and power off when you leave the cockpit.:cool:
    QQ0170915190902.png
     
    #20
    Kaeser, Xenophon and SilvRav like this.

Share This Page