LCD Screen and RichText

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Amenophis, Feb 13, 2019.

  1. Amenophis

    Amenophis Ensign

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi! Sorry for my english.
    Can you allow to use <color> tag of rich text in LCD Screen? The tag is recognized but i think the material/shader used in Unity do not allow to recolor the text with the tag. Maybe because we can recolour the whole text with the current system in LCD Screen GUI.

    Other tags like <b>, <i> or <size=X> works like a charm.

    You can maybe add a second material. The tag <material=X> allow to switch between different materials on a TextMesh.

    383120_screenshots_20190213042353_1.jpg
     
    #1
  2. NimrodX

    NimrodX Commander

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    163
    This, and substitution codes for data about the ship/base (current power use, signal on/off etc)
     
    #2
    ravien_ff likes this.
  3. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    6,860
    Wait. Those codes work? Why am I just now hearing about this?
     
    #3
    Kieve, Frigidman and Sofianinho like this.
  4. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    Yeah... when the hell did they add that ability in!!! This is news to me too! OMG.
     
    #4
    Kieve and ravien_ff like this.
  5. Track Driver

    Track Driver Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    So, can they or can't they?
     
    #5
    Frigidman likes this.
  6. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    20190213140530_1.jpg
    20190213140525_1.jpg
     
    #6
    Supay and ravien_ff like this.
  7. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    The worst issue with it, is that it decides to remove an entire row of text if it goes beyond X number of characters (tags included). So if you want a row or text to be very small, you can only show it in the far left and not many characters.

    Its janky as hell ;)

    20190213141413_1.jpg 20190213141415_1.jpg
     
    #7
    Supay and ravien_ff like this.
  8. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    With a little out-of-the-box thinking, you can also do something like this (till they fix it lol):

    20190213142951_1.jpg
    20190213142940_1.jpg
     
    #8
    jmtc, Supay, Robot Shark and 5 others like this.
  9. Track Driver

    Track Driver Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Thanks @Frigidman.
    I'll have to give it a try.
     
    #9
  10. NimrodX

    NimrodX Commander

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    163
    Seems like a little improvement to the code could make this fully work.

    (Of course text substitution codes are another issue....)

    The floating text thing illustrates that having holographic versions of the LCD would also be nice.
     
    #10
    ravien_ff, Frigidman and Track Driver like this.
  11. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    It does have an issue with transparent things behind each letter. I dont have a screenshot... but if you place a window behind this effect, the letters carve out this odd non-tinted transparency square. Also seems to affect distant clouds if the letters happen to be outdoors and you look at them with clouds behind.
     
    #11
    ravien_ff likes this.
  12. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    6,860
    Okay I so so want them to expand on this! If they somehow allow for better integration of these text codes, allow us to set color per character, and allow 2 states for LCD screens controllable by signals so you could use the same LCD screen as your "ON" and "OFF" signs, then that would be amazing.
     
    #12
    jmtc likes this.
  13. Space Beagle

    Space Beagle Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    now we just need scrolling text code to insert and intergalactic traders guild Cybertron Megacity full of sexy neons can be finally build! :cool:

    [​IMG]

    @EleonGameStudios please dont fix this bug - actually make it BIGGER! :D
     
    #13
  14. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    6,860
    Bug? More like feature :D
     
    #14
    jmtc and Frigidman like this.
  15. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    You know those thin strips for 'force fields' ? They need those in the LCD selection, that projects the LCD panel above without the panel. That way, you get the holographic effect, able to walk through it, and still have a little 'something' to click on to edit/delete.

    They would just need to tackle the graphical glitchyness of the letters and any transparent layer behind them somewhere.

    20190214092909_1.jpg 20190214092950_1.jpg
     
    #15
    ravien_ff likes this.
  16. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    PS: behind the curtain:
    20190214093113_1.jpg
     
    #16
    Fossil likes this.
  17. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    6,860
    So this needs to be made a thing now. Even if they can't figure out the transparency issues, I'll still use it just not put it in front of a window. :D
     
    #17
    ion_storm and Frigidman like this.
  18. Frigidman

    Frigidman Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    9,676
    Exactly :) I would use lcd MORE if it didnt come with a big ugly panel lol. Of course then it would be odd to call them LCD Panels ... have to change the group name to "Displays".

    Theres so much potential in them, I'm sure when the devs turn their gaze in their direction, more things will happen with it.
     
    #18
    geostar1024 and ravien_ff like this.
  19. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    6,860
    Being able to set up displays for monitoring fuel, constructors, oxygen, etc, would add a lot of immersion, but that's getting a bit further into the future.

    I'd be happy with holographic displays and the original suggestion of being able to change the colors for now. :D

    I'd also love if there were 2 states to LCD screens. So in addition to on or off controlled by signals, you could configure one screen with 2 different displays and use signals to switch between them. Such as a screen that says in one state "HANGAR SECURE" (in green) and in the second state "HANGAR DOOR OPEN" (in red) that can be flipped back and forth by a signal.
     
    #19
  20. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,687
    Likes Received:
    7,884
    One could argue that the devs might as well spend that time implementing variable substitution, rather than hard-code multiple states like this.
     
    #20
    Frigidman and ravien_ff like this.

Share This Page