Mineable Ice Glaciers on Planets

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by mr_road, Jun 8, 2020.

  1. mr_road

    mr_road Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    45
    We now have ice asteroids, and it got me thinking, there is virtually no reason currently to go up a mountain in game, but adding glaciers would add some nice flavour and a RP reason to go mountainering.

    Thoughts?
     
    #1
  2. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    10,156
    Well, it depends if you are on a Arid Planet or other Barren Planets where neither natural Water Sources or Snow available.
    even our Snow and Ice Planet provide enough Water for Generators.
    Dead Planet or Desert Planet on the other Hand.... well, on the first it would be welcome on the second...Desert, you know?
     
    #2
  3. mr_road

    mr_road Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    45
    Fair point, maybe more suitable for some planets than others :)

    A planet could be mostly arid/desert as its water is locked in high altitude glaciers.
     
    #3
  4. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    1,782
    AFAIK it just needs some planet's biomes to be updated.

    The only real problem is that ice is treated like an ore in terms of how a deposit is laid out - so may be a bit odd having little balls of ice buried in the ground like you do with ores.

    Ideally best done as a surface 'dirt' type using the snow texture to replace dirt in high mountainous snow areas and the dirt type being ice resource. Not sure if this is possible however.

    It is something that was nice in space engineers how you had minable surface ice covering the ground in polar regions and high altitudes. Makes me think we need an early game hydrogen fuel made from water/ice (wasn't this a thing in the past?) :)

    Maybe @ravien_ff know more about how this might work.
     
    #4
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2020
  5. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7,676
    Likes Received:
    14,935
    Yes it's possible. All ores also have a corresponding terrain texture that can be set either as a surface layer and/or underground. You can make an entire planet out of ice (or gold) if you wanted. :D
     
    #5
    Khazul likes this.
  6. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    1,782
    Hmmm - 'Planet Bling' :)

    TBH, making an entire planet (or more likely, moon) out of ice with no other resources make a lot more sense than planets with no resources at all (if there is nothing there, then wtf are they made of?).
     
    #6
    Germanicus likes this.
  7. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    10,156
    Instead of asking a pretty primitive question:rolleyes:...whats left after an Atomic war is mostly DUST and Rubble.
    The Dead Planet Scenario i.e. calls for a deserted, 20m high in dust covered, devasted by an atomic exchange, war torn Planet. Frozen in Time in an ongoing atomic Winter.
     
    #7
  8. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    1,782
    Which will be mostly silicates :)
     
    #8
  9. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    10,156
    Even more....
     
    #9
  10. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7,676
    Likes Received:
    14,935
    You can turn crushed stone into silicon (or iron or copper) so technically they have resources, it just takes some processing. :D
     
    #10
    mr_road likes this.
  11. Khazul

    Khazul Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    1,782
    I was meaning to see if I could get the furnaces to process stone and yield multiple outputs (silicon, iron, copper) in roughly the proportions they are typically found in the universe with some small overall yield.

    Not sure if it supports multiple outputs though. Not got around to trying it yet, though looking at the structure in the config I am suspecting it cant be done - ie a recipe with multiple products and furnace seems to just auto process one recipe at a time. :(

    Wold have been something to use the 000s of rock from asteroids :)
     
    #11
  12. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7,676
    Likes Received:
    14,935
    Yeah it can't be done yet. :(
     
    #12

Share This Page