NPC Crew Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TRX, Nov 2, 2020.

  1. TRX

    TRX Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    177
    I've been on sabbatical lately taking a break and clearing out the old noggin, so this may be "old" or stupid question ... but I'll ask anyway :).

    Do the NPC Crew blocks actually do anything to provide benefit to a CV? Like lower CPU requirement, increase warp range, etc? Or are they simply decorative only?

    Appreciate anyone's feedback :). Thx!
     
    #1
  2. Vermillion

    Vermillion Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    10,248
    Crew are decorative in vanilla.
     
    #2
    TRX likes this.
  3. SylenThunder

    SylenThunder Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    278
    Yeah, I was hoping they would reduce CPU some, but they do nothing.
     
    #3
    TRX likes this.
  4. TRX

    TRX Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    177
    Many thanks my space faring friends :). Safe travels and happy hunting :).
     
    #4
    Germanicus likes this.
  5. krosbonez

    krosbonez Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    89
    By that statement, does that mean they can be "modified" in the config to be useful? I would love to have them actually reduce CPU or increase rate of fire for weapons if that is possible.
     
    #5
    Nicholas Drake likes this.
  6. Nicholas Drake

    Nicholas Drake Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    11
    Doesn't one of the major mods like Reforged do this?

    I'd love to know the setting in the config files for it. I don't want to load the entire Reforged (or whatever mod it's in), but would like to do this just to add character to the design.
     
    #6
    Lordmoore likes this.
  7. Lordmoore

    Lordmoore Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    I believe it does. -1k cpu I believe.
     
    #7
    TRX likes this.
  8. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    500
    Reforged Galaxy and Reforged Eden both have crews deal with CPU. -1,000 CPU per. Even the dancing ones.
     
    #8
    TRX likes this.
  9. Vermillion

    Vermillion Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    10,248
    Next update will buff that to 2500 CPU though.
    Add the values to the NPCAlienTemplate and NPCHumanTemplate block template and it will be applied to all crew-based blocks.
     
    #9
    TRX, GoldDragon and ravien_ff like this.
  10. Redakted

    Redakted Ensign

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think they're fine as decoration. Maybe an option to change their speech text like LCDs would be cool but it's not a big deal
     
    #10
  11. krosbonez

    krosbonez Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    89
    Is it possible to make an adjustment like :

    { +Block Id: 1460, Name: TacticalOfficer, Ref: NPCHumanTemplate
    Group: cpgCrewStationHuman
    IsAccessible: true, type: bool
    # Info: bkiTacticalOfficer, display: true
    # AllowedInBlueprint: false, display: true
    CanPickup: true
    Model: Entities/Decorations/DecoNPC/TacticalOfficerPrefab
    EnergyIn: 0, type: int, display: true, formatter: Watt
    ShieldRecharge: +50, type: int, display: true
    ShowUser: Yes
    }

    Or something like that to increase the shield regeneration speed if you have a Tac Officer on your ship?
    Can the individual crew be used differently or do you have to make the change to the whole group?

    I am not sure how to test this without playing through a game until I got that far along otherwise I would answer my own question.
     
    #11
  12. Vermillion

    Vermillion Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    10,248
    No.
    Shield recharge and strength are set by the shield generator.
     
    #12

Share This Page