On crew positions..

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by Ehkart, Dec 29, 2020.

?

Would YOU be in favour of a feature of this nature?

1. Yes, that would rock my socks off!

7 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No, it's just not worth my interest.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Ehkart

Ehkart Ensign

I don't know if this has been suggested before, if so maybe this post will help flesh out the idea more. I will preface this by saying I have zero coding experience though I believe I have some layman understanding of how some system infrastructure exists, I understand that a program has libraries to read from, databases etc.

Crew positions on a ship/base; while reducing CPU is a great benefit to having crew members aboard a ship or at a base, giving them additional abilities could be great. Why not have the doctor produce more meds if there is materials available to make them? Maybe a weapons officer can reload on board weapons systems if there is ammunition available in a specific cargo container, assigned to the crew member. Maybe a first officer is able to provide automatic and constant scanner pinging. If the crew members were built the same way a constructor is built ie; a constructor is some type of entity I assume with its own set of switches/gates, why couldn't a crew member be the same?