Simulated Orbit - Non-API Batch Mod

Discussion in 'Empyrion API' started by Ephoie, Nov 28, 2019.

?

Is this of interest?

  1. Yeah, i want it!

    75.0%
  2. Not really..... Kinda of a pain to setup.

    25.0%
  3. No need for this. Waste of time.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. I could do better!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Ephoie

    Ephoie Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    515
    So, hey.

    You want to have a simulated orbit.... Well, here, this 'mod' will simulate an orbit.
    Its pretty simple. It does not require any special plugins or .dll


    This 'mod' swaps out the sector files, in order, 1, 2, 3, 4.

    Now, this 'mod' does require some configuration.
    ITS NOT FULLY READY TO GO OUT OF THE BOX. SOME ASSEMBLY REQUIRED.

    You should be able to drag and drop the contents into your dedicated folder.
    You will need to set the save game name in the save folder. or just copy the contents from the mod sector folder into the "..\Saves\Games\*your game name*\Sectors" folder

    YOU WILL HAVE TO MANUALLY APPLY THE SETTING FOR EACH FILE BEFORE YOU RUN THE MOD
    ***********************************************************************
    If you don't have a text editor, get one. I suggest ATOM or Notepad++.
    You can use the notepad included with windows, as it will work,
    but the other apps I suggested are free, and designed for editing code.
    ***********************************************************************

    Basic run through on setup:

    1. - EmpyrionDedicated_NoGraphics_Orbit File
    Setup the dedi config
    To use your own dedicated.yaml (e.g., "MyDedicatedConfig.yaml"), add "-dedicated MyDedicatedConfig.yaml" to the corresponding batch file

    Example:
    Code:
    _________________________________________________________________________________________
    @Echo off
    Start FileSwap.bat
    TIMEOUT /T 5
    EmpyrionLauncher -startDedi -dedicated ***MyDedicatedConfig.yaml***  << EDIT THIS TO YOUR CONFIG NAME
    echo.
    echo Dedicated server was started as background process and the orbits have changed
    echo Thanks! Dixon Ciderbush - Craftoholics!
    TIMEOUT /T 15
    exit
    _________________________________________________________________________________________
    If you are using EAH, you will need to set it to use the "dedicated.cmd", under >config >tool >setup tab, and set it to "EmpyrionDedicated_NoGraphics_Orbit.cmd".



    2. FileSwap1, FileSwap2, FileSwap3, and FileSwap4
    These files need to be setup with your save game name.
    If it is in the dedicated server save game folder:
    Replace "***SAVE GAME NAME HERE***" with your game save name as it appears on the folder.


    Example:
    Code:
    _________________________________________________________________________________________
    @Echo off
    Copy ..\Saves\Games\***SAVE GAME NAME HERE***\Sectors\Sectors1.yaml ..\Saves\Games\***SAVE GAME NAME HERE***\Sectors\sectors.yaml
    Copy FileSwap2.bat FileSwapOnDeck.bat
    TIMEOUT /T 2
    Copy FileSwapOnDeck.bat FileSwap.bat
    echo.
    echo Sector File 1 Loaded
    echo Thanks! Dixon Ciderbush - Craftoholics!
    TIMEOUT /T 5
    EXIT
    _________________________________________________________________________________________



    3. Sector files

    You need to setup your sector files the way you want, and manually need to adjust the coordinates for each sector file.
    Sector file 1 should be your base sector file.

    Sector file 2 could be a copy of sector 1 file, but with coordinates altered.
    The main difference here is that for all the coordinates, add 90 to your X coordinates, and minus 90 from the Y coordinates.

    Sector file 3 could be a copy of sector 1 file.
    add 180 to your X coordinates, and minus 180 from the Y coordinates.

    Sector file 4 could be a copy of sector 1 file.
    minus 90 to your X coordinates, and add 90 from the Y coordinates.

    How you choose to do this is upto you.
    More can be added, if you are savvy enough, or message me, and I can walk you through it.


    Now, you should be able to run your server as usual.
    Either set up a startup command, double click, or just use EAH to launch the EmpyrionDedicated_NoGraphics_Orbit.cmd.
    As long as you have setup your files accordily, everytime the server resets, it will automatically adjust the sector files in order,
    and create a dynamic to how you and your players travel around the galaxy.

    Hope this has been clear and easy for you.

    If you use this, please give credit, and if you love it, I would always appreciate the thanks or a donation.

    Any questions or suggestions are welcome.

    Cheers

    Dixon - Starspassed Craftoholics Server

    Special thanks to @Xango2000 and @Exacute for the help and inspirations.
    You guys rock!
     

    Attached Files:

    #1
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2019
  2. SacredGlade

    SacredGlade Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    242
    so what exactly is a simulated orbit? I don't understand the functionality this is going to bring. Excuse me for being thick!
     
    #2
    iliapugach and Ephoie like this.
  3. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks for share.
    I think X and Y are in degrees.
    In other part, a « pre-configurate » and a video for show purpose and explain (tutorial) can be useful.
    Have a nice day and good continuation.
     
    #3
    Ephoie likes this.
  4. Ephoie

    Ephoie Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    515
    The mod 'rotates' the position of the planets around the sun, and can be configured to create the illusion of a orbiting system.
    Everytime the server resets, it changes the sector.yaml out for the next in series.


    So, one day, it will cost you 10 pentaxid to warp from Akua to Omicron..... But a few days later when you log in, it may be 30 AU away.... thus increasing the cost of travel.... or at the same time, it may reduce the cost of travel as a planet gets closer.

    Its a naturally occuring event we can witness in our own solar system.
    In summer, Earth is closer in distance to Saturn than in winter.
    So, if NASA wanted to send a probe to Saturn, they would wait until it going to be closer to save on fuel and time costs.

    At this point, it is just a rough cut, and it does do what I designed it for.
    I've been pleased with it......
    Sadly though, I don't think a lot of players actually pay attention to these things.... but thats their loss, as I feel it adds a dynamic to how we travel in game.
     
    #4
  5. [TKC]olT3lo

    [TKC]olT3lo Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    28
    Interesting. I might try this soon, but right now the setup, while most likely simple, has quite a few steps. At least it seems that way as I scan the OP's instructions.
     
    #5
  6. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,397
    Likes Received:
    12,004
    Interesting. Would be pretty neat!
     
    #6
    Ephoie likes this.
  7. Ephoie

    Ephoie Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    515
    Yeah, it requires a bit of setup.... But once its done, its good. Set it and forget it! Maybe I will sit down and do a vid to clear up some stuff, but that might be a bit before i do that... In the mean time, please feel free to DM me, or discord me
     
    #7

Share This Page