Filed / Tracking [Solar System Generator] Terrain file not found for scenario [6637]

Discussion in 'Tracking / Filed' started by Quarior, Mar 22, 2019.

  1. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
    Because they haven't bug template for Solar System Generator (SSG tool) and not found the thread where to post, I post here with my method.

    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: Yes

    Reproducibility: Always
    Severity: Minor

    Type: SSG - Planet - Tex
    Summary: With the SSG and open a playfield of type planet in a scenario, SSG said not terrain file exist in the Content/Playfields/Name of the playfield.

    Description: When you edit a custom playfield in a scenario when you want to see how the playfield look like in game, you have this error because SSG want to find the terrain file in the Content/Playfields/Name of the playfield instead of Content/Scenarios/Name of the scenario/Playfield/Name of the playfield so is make this exception.

    Steps to Reproduce: Create a scenario folder named with you want a create a Playfields folder in this folder. Also, create folder for your custom playfield (or copy one exist in this folder).
    Open the SSG, click to the folder icon and select your Playfields folder in your scenario folder and then open and load the playfield. Finaly, click to the button "Tex" and you will see the error.

    Screenshots, Crash Logs, any other Relevant Information or Download links:
    Screenshots :
    SSG Report terrain.png I hope is helpful and fix this problem.
     
    #1
    ravien_ff likes this.
  2. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    4,088
    When trying this I get no error. Could you do a exact step by step on what you have done with SSG to trigger this ?
    After you trigger it again can you go here:
    C:\Users\YourWindowsUserNmaeHere\AppData\LocalLow\Eleon Game Studios\Empyrion - Solar System Generator
    & make a copy of the output_log that is generated there & attach that here as a compressed zip please.
     
    #2
  3. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
    So I retest, here my test (I open just one time the application, I load playfield just after make the screenshot without close the application) and conclusion. All is set with seed 0. The scenario is custom (Soline System).
    With a copy paste a folder of Playfields on Content to a scenario folder (Temperate), is work.
    upload_2019-4-9_15-2-5.png
    With a copy paste a folder of Playfields on Content to a scenario folder (Temperate) and just rename the playfield (TemperateCopy), isn't work, but is a another error.
    upload_2019-4-9_15-3-41.png
    With custom playfield (Martian) from nothing on a scenario folder, isn't work, same error like above.
    upload_2019-4-9_15-2-58.png
    With custom playfield (Martian) from nothing on a scenario folder and rename to a vanilla playfield (Arid), isn't work, same error like above.
    upload_2019-4-9_15-17-18.png

    I generate all with seed 0 and start to "2D" before switch to "Tex".

    Also is strange, the error have changed (and infinite loop ?), but doesn't work.

    Also a notice, my Empyrion game is locate on D driver, not C driver so maybe is can explain but with don't know why is work with vanilla planets without rename it. I join also my scenario test zip.
     

    Attached Files:

    #3
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2019
  4. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
    Same test and scenario (Soline System) like above but each playfield is loaded after open and close the application for error doesn't impact future result.

    Temperate : Work
    upload_2019-4-9_15-21-9.png

    TemperateCopy (Temperate copy rename) : Isn't work
    upload_2019-4-9_15-32-16.png

    Martian : Isn't work
    upload_2019-4-9_15-33-40.png

    Arid (Martian copy rename) : Work, but load terrain from the vanilla Arid playfield.
    upload_2019-4-9_15-35-5.png

    Conclusion : Playfield vanilla rename and custom playfield with no vanilla name have the error "Terrain not found".

    I hope is helpfull.
     

    Attached Files:

    #4
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2019
  5. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    6,684
    I can repeat this when I open a playfield that is NOT under the Empyrion - Galactic Survival/Content/Playfields folder.

    Opening playfields that are in that folder have not given me an error like this.
     
    #5
  6. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
    Yes, this is the error in general but depend also with the name of your playfield. If the name of the playfield in your scenario is found in Empyrion - Galactic Survival/Content/Playfields, is load the terrain file but of Empyrion - Galactic Survival/Content/Playfields/Playfield's name.
     
    #6
  7. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    4,088
    Hi can you recheck this in A10 when it hits the experimental branch & provide feedback here ?
    Thanks.
     
    #7
  8. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
    The problem isn't fix.
    upload_2019-5-15_17-38-41.png
    I put the new log and the old log for you can compare if there are some change between A9 and A10.
     

    Attached Files:

    #8
  9. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
     

    Attached Files:

    #9
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2019
  10. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    4,088
    Can you first try deleting the SSG registry key that will reset all settings for SSG which has helped other others previously:
    Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Eleon Game Studios\Empyrion - Solar System Generator

    Right click on 'Empyrion - Solar System Generator' & delete it then try again.
     
    #10
  11. Quarior

    Quarior Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    61
    I don't found the access to the Software folder (C:\Users\MyUser\Software) so I delete the folder C:\Users\MyUser\AppData\LocalLow\Eleon Game Studios\Empyrion - Solar System Generator and nothing change.
     

    Attached Files:

    #11

Share This Page