Some simple feedback on CPU

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by Fractalite, Feb 24, 2020.

  1. Fractalite

    Fractalite Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,702
    Likes Received:
    9,740
    Last fall I found myself attempting to force a few playthroughs with mass and volume enabled and really did not enjoy it. The menu system was clunky and the flow of the game was really interrupted. Now, 4/5 months later, I still do not really like it.

    but!

    I am REALLY enjoying the CPU system. The basic limitations are not terrible(could use a tweak or few) and I love the feeling that I can "Build to address a limitation."* Feel free to be more direct with the scaling - introduce a tier 5, 6, 7 extenders and have them be high unlocks on the tech tree, very useful, and with the lower tiers not being as expansive.

    One thought I had was maybe addressing how the communication is being delivered to the player as right now the CPU total and the devices using the CPU are listed on two different screens:

    20200220190434_1.jpg vs 20200220190420_1.jpg <- on the first I get the total AND usage, on the second I only get usage. It is a touch un-intuitive and a little scattered.

    Anyways, generally positive feedback here. Keep refining and improving this system! :cool::)



    * - This could be done with mass and volume too; add in some inertial dampeners or mass void projectors. That way I could build to address those challenges outside of just adding more thrusters or storage containers. This would bring back the potential of smaller ships which have largely vanished from my games with m/v enabled except at the very beginning of a new game.
     
    #1
    xerxes86 and Germanicus like this.
  2. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    You, as so many others, combine M/V and Logistics into one faulty thing...but it isn't:rolleyes:.
     
    #2
  3. Fractalite

    Fractalite Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,702
    Likes Received:
    9,740
    Haha, yeah yeah, I know some players are very protectionist about it. And to be clear, I do not consider it faulty - it's not bad in its implementation. I just do not find it fun.
     
    #3
    Germanicus likes this.
  4. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    Its not protectionism if I want to point out that Logistic, as clunky as it may feel - We ALL use it Daily by Windows based systems;) - is a way to solve production/industrialized Tasks. So far No deaths are known from using Logistics in EGS. o_O FUN? Not one game that uses similar ways to simulate a logistic process can be called FUN! Work isn't Fun!
    But I remember that a change in the way how Material is shuffled around was demanded several times before it found its way into EGS.
    Case closed on my side.

    Side Note:
    I play ONLY with M/V (and CPU) active as so many other Streamers and YouTuber do - @spanj @jrandall @XCaliber - to name a few.
     
    #4
  5. Ronewird

    Ronewird Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    204
    why not introduce a programmer block? o better a logic device with the shape of a console to give to them simple instruction?

    Exemple one: this items / out of constructor / on this storage unit / if full / send to this one, or this one, or this one / if produced match this value / stop constructor.

    Exemple two: Item stored is this value / if less start costructior/ stop when x value is reach.

    Exemple tre: thiis storage unit only get this item or this or this one/ check on this or this or this storage unit / if check is positive transfer item to that storage unit/ if full transfer to this or this storage unit/ if all are full stop transfering.

    This is just a raw example i`m not a programmer.
    Basically we have a series of container and a series of check, variables and action.

    Can be easly done with a series of icon on/off page with all the action usable, a numeric or textual camp to be filled ( the variables ) and the storage unit involved.
     
    #5
  6. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    The Choices are already in the game: Switch it ON or Switch it OFF. End of Message.

    You like to re-wright the Whole System...without breaking ANY Eggs, yes? - making changes into a system that is not fully developed yet...:rolleyes:
     
    #6
  7. Ramachandra

    Ramachandra Captain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1,740
    This is the fruit of the last 1.5 years of mistakes combined with bad executions, therefor we tend to see them as one. They could have done work on research instead of CPU to alter or slow down player progression.
     
    #7
    Germanicus likes this.
  8. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    True.
    But aren't challenges there to be conquered? If nobody is able to solve it some can conclude that the system is faulty. But If only half solves it while the other half shows unwillingness to give it a go or despises it altogether... well.
     
    #8
  9. Ramachandra

    Ramachandra Captain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1,740
    I think the red thumbs on Steam gave a go. :D

    Eleon took the challenge. Will they take some of the good advice and show willingness to get it right? Otherwise I conclude this is a failed experiment on the public branch.
     
    #9
  10. Ronewird

    Ronewird Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    204
    I just like a logic system who permit automatic features.......so i can set automatic protocol to produce and store items.....
    At the moment as i report quite often logic systems quite stupid......SE is quite more funny from this point o view.

    Is really simple to introduce some ting similar at what i had explain above and not really need to rewrite nothing, just to write some new features and implement it.

    There is people across the globe who like to build machine and factory like staff on game. Using and assembling different items to obtain some effect.....you don`t really need to wrote on c++ like space engineer....

    that`s all.....at the moment is just a drag and drop.....instead a programmable resource manager is quite nice and is the right path for the logic system....people will love it....and more people from other game can enjoy play on empyrion increasing the actual player base adding a more complex game who can be enjoyed by a broader population of gamer...

    Is not an end of story, is just an opportunity...
     
    #10
    Germanicus likes this.
  11. Ramachandra

    Ramachandra Captain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1,740
    The main fault of the logistic is everybody must use it to be able to play. If they add it as an option for advanced players I have nothing against it. They could have added extension modules for constructors to look like proper assembly lines. Input storage module(s)->constructor->output storage module(s). Simple, expandable, no logistic required, and a newcomer gamer can quickly familiar with.
     
    #11
  12. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5,256
    Likes Received:
    11,267
    You only need to use logistics if you have mass/volume enabled. Otherwise everything is accessible in the old way too.

    But there's improvements that still need to be made to it.
     
    #12
    Fractalite likes this.
  13. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    Hm...wasn't aware of that...
    IMHO...if you go into your Base or Vessel and open each Box/Container by hand without touching the Control Panel...is this still logistic?
     
    #13
  14. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5,256
    Likes Received:
    11,267
    The only part that is forced is you have to use a cargo box with your constructor. Otherwise everything can work like it used to if mass/volume isn't enabled.
     
    #14
    Sofianinho and Germanicus like this.
  15. StyxAnnihilator

    StyxAnnihilator Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    635
    You (generalized) are not forced to press F4, or use the personal drone F5, or access Control Panel and use all of the options.

    I mostly turn off M&V&C when Single Play. Also try use the easiest way to handle cargo and whatever of (for me) repetitive "boring" game mechanics. That the game is not finished dampens my involvement too, like exploring everything and wipe out all Zirax's. Building large stuff or detailed I have on hold too. Even then I have 3300 hours in this game, half or more is probably building in creative, fiddling with device placements and shapes to try get it simple and functional for SP/PvE.

    CPU needs more work, at least balancing and deactivate device amount limits. Also the Blueprint system needs to handle this, does not now without commands/admin.
    M&V need more work and balancing, with no stack limitation (or up to max whatever memory storage slot used).
     
    #15
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
  16. Lucifer66

    Lucifer66 Ensign

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    23
    And there you have it. Why play a game if you do not find it FUN? Dealing with this CPU crap just isn't fun. So it needs to go IMO.
    I don't like it either. It serves no purpose except sucking all the fun from the game. Yet some people say they like it. Well I suppose some people like their mother-in-law too. I'm just not one of them.
     
    #16
  17. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    Oh, my God! You must be a Sith, because only Sith deal in Absolutes! Because you are not "happy" with ONE feature the Whole Game isnt FUN. Oh, and btw., just if you didn't notice: The OP likes CPU ;).
     
    #17
  18. Ramachandra

    Ramachandra Captain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1,740
    I think another problem with the CPU is it create a double standards for builders and uncertainty. Will it stay? Will it go? Will it be optional later? Should I use it or avoid?
    If this is become the new standard that will make the whole old workshop prints incompatible some day. Some prints can not be modified to work with the new requirements. Will it be a popular move? Not a chance.
     
    #18
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
  19. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    7,373
    As far as I remember @Hummel-o-War stated that CPU will Stay but will see a few refinements over time. So..
    It will Stay. It IS Optional.
    I have to confess that building with Concrete - me too - gets harshly punished by CPU. Larger Building - such as my Aztec Templo Mayor here -> ExtLevEvent-200224-0143_2020-02-25_16-52-57.png
    - are almost useless. At least as long as those numbers of CPU-Values for Concrete stay unchanged:rolleyes:.
     
    #19
  20. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Maybe they should be thinking of the CPU for building materials more as dielectrics and adjust the numbers. Add some impurities to the building blocks so the whole thing will hold a charge. Steel has a dielectric constant of infinite. No way in this current state can or would it hold a charge. Any charge from a shield generator would be shunted to ground.

    Anyways just thinking out load here. I guess it's here where the logic of cpu for building blocks just does my head in.
     
    #20

Share This Page