[TOOL] Empyrion Playfield Designer Alpha8+ v1.61.2

Discussion in 'Planets & Playfields' started by jmcburn, May 5, 2018.

  1. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    Strange, just tested. Works fine for me.

    Did you edit a default playfield.yaml or a playfield_dynamic.yaml.

    One thing:
    Did you exit the property before saving. Which means: You need to click into another property's field before saving. Because the properties only update correctly when you leave the control.

    If this doesn't work:
    Can you upload the playfield file renamed to txt here? Otherwise you can't upload it.

    /jmc
     
    #421
  2. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    1. I saved the updated file, and exited the editor.
    2. I didn't edit the "default playfield.yaml, I edited one that was given to me from another user weeks ago. However, before opening in the editor, the sky was fine. Now, the sky resets on all my .yaml files for playfields to white/black. When it gets dark in the game, everything whitewashes, and turns monochrome. All I edited in the editor was the POI's, nothing else...

    This is for my scenario, playfield is for Reach.

    Scenario: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1610229683
     

    Attached Files:

    #422
  3. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    Just opened your playfield:

    upload_2019-1-4_17-57-49.png

    Colors seem fine in EPD. Does this look like this, if you open it?

    /jmc
     
    #423
  4. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is how mine opens...

    upload_2019-1-4_10-6-32.png
     
    #424
  5. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    OK, just subscribed to your scenario. But I did not get any download in my content/scenarios folder. That's a bit odd, but I started a fresh game on Reach anyway to test it out.

    The sky in the palyfield copied to the savegame is indeed white. Other than the one you sent me. So editing in EPD works fine as far as I can tell.

    I'm pretty sure there's something strange going on in conjunction with the subscribed/published scenario. Not sure what this is though.
    Maybe you can't edit an already published scenario directly. I think the game pulls the files from the workshop instead of the scenario folder.

    I would suggest trying to copy the 'HALO - Source -_xxxxxx' to another folder in your scenarios folder. Maybe just 'HALO Test' and edit and try a fresh game with those files.

    /jmc
     
    #425
  6. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not sure where this is for you, but when I sub to a scenario, I can edit it here:

    upload_2019-1-4_10-21-15.png

    It will never show up in the scenarios folder when downloaded from steam, unless manually added.
     
    #426
  7. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    However, for me, as the author, the scenario is here:

    upload_2019-1-4_10-22-39.png

    If I move, rename, or edit this, it will disconnect from steam, and I'll have to upload it as a New Scenario again...
     
    #427
  8. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    Ok, found it in there. Never tried that before. :)

    Those files in there indeed all have a SkyColor of 1,1,1. But when I edit and save them, they get saved correctly and I can open them again and the color has been saved correctly.

    Does it save the file for you, if you edit it? Other than changing the playfield file, EPD also generates a backup file in the folder with a DateTime stamp.

    Something like this:

    upload_2019-1-4_18-26-41.png

    /jmc
     
    #428
    UNSC Trek likes this.
  9. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    How weird. It's working fine now.... but sure as hell didn't last night.... I'm so confused!
     
    #429
    jmcburn likes this.
  10. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    And no.... I haven't changed a thing. It just gave me the big Finger last night for some reason I guess. - sigh -
     
    #430
    jmcburn likes this.
  11. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    Well strange. Glad it works now. :)
    If it doesn't, keep me posted.

    The only explanation I could possibly have, is that it still has something to do with the workshop. But I have no clue, if and how this could be affecting playfield editing with EPD.

    As long as you keep the backups and save regularly, nothing should be lost.

    /jmc
     
    #431
    UNSC Trek likes this.
  12. UNSC Trek

    UNSC Trek Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok. Just re-uploaded and updated the scenario. The sky looks perfect, just as it should. Anyone feel like testing and telling me otherwise?
     
    #432
    ravien_ff likes this.
  13. Monroe

    Monroe Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    38
    If it happens again, try setting the Atmosphere Parameters to [1, 1.6] (game default). If it's an older .yaml it won't have AtmosphereParams at all because the option didn't exist before Alpha 9. So the EPD may create that option and set it to [0, 0], which would wash out the sky as you described.
     
    #433
  14. Taelyn

    Taelyn Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Downloaded scenarios never go to the Content/scenario folder but to the workshop downloads folder with there ID. Same map as downlaoded BPs
     
    #434
    jmcburn likes this.
  15. Monroe

    Monroe Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    38
    @jmcburn Could the EPD have an 'enabled' check box for Atmosphere Parameters ,or some type of statement in the programming that says 'If AtmosphereParams does not exist, Then set at [1, 1.6] ?
     
    #435
  16. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    I think I can initialize it to [1,1.6]

    If a playfield contains the property, it most likely will overwrite it with it's values, but I'm not sure. I'll take a look. No promises though.

    /jmc
     
    #436
    UNSC Trek likes this.
  17. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    UPDATE (v1.60.0 b1662)

    CHANGES:

    • First version of EPB (Blueprint) DetailsBrowser (only in RandomPOIs for now as test)

      upload_2019-1-5_9-54-20.png
    • added <Null> (no output) and 'None' (will output) items to dropdowns to differentiate between new Faction:None and empty properties. Please test, if something is broken now with outputting 'None' and no output at all for properties.
    • Initialize AtmosphereParams to [1,1.6] if property does not exist in playfield yet. Pease test, if there are any regressions when saving

    DOWNLOAD LINK:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/9q7qrr3mvv8sqmw/EPD_v1600b1662_public.zip?dl=0

    /jmc
     
    #437
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
    Quarior, Taelyn, Monroe and 3 others like this.
  18. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    728
    You would get SO many 'coolness' points, if you integrated the blueprint reader, and rendered a 3D model :D
    .. But for your own sanity's sake, I'd recommend against it ;)
    Still, cool with more info on BPs! You rock as usual ;)
     
    #438
    jmcburn likes this.
  19. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    :D

    I guess that would be cool.

    However, I still try to read the block format based on what's known already, but no real progress there.

    When I have a STABLE read and write process, maybe some basic editing and displaying could eventually happen, but that all lies very far in the future and no idea, if I ever manage to do so.

    /jmc
     
    #439
    Exacute likes this.
  20. jmcburn

    jmcburn Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    UPDATE (v1.60.1 b1731)

    CHANGES:

    • added more properties to EPBDetails Browser (SpawnName, FileName, Scenario, Folder)
    • added/showing progressbars while importinge prefabs.
    DOWNLOAD LINK:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/wgs5abzofsrette/EPD_v1601b1731_public.zip?dl=0

    IMPORTANT:
    If somehow EPD crashes during EPB (re)import, please let me know and upload epd.log renamed to .txt here, so I can see, which blueprints still have issues.
    If you can find the bluprint name in the log that causes the issues, you can upload that as well here. Otherwise I may ask you for the blueprint after I checked the log.

    /jmc
     
    #440
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
    ravien_ff, Quarior and Exacute like this.

Share This Page