v1.5 EXP: Reworked story missions

Discussion in 'Experimental Features Discussion' started by Hummel-o-War, May 18, 2021.

  1. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261
    Yeah I noticed that too when testing it. Coming back from looting the Tomb with your pockets full .... I did the same.
    Now I am better. I build first a small HV and put all Loot in there so my Backpack is empty and 'ready' for the Gift.;)
     
    #61
  2. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    Question:

    Chapter 2 "Crashed Birds", specifically "The Burial Chamber"

    How many "Technical Artifacts" are we supposed to find? I found one, and have it in my inventory, but the quest didn't trigger complete.

    I'm wondering if there's another somewhere else in there, or if this is a specific quest item, that has a similar name to a generic item and I found the generic one, not the quest one.

    Or it could be a bug that it didn't trigger. :p

    Enjoying the revised questline so far!
     
    #62
    Germanicus likes this.
  3. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261
    What 'artifacts' did you loot out of the Containers and did you keep them all in your Inventory when talking with Kezzel?
    Did you loot Rings/Jewels? There should be at least one Ring/Jewel.
     
    #63
    Pach likes this.
  4. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    Ahhh... the rings are part of it?

    I got one "technical artifact", and something like 3 ring/jewels, and some booze. I was thinking just the "artifact" was what he wanted. I hadn't gone back to Kezzel yet as the checkmark on the quest wasn't ticked, but I stuffed the rings in a storage box to free up personal inventory space...

    Much appreciated, Germanicus!

    EDIT:

    Noppers. I have/had the 3 rings and 5 liquors in my inventory, and the box isn't checked (as you can see in this screenshot):

    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2495556764

    Am I missing something else he needs?
     
    #64
    Last edited: May 23, 2021
    Thor'sHammer and Germanicus like this.
  5. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261

    By the look of the Screenshot it seems that something within the Chamber did not work and you did not get 'all' Artifacts which are in fact in your Backpack...:confused:
     
    #65
    Pach likes this.
  6. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    So I do have everything, the quest didn't trigger properly? if that's the case, I will just manually advance it and continue, but I don't want to do that unless I'm sure I really have what I'm supposed to...
     
    #66
    Germanicus likes this.
  7. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261
    Kezzel actually does not take away any of your Loot. Therefore...I did the mission a few hours ago... you may advance it manually.
    When in the Tomb you have to get a message that says something like.."(IDA) this must be the Technical Artifact Kezzel was looking for!"...or so..
     
    #67
    Pach likes this.
  8. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    Yeah, I never got that, but I also know that POI, and came in... backwards. Meaning, I didn't come down that tunnel and jump down into the big room.

    I was able to jump up to the "exit" path, and litterally came in the "out" door. So if there's some sensor that triggers as you come down, I probably missed it.

    Thanks for letting me know.. now I can go finish that off :)
     
    #68
    Germanicus and Kassonnade like this.
  9. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261
    It there is a Trigger Point of some kind...try to 'touch' the Container standing in the Center near the Big Snake Statue
    There I got the Message.
     
    #69
    Kassonnade and Pach like this.
  10. Pach

    Pach Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    There's definately a trigger that needs re-worked.

    When I ran down, and leaped down, there was suddenly massive spider spawn in the bottom room.

    It was empty the way I came in, so I never triggered the spider spawn, and therefore, not the quest, either.

    So yes, there's an issue with this quest, and how this part triggers, as it's possible to come in another way and by-pass the trigger.

    (I hope @Hummel-o-War followed all this... would a video of the route I went in help?)

    EDIT:

    I loaded from save and went in a few times. The spiders do not always pop in when I come in, so something is wrong with that trigger.

    I'm going to manually advance and move on at this point. :)
     
    #70
    Last edited: May 23, 2021
    cmguardia, Germanicus and Kassonnade like this.
  11. Robot Shark

    Robot Shark Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    5,841
    While I was salvaging the destroyed small vessel the text went from white to red in my HUD.
    Like I had made an enemy of a previously neutral faction.
    This normal?
     
    #71
  12. Runebane

    Runebane Ensign

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    7
    I posted in the Robinson Protocol section as well and I'm not sure what if any the issue with that carries over to story missions but I'll sum up a little of what I said there and move on to Story chapters.

    I jumped the gun a little in the Robinson Protocol making higher level weapons than they asked for at the time and then making the pistol. I did get credit later for the higher level weapons, but once it ended the story line didn't start up. I had to run the PDA command PDA Brief 1 to start story line chapter one. After that, I've had nothing but issues with the story line.

    First, with chapter one, when I got to the point of having to go to Sanctuary, even though I talked to the guard and got the go ahead I could not use the elevator ever because it didn't unlock after the conversation. I redid the conversation twice more and nothing. I had to god mode through the door to go up the elevator and the mission continued ok for a bit after that. However, I like to explore and during that apparently I ticked off the guards on those floors and they started shooting at me. I killed them all but received no faction hits (I checked each faction using the console Faction commands to unlock anything it could be, Polaris, Civilian, etc...). As soon as the guards on the top 2 floors were killed, they all acted like I was a friend again. Never had any of the respawning guards attack me. though I do still have to god mode through the elevator door...

    At the end of each story line chapter I continue to have to use the PDA Brief <chapter Number> to get it to start. They do not start automatically like the PDA says. I would suggest allowing us to start the chapter stories if the others are finished. Right now, the option is greyed out with text saying they will auto-start. But, even using the PDA command to re-award the rewards doesn't automatically start it and you don't get extra rewards (no extra posters etc...) But the game knows in some way that I've completed the previous chapter. It seems to be the automatic that when it breaks it really breaks and letting us with a click of the button manually switch chapters would be much smoother than looking up PDA commands. Especially if this happens on a multiplayer server and you can't use the admin commands.
     
    #72
    Pach likes this.
  13. Robot Shark

    Robot Shark Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    5,841
    Quick question on Chapter 8.
    3 of the 4 rare containers in the core room of Sigma Fulcrum are gone and the advanced core that used to be there is missing.

    Is this on purpose?
     
    #73
    Last edited: May 24, 2021
  14. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,737
    Likes Received:
    11,782
    @Sigma Fulcrum > yes, on purpose
    @Technical Artifact > there is only ONE artifact. And the ring is not counted. If the Dialogue with Kezzel does not trigger > please file a separate bug report + make screenshots from the state (I am afraid I currently cannot reproduce the issues named here :/ )
    @Sanctuary Elevator > If you did have the Space Anomalies Report from Dr. Mandor, the Guard shall unlock the doors. If this doese not work, please file a bug report, as I am currently not able to reproduce that (maybe I overlook something).

    @NPC spawn > there currently seems to be an issue with that, but it is not related to the mission, but more a global issue afaik

    Thanks a lot for all the feedback so far - will try to fix a few things for the next update :)
     
    #74
  15. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    13,442
    Red is the default color when something doesn't have a faction. In the playfield files the marker is set to white but if you destroy the core then it might turn red.
     
    #75
    Robot Shark likes this.
  16. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    500
    I’d been having an issue that the vehicle tutorial for the HV kept popping up despite having declined it after finishing the Heidelberg wreckage. Also, I noticed 2 explosive blocks after coring the wreck. Was using the bridge console supposed to explode the core? If so, it didn’t happen.
     
    #76
  17. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261
    I don't know of any Explosion to happen. You can of course open the Console and let you show on HUD where those Explosive Blocks are.;)

    The HV Tutorial pops normally up when you are the vicinity to trigger it. I believe it happened at least twice for me.
     
    #77
  18. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,737
    Likes Received:
    11,782
    If you decline the tutorial for HV it might reset, yes.

    Ignore the explosive blocks. Had a different idea to do that and they are just remains of the idea. But having them explode after talking to the console might be a nice idea!
     
    #78
  19. Robot Shark

    Robot Shark Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    5,841
    Um... this normal?
    I do not remember the landscape like this during the last playthrough.
    I have the save file, let me know if you want a bug report submitted.

    20210526093211_1.jpg
     
    #79
  20. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    9,261
    Did you continue an old save or started a new game?

    - NOTE: all changes made related to playfields, POI and missions require to start a new savegame as active savegames are not updated!

    nvm. just read your previous message...from about 20 min ago
     
    #80
    Robot Shark likes this.

Share This Page