Feedback Required Your most wanted QUALITY OF LIFE feature?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hummel-o-War, Jul 3, 2020.

  1. XLJedi

    XLJedi Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2021
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    63
    The lack of a Mirror copy/paste option seems to be a pretty big miss in the creative editor.

    You have the logic already with your symmetry tool for free building, just need buttons for "Mirror X", "Mirror Y", "Mirror Z" before anchoring a copied selection in place.
     
    #381
    Neal likes this.
  2. bobo8734

    bobo8734 Ensign

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    The ONLY thing I am asking for, over and above all current or new features/models/etc., is for the developers to optimize the code. My biggest complaint is the seemingly constant growing memory requirement/leak during gameplay.
     
    #382
  3. Aaron(Wakfu)

    Aaron(Wakfu) Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2021
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    47
    yeah big memory leaks
     
    #383
  4. idx64

    idx64 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    67
    1- Why in such a futuristic game do we have weapons from the first war?.-
    2- You shouldn't use a 3 lumen flashlight when there are tactical flashlights.-
    3- I bought the game because it was going to be in Spanish and there are still no changes.-
     
    #384
  5. Kats

    Kats Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    34
    3rd view camera, 3rd view camera.
    It is already not that good right now, but the biggest problem is 3rd view camera for tall ship.
    The taller the ship is, the higher the camera goes for I have no idea. It is simple, fully reajusted with page down and fully zoomed out, the top of my CV is barely visible. Basically, I don't even see 10% of my CV from the top bridge, and from the rock bottom pilot chair, it is barely ok.
     
    #385
  6. XLJedi

    XLJedi Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2021
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    63
    Have you tried freeview key while in 3rd person view and scrollwheel to zoom out? It lets you reposition the 3rd person camera view, and then uses that new perspective every time you toggle 3rd view.

    Granted, if the camera is not focused on the CoM you still might have an issue with a Homeworld style Mothership design.
     
    #386
  7. Kats

    Kats Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    34
    You are all wasting your time telling me that over and over again, despite the answer to your question being in my post.
    Are you really all only building "flat ship"?
    Just do it, build a tall CV and try to pilot it from the top.
    My CV has those kind of sizes :
    W : almost max
    H : around 2/3 of the max
    D : Barely anything.
    I will check later the numbers... eventually.

    Edit:
    Actually my CV does have some deep but still not much compared to the 2 other sizes.
    W: 446
    D: 142
    H: 344
     
    #387
    Last edited: May 21, 2022
  8. The Big Brzezinski

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    293
    Stack splitting where you shift + drag a stack and type in a number for how many you want moved, instead of arriving at that number indirectly by repeatedly removing halves and singles.
     
    #388
    PBRStreetgang and Ravlain like this.
  9. MyAdventures

    MyAdventures Ensign

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Would like to have Thrustmaster Hotas support. Flying a spaceship using a gamepad, keyboard or mouse doesn't do it for me. I have tried a few work arounds but unable to get them to work.
     
    #389
    PBRStreetgang likes this.
  10. zaphodikus

    zaphodikus Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    326
    Small : inline documentation for the .ecf files when elements are obsolete or unused to state any dead structures/datas
    Small : copper surface ores to be green/verdigris and iron surface ores to be red/ochre
    Small : An MRU -most recently used - block shapes list instead of the large hard-coded ones. (Can we user configure these BTW?)
     
    #390
  11. me777

    me777 Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    122
    Another improvement would be to group constructors and command them together.
     
    #391
  12. zaphodikus

    zaphodikus Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    326
    Oh, you mean like queue up production of items a bit like Factorio almost?
     
    #392
  13. me777

    me777 Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    122
    I don't know Factorio, but Space Engineers allows to have Assemblers set to assist, so they take jobs from other assemblers, that is my inspiration...
    But just having 10 assemblers doing exact the same thing without having to click into 10 assemblers would be a great improvement.
    A inteligent control like with makros/scripts would be even better.
     
    #393
    A Mueller likes this.
  14. AmicusJose

    AmicusJose Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    Able to seamlessly attach bases altogether.
    And when they are attached, they're modular.
    For example, the constructor from base A can use the container in base B for output;
    and the constructor from base B can use the container in base C for output, and so on.
     
    #394
  15. zaphodikus

    zaphodikus Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    326
    That would be fun yes. Not sure how the workshop files for that would work though. I've never seen a game do that, the integration and testing it and keeping track of versions might actually make this unfeasable....unless it was thought out very well.
     
    #395
  16. AmicusJose

    AmicusJose Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    Not sure why it has to do with the workshop files. The easiest way to make a group of bases modular is to spawn a base (A) first, then spawn a BA starter(B). Assuming that the starter block is close enough to the base structure nearby, it would seamlessly attach to that base(A). You could move around to adjust where you want them to be attached, then spawn the starter. Then you can go on expanding the base B.
     
    #396
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2022
  17. zaphodikus

    zaphodikus Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    326
    I'm assuming you want to not manually spawn each piece, and use admin console command mergestructs to join them up. That is my assertion about data file formats not letting you do it as one blueprint that other people can later reproduce. If the intent is that every modular base will be different, then the console is your friend. Sadly the mergestructs command only can be used with a BA Base, so ships are not supported sadly.
     
    #397
  18. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    184
    Please redesign the Control Panel main page and get us rid of these half-useful on/off switch shortcuts. Let me explain.
    You have a constructor somewhere and you stand in front of it, you access it with F and switch it on/off, that's fine. Or you have placed a lever for that on a wall nearby, that's ultra-fine.
    Now, the alternative to this - if you don't stand in front - seems to be the Control Panel with the on/off switches, but what if you replace these with

    HOTKEYS...

    So, instead of defining a on/off shortcut, you would define a KEYBOARD KEY in that same main page for any device present in the device page , or for entire groups in the device page. Not an infinite number of hotkeys of course, but what about 4 or 5 to start with?
    For example, a lot of players would be happy to do these things...
    - Starting a device or production process defined in the Signal Logic with a hotkey;
    - Access some of their turrets directly if defined so;
    - Make some specific groups of turrets fire only, and not other turrets if defined so.
    - Keep us away from the Control Panel to manage or activate our weapons during combat. It's too slow, a hotkey is way more appropriate.
     
    #398
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2022
    me777 likes this.
  19. BassBurger

    BassBurger Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Two things that always bothered me:

    1. Put a search-by-entity-name field in the registry.

    2. Fix the UV maps on blocks, so that each surface has its own texture area on the UVmap. Don't combine adjacent surfaces.

    Thx for an awesome game.
     
    #399
    jadefalcon likes this.
  20. Jamesfoxbr

    Jamesfoxbr Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2022
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    1. Memory if the camera is in third or first person in vehicle and on foot separately
    2. When press F4 to access the network with a vehicle the don't close the menu if the vehicle moves unless the vehicle leave the maximum range
    3. When share a Waypoint with a faction or public this actually show direct to the person instead only in the map where the person still need to open all menus to see the waypoint
    4. This one is very important. We need a shortcut to turn on and off the Thrusters because is something a person use frequently when land or take off
     
    #400

Share This Page