Sectors.yaml - the small print - unforeseen errors

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by marc.johanson.ca, Jan 24, 2024.

Tags:
  1. marc.johanson.ca

marc.johanson.ca Ensign

Hello everyone ...

I'm new to the subject of dedicated servers and setting up file structures ... and as is probably the case with most people, I have encountered several problems that make my hair stand on end.

My previous search for all these lines of code in this one file with the great name "Sectors.yaml" that holds the whole universe together was only semi-successful on the net.

Especially when it comes to the exact structure and what you have to pay attention to, all the "ATTENTIONS" and "idiot hints" regarding some very questionable prerequisites on the part of the game developers at Eleon are unfortunately always missing.

For example, I came across the fact that in my solar system some orbits of planets are displayed and others are not.

But what nobody tells YOU is that the 1st planet type you want to use here should NOT be a MOON and that it must have the coordinates '0,0,0'. Otherwise you can select it as the starting planet but it will simply not be there in the universe or system view.

For my part, for example, I thought at first that there had to be a certain "minimum distance" between the individual planets and that this was probably why it didn't show me one or the other. At least that was my impression at the beginning.

But this is not the case, which you realize at the latest when you put several planets and moons together in a playfield section and choose the coordinates so that the planets have to overlap. Then it can sometimes happen that one moon optically "flies" through the current planet without damaging it or yourself.

There are also several things that can be set in this definition line, unless they are controlled by the planet type in its Playfield.yaml.

['0,0,0', Sun, Sun, '', '', 'G', '10']