starting with modding, autominers on map and bookmarks: impossible?

Discussion in 'Empyrion API' started by me777, Dec 4, 2020.

  1. me777

    me777 Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    138
    I started to mess around with modding, and figured listing all autominers on map and placing waypoints would be nice to have....

    now i start to doubt those are in the api at all... are they?
    Did I pick something impossible again?
    (wow, di also ignores autominers :-/ )

    I get lots of entitys listed, like the player, bases, vehicles and npc stuff, but no autominers and no portable constructors.
     
    #1
  2. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    202
    Autominers are listed in the Terrain Placables table in the database, it even flags the ones that are set to Faction allow and tells you what faction.

    Setting waypoints is also possible but in a very roundabout sort of way
    the API call is "Console Command", from there you run "Remoteex" to get to "Marker"
    ConsoleCommand is the one you use to run "Telnet commands" from the API
    You can find remoteex documentation by connecting to your server's telnet connection and running "help remoteex"
    Marker is an in-game Console command, so you can just look up documentation in-game using "help Marker"

    so, you end up with something like

    GameAPI.Game_Request(CmdId.Request_ConsoleCommand, (ushort)CmdId.Request_InGameMessage_AllPlayers, new Eleon.Modding.PString( remoteex cl=1 'marker name=Autominer pos=234,123,554 WD' ));

    cl=
    You use Client ID for Remoteex commands, its a number assigned when you log on to the server. First person to log on after the server is started is 1, second is 2, etc. if you log off then log back on you are assigned a new Client ID.

    name=
    what you want the waypoint to be called, I havent found a way to have spaces in the name

    pos=
    coordinates, no spaces, no decimals

    W
    Waypoint

    D
    Destroy on approach

    there are more options available in the Marker settings
    Expire=
    time till waypoint destroys itself, you cannot use both an Expire and D in a Marker command. Expire stops working if you set the number higher than 56 (I may have remembered this wrong, its been a few years since I made the ActiveRadar mod)
     
    #2
    byo13 and me777 like this.
  3. me777

    me777 Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    138
    Thank you,
    i managed to get the data from the database, but realized the method to set the marker probably wont work for the client mod im working on.

    Also I experimented with the marker command, it seems buggy: I get a marker, but it's alwas show on hud with waypoint and remove disabeled, also it does not show in list and cant be deleted :(
    i bet some update broke the command and as noone used it so it was never fixed... (maybe i should report it)
     
    #3
  4. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    202
    Hmm, strange.
    I wonder if those waypoints show in the bookmarks tab of the database. If you add bookmarks to the database does the game load them?

    I havent experimented with the database much.
     
    #4
  5. Falcubar

    Falcubar Ensign

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, did you ever find out where to get the ore counts from within the auto miners?
     
    #5
  6. ASTIC

    ASTIC Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    731
    This is on the wish list for the API, but unfortunately Eleon has lost interest in its expansion/bugfixes.
     
    #6
  7. Nathan Jurgens

    Nathan Jurgens Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Shame. So many more cool things everyone could do with the API (and the Scripting mod that uses it) if Eleon just opened up a few more options in the API
     
    #7

Share This Page