Talon Quest "Fashion Trend" possibile bugfix

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by japp_02, Aug 1, 2024.

  1. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    209
    For the Talon quest 'Fashion Trend" that you can take on a Talon farm, this mission does possibly not work because there is a syntax error or in the playfield.static file or in the PDA.yaml file. Here the extracts of the code that show that the references do not corrispond:

    Playfield: GS_Akua
    File: playfield_static yaml

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ...

    - SpawnAt: [TemperateStarterTribalTower,TemperateStarterRuinsTribal]
    Radius: 200
    RadiusRandom: 50
    RateMultiplyerCenter: 1.0
    RateMultiplyerEdge: 1.0
    Color: "1.0, 0.0, 0.5, 0.9"
    Entities:
    - Names: [RaptorHerd]
    Biomes: [Any]
    Amount: 60 # was 40
    Period: Always
    DelayMinMax: [-1, -1]
    - Names: [RaptorsNight] >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>PROBLEM ENTRY
    Biomes: [Any]
    Amount: 60 # was 40
    Period: Night
    DelayMinMax: [-1, -1]
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    File: PDA.yaml

    ...

    - ChapterTitle: pda_aO0uumW
    Category: SoloMission
    NoSkip: false
    Activatable: Never
    Visibility: Never
    PlayerLevel: 1
    CompletedMessage: ''
    ChapterActivation:
    - Check: InventoryOpened
    Names:
    - RaptorNight >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>PROBLEM ENTRY
    NoSkip: 'true'
    PopupActivatesChapter: 'true'
    NotifyMessage: norm;20|pda_0Gmma4i
    Tasks:
    ...

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    It must be checked wether this is true and corrected accordingly:
    It must be in BOTH files or RaptorsNight or RaptorNight, but not different syntaxes in both files

    I hope this helps!
    Greetings
     
    #1
  2. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    209
    The entry 'RaptorsNight' is used successfully in the same playfield_static file, so it must be the pda.yaml file which needs correction with the substitution of
    RaptorNight > RaptorsNight

    in the line above, after which the mission should work correctly.
    Currently testing it in my 'Alternative Game Start' scenario.
     
    #2
  3. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,272
    Likes Received:
    11,936
    The playfield entries do not use the NPC name, so the PDA and playfield entries will almost never match up and it doesn't have to.
    The playfield do not reference the NPC name for spawning NPCs. It uses a separate entry.
     
    #3
    japp_02 likes this.
  4. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    209
    Thanks ravien_ff, that's good to know and I expected an answer like this. By adapting my custom scenario I have now a new problem that maybe you can clarifiy: I want to add a Decoration entry in the playfield_dynamic.yaml file but it crashes the game right at a new game start. This is what I have added in a custom GS_Akua file that has a different terrain and biomes:

    - Name: Harvestables1
    Density: 1
    Snow: 0
    spawn:
    Min: 0
    Max: 0.5
    BushPower: 0.7
    Noise: 1,0.1,2,0.5
    scale:
    Power: 1.2
    Noise: 1,0.1,2,0.5
    Hue: 0,0,0.001
    BendPower: 1
    GrassPower: 1
    Contrast: 1
    Saturation: 1

    The above exists in the default GS_Akua.
    In the same file I have then modified my 'Swamp' biome as follows, with 1 added entry only (orange color):

    - [ ChineseBanyan, 0.14, Tree_V|Bp=0.30|Sp=1.00|Snow=0.00|Bri=0.98|Sat=0.40|Bend=0.70|Hue=330.00, 1.50 ]
    - [ ChineseBanyan, 0.01, Empty, 1.50 ]
    - [ DeadTree02b, 0.001, Free_V, 1.50 ]
    - [ DeadTree02a, 0.001, Free_V, 1.50 ]
    - [ DeadTree01, 0.01, BigPlant_V|Bp=0.00|Sp=1.00|Snow=0.00|Bri=1.07|Sat=0.20|Bend=1.00|Hue=50.00, 1.50 ]
    - [ SkeletonWhaleFull, 0.005, Tree_V|Bp=0.30|Sp=1.00|Snow=0.00|Bri=1.00|Sat=1.00|Bend=1.00|Hue=0.00, 1.50 ]
    - [ AkuaBush1, 0.04, Free_V|Bp=0.00|Sp=1.00|Snow=0.00|Bri=1.00|Sat=0.40|Bend=1.00|Hue=320.00, 1.50 ]
    - [ ElderberryBushGreen, 0.0015, Free_V, 1.50 ]

    - [ DimpleDome, 0.0015, Plant, 2.50 ]
    - [ CobraLeavesPlant, 0.001, Plant, 2.50 ]
    - [ CattailWinter, 0.01, Harvestables1, 2.20 ]
    - [ MushroomTallGreen01, 0.002, Free_V, 1.50 ]
    - [ ClusterShroom, 0.0015, Free, 2.50 ]
    - [ CornDogBush, 0.001, Plant, 2.50 ]

    - [ RockResourceIron, 0.001, Free, 2.50 ]
    - [ RockResourceCopper, 0.001, Free, 2.50 ]
    - [ RockResourceSilicon, 0.0001, Free, 3.00 ]

    What is wrong here?
    The purpose was to make spawn the famous 'Grain' in the Swamp biome (which is CattailWinter in the blocksconfig.ecf file) so to make the Talon mission 'Wild Grains' possible to play in my custom scenario.
    Thanks for your feedback!
     
    #4
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2024
  5. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,272
    Likes Received:
    11,936
    Sorry I would not know. If you comment out the cattailwinter entry does it still crash?
    If that fixes it, then you know the problem is with the entry in the biome.
     
    #5
  6. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    209
    If I take the new entries out it doesn't crash. However these entries are strictly identical to what is in the default GS_Akua, also correctly aligned in the file.

    Is it at all possible to add decorations in the file? I will try to replace an entry instead of adding it.
     
    #6
  7. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6,272
    Likes Received:
    11,936
    If it's causing a crash then you likely broke the syntax used somehow.
     
    #7
    japp_02 likes this.
  8. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    209
    Thank you, I check this out by adding entries piece after piece, so I get a more precise result about where the error is.
     
    #8
  9. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    209
    Solved!
    Re-adding the entries from scratch didn't crash anymore, so it must have been a syntax error of some kind, missaligned entries or so...
    Also the procedure works well to spawn certain plants in the biomes which are not default.

    Concerning the topic question, the related mission works well, no bug like I have suspected.
     
    #9

Share This Page