[TOOL] Empyrion Playfield Designer v1.34.7

Discussion in 'Planets & Playfields' started by jmcburn, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ok Simple Question

    When I have
    UseFixed: True
    UseRandom: True
    No Drone showup anyplace on the map.

    If I make UseFixed: False
    The Drones show up

    Playfield I used was akra in it's own scenario, Added just 5 fixed poi of my design and had the player spawn in the base no other changes other then remarking out the Wreckage

    Also ran the playfield through EPD_v1347 and same thing happened no drones if UseFixed: True
    Also this is a single player game
    Everything else works. So what have I missed?
     
    #521
    jmcburn likes this.
  2. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570

    Just tested and confirmed. But i'm guessing this is a game bug, as this happens with all the playfields that originally come with the game as soon as you set UseRandom to 'true.'

    I'll file a bug report.

    Thx for the report.

    /jmc
     
    #522
  3. SilvRav

    SilvRav Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    371
    Had the same issue and then went flying around and used my admin powers to find them...they all get stuck to each other and dont roam free.

    have also logged a bug report
     
    #523
  4. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    And what playfields does it work with? How can a original playfield be different from one you create from scratch?.

    From what you had stated above it sounded like all I had to do was create a new planet name add it to the sector's file and pop that playfield.yaml in and bobs your uncle. How can the game know the difference it's no longer called akra and it's not in the Temperate folder.
    I did try doing just that and nope no drones showed up

    Not trying to sound narky just abit flustered to have gotten part of it working just to have me shot down by a drone that I can't see
     
    #524
  5. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    At least you could find them. not one showed in the ents listings for me, went to the drone base and nothing. plenty of mobs spawning inside the base but sadly for me the drones were hiding. I never thought I would be sad that a drone wasn't there to try to kill me
     
    #525
  6. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570
    Maybe you misunderstood me there. :)

    It doesn't work with ANY playfield (original or custom), as far as i tested. My guess is that this bug got introduced when they added the feature to allow fixed POIs together with random.

    It may still be an EPD bug, but i don't think so. I tried to just add (manually with Notepad++) the 'UseRandom: True' and 'UseFixed: True' without changig anything else in the original 'temperate' playfield, and the drones were gone. So it's not an issue with EPD, as it happens as well, when editing the yaml by hand.

    I'll guess, we'll just have to wait either for an answer to the bugreport i sent or a new game release to fix the issue.

    /jmc
     
    #526
  7. RazzleWin

    RazzleWin Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks Mate and no worries. I never thought it was your program. Because I just found it today and I have been fighting this for a couple of weeks now. And had felt if your EPD created a playable playfield with both Mixed and Random then I might find out from comparing yours and mine and see what I missed. Oh nice Program by the way!! only thing from a new user perspective your BIG GO button for the Seed had me confused, to start with I thought it was the save button lol then I found the smaller but larger then rest of text to Save the file. All good though
     
    #527
    jmcburn likes this.
  8. dQgnflua

    dQgnflua Ensign

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    13
    Really nice tool =) =) =)

    Made my first Scenario thanks to you :)
    It is a start, but with this tool, much is done ;)

    search Two Towers in workshop if you want to have a look...........

    Keep up the great job =)
     
    #528
    jmcburn likes this.
  9. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570
    Thx, nice to hear that it is of help. :)

    Will take a look.

    /jmc
     
    #529
    Dietrich likes this.
  10. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570
    Empyrion Universe Designer (EPD v2) alpha development progress:

    Importing of Sector.yaml and 3D handling and moving of OrbitSpheres almost done.

    upload_2017-9-14_18-41-21.png

    Restrict to OrbitSphere movement to XY plane:
    upload_2017-9-14_18-42-31.png

    /jmc
     
    #530
    Taelyn likes this.
  11. Furious Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    525
    hiya, trying your tool on a dedicated server, is it possible to change to a fixed poi spawn on akua ? so far have not been able to affect the starting inventory with changes or the starting position.
     
    #531
  12. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570
    I tried it to set a fixed POIs name as structure reference (manually for a test, as EPD currently only supprts GroupNames to be set in PlayerSpawn 'Structure'), but the game doesn't accept it. I don't think that's possible with Empyrion, as it also states in the 'Example Planet' playfield yaml, that you can only set Groupname as a Strcuture Reference:

    Example Planet yaml:

    upload_2017-9-14_19-58-52.png

    /jmc
     
    #532
    Furious Hellfire likes this.
  13. Furious Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    525
    thanks for the reply dude, Your tool has been useful with modding playfields and I look forward to your next release.
     
    #533
    jmcburn likes this.
  14. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570
    Thx for your kind feedback.

    /jmc
     
    #534
  15. SilvRav

    SilvRav Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    371
    JMCBURN maybe you can assist?:

    Hi

    can anyone see something wrong in this code?

    In this playfield trying to enter the map gives the internal (continue) error

    Code:
    ---
    # Playfield Configuration
    # IMPORTANT: YAML files use spaces as indentation. Please don't use TABs - tab indentation is forbidden: http://yaml.org/faq.html
    
    # Playfield Characteristics
    Gravity: 0                          # Please don't change
    AtmosphereEnabled: False            # Please don't change
    PvP: False                          # Set to True to allow PvP in this playfield, default is False
    UseFixed: False                      # If set uses fixed drones
    Radiation: 7.7
    TemperatureDay: -130
    Music: Migration   
    
    # Playfield difficulty (has impact on experience gains)
    Difficulty: 2                       # Between 2 and 5: larger values indicate higher difficulty
    
    # Planet or Space
    PlayfieldType: Space               # Please don't change
    
    PlanetType: Space                  # No functionality yet
    Description: "Admin Trading area and events arena."
    
    # Sun                             
    SunFlare: EnvironmentalEffects/SunFlareWhite3Space
    
    # Stars
    Stars: SkyboxStarsBlue                       
    
    # Nebula
    Nebula: PrefabNebulaBlueGlittery
    
    #Nebula:
    #    Count: 12                                 # 0 - 32
    #    Brightness: [ Dark, Medium, Bright ]      # VeryDark, Dark, Medium, Bright, VeryBright
    #    Colors: [ Blue ]                          # Blue, Pink, Purple, Green, Yellow, Orange, Red
    #    Styles: [ Streaky, Cloudy ]               # Cloudy, Streaky, Glittery, DarkMatter
    #    Complexity: 1                             # 0 - 1
    #    Textures: VeryHigh                        # VeryLow, Low, Medium, High, VeryHigh (Only One)
    
    Build: 1211
    
     
    #535
  16. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570

    This is the most minimalistic version i can get to run without error.
    It seems, you need a Dronebase (not really, but for the game selector menu you do, otherwise you get a COQ, as soon as you select the playfield).

    if you remove the dronebase from the yaml, you get the COQ, but if you choose 'continue' then, the game loads the playfield nevertheless without any erros. So this may be a game bug. I'll file a report.

    Secondly, i'd suggest not using quotes in description text. Works most of the times, but i'd rather leave them out.

    /jmc
     

    Attached Files:

    #536
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
    SilvRav likes this.
  17. SilvRav

    SilvRav Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    371
    Thank you. yes it loads and we have been playing on it, it just dont load the map.

    question now is if i added it to the saves template YAML will it load?

    or do i have to do wipe and fresh playfield
     
    #537
  18. jmcburn

    jmcburn Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    570
    with my version, there is no more COQ when opening the map.

    Sorry, don't really know, if you can replace it, but backup your savegame folder and try it out. Personally i don't think so, as POI placement happens on first load of playfield, then the POIs/DroneBase are stored in the area files. So without wiping i'm afraid, it won't show up.

    /jmc
     
    #538
    SilvRav likes this.
  19. SilvRav

    SilvRav Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    371
    Thanks...let me try and see....

    otherwise i will have to BP everything, delete and create new playfield, then spawn everything back
     
    #539
    jmcburn likes this.
  20. dQgnflua

    dQgnflua Ensign

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    13
    #540
    jmcburn likes this.

Share This Page