About building HV's.....

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by Captain Howdy, Jan 11, 2021.

1. Captain Howdy

Captain Howdy Ensign

I was wondering if anyone had proposed a new thruster block or blocks for the HV grids? It seems to me that a larger thruster than the T2 large would REALLY help me out a great deal. I am a beginning builder, and not very good tbh. It is hard to build "good" in this game and there are different types of "good" depending on what one wants to do.....raid, hunt, pve, pvp etc. Flexibility in building is always a plus no? I always need too many T2 thrusters to build anything more than a small thing that just dies to shielded poi if it gets hit....or it is big and takes a gazillion thrusters to move. Perhaps a 2x2 or a 2x3 block to help design nicer/"realistic" looking tanks at least? lol. I REALLY think that a new tier of HV thrusters would cap off the HV grid nicely and not upset the CPU balance or the HV/SV trade off too much.

DarkMaid likes this.
  2. Furious Hellfire

Furious Hellfire Rear Admiral

Would be cool to have some bigger thrusters on hv.

I can give you some HV building tips that may or may not help your situation, focus most power on side to side thrusters.
    Not so much front and rear, side to side are most useful for trying to dodge enemy turret fire.
    Less thrusters for front and back, more thrusters to the sides.
    Being a HV you dont need any thrusters pointing up or down so there is that bonus.
    RCS thrusters seem to steer the craft more efficiently when the craft is roughly as wide as it is long in block length, a craft that is long and narrow will steer like a sloppy bus.

Maybe try some tests with lighter steel or even carbon blocks.
    silly as it sounds, if the weight difference give you moving capability enough to avoid most turret fire with strafing, your shields should never drop.
    You can always fall back a little distance to recharge shield before it drops.