DEV BLOG Announcement: Version 1.5 + brief prospect of 2021

Discussion in 'News & Announcements' started by Hummel-o-War, Apr 16, 2021.

  1. eLLe

    eLLe Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    684
    I wrote the wrong GPU. I have an R7 200 series. I don't know exactly which one it is. I only imagine that with the physics of water because it will give me a completely new vision and interestingness of the game. Somehow it will round out the game into one whole. Without it, it seems to me as if it is not whole. I know another 8GB would help a lot but believe me it doesn’t have that money.
     
    #21
    TK85 and Kassonnade like this.
  2. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    10,270
    Well, time to open your PC and take a closer look;).

    The type of graphic Card should also be visible by opening the Software of the Graphic Card. If not visible on the Card itself I mean.

    To tell the truth - I am unemployed since almost 3 Years now and live from the Social Service of the Country (Austria) - I am 57 now and my chances to find a new employment are close to Zero. So I know how this is if you have to turn around each € several times.

    A 8GB RAM cost about €40 . I. e.,
    1600 CL 11 ->
    https://www.mylemon.at/artikel/v7/v7128008gbd_lv/8gb-ddr3-1600mhz-cl11.html
    1333 CL 9 ->
    https://www.mylemon.at/artikel/v7/v7106008gbd/8gb-ddr3-1333mhz-cl9.html
     
    #22
    Track Driver and Kassonnade like this.
  3. eLLe

    eLLe Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    684
    I think the R7 is 260XT. In Croatia, the 8GB 1866 Hyper X Furry (I have the same one) module costs 70 euros. I repeat, no matter how strange it may seem to you, unemployed and those 70 euros are a miracle for me because I live alone, so in addition to food and the cost of living, it is not easy to set aside for something else. But I'll try to think of something, so I don't choke you with my private things anymore.
     
    #23
  4. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    10,270
    No worries. In the Current Pandemic you are not alone with this problems. Believe me.
    Best of Luck to you!:)
     
    #24
  5. SacredGlade

    SacredGlade Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    492
    what no more farming to learn how to make warp drives? ;)

    Serious though - I hope the tech progression does become more immersive and "believable" (if possible in a fantastical/SiFi game), I would rather steal/buy/earn or research technology advances - instead of cutting down trees or picking plants as a route to scientific advancement.

    (So very please to see a road map post though. We do not mind if it is rough or likely to be changed. Great to feel the project is live and that the community are involved in it)
     
    #25
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2021
  6. Kassonnade

    Kassonnade Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5,248
    Likes Received:
    7,297
    Ok If I compare your GPU to mine, yours is "hugely" more efficient on all aspects (on UserBenchmark site). If I had not upgraded RAM to 16 gb I would have a hard time playing the game.

    Just lower your resolution and add a bit more quality in the settings. As for RAM then if you can't buy more just shut down unneeded Windows services when playing.
     
    #26
    eLLe and Germanicus like this.
  7. Myrmidon

    Myrmidon Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Maybe auto-warp according to plotted path on galaxy map is coming. As far as pentaxid lasts in the warp tank at least.
     
    #27
  8. Obcy

    Obcy Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hoping to see normal windows for building custom cockpits. Those are too dark now. No chance to drive a HV at night.
    When it comes to performance and optimisation I am running this game on GTX1060 in my laptop with 24Gb RAM and it runs very smooth. 1920 x 1080 and 60fps.
     
    #28
    ravien_ff, TK85 and Myrmidon like this.
  9. Stampy

    Stampy Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    19
    What, if I may ask, was the registry tweak?
     
    #29
  10. Kassonnade

    Kassonnade Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5,248
    Likes Received:
    7,297
    I boosted Windows 8.1 's TDR timer to 10 seconds instead of 2. My laptop used to freeze/ crash regularly on heavy video strain (games only) and that was because windows had low tolerance regarding the response delay of my poor GPU. Now Windows just minds its own business and the GPU chomps at whatever I throw it at its own pace. Framerate can become choppy, stutter, glitch, but it doesn't crash anymore.

    I had to create a key of type "DWORD (32-bit)" with name "TdrDelay" with a value of 10 as Decimal value, in "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers".

    Not sure about Windows 10, I think this can be set directly via the advanced video options... not sure.
     
    #30
    Stampy and Germanicus like this.
  11. byo13

    byo13 Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    461
    @Hummel-o-War That is so awesome! Great news.

    Since you guys are making changes to the missions system, please make the GIN accept random side missions extracted from a config ecf file so users may be able to add more variety of missions. Also stackable missions so you can accept more than one at a time. Visiting space stations would be more attractive and also it would give the player infinite small quests to do with rewards. I really think we miss some ever existing side mission system that could be divided into categories like Trading, Combat, Farming, Mining, etc. I know every content creator would be glad to add more side-missions to a file and see them appear in the GIN menu.

    Nothing too fancy is needed. :)
    This is one of the reasons I keep coming back to survival games.

    upload_2021-4-19_15-24-21.png
     
    #31
  12. Myrmidon

    Myrmidon Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    +1 for what @byo13 asked for.
     
    #32
    TK85 and byo13 like this.
  13. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11,805
    Likes Received:
    18,680
    The Traders actually were prepared to have something like that (some have that dialogue option I planned to swap with a mission). I am already thinking about how to approach that. ;)

    A technical change to load an additional config would be awesome as well - already has been discussed but very likely won't make it in 1.5.
     
    #33
  14. Snaky

    Snaky Ensign

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Any chance to have a complete controller configuration in game and a full customisable ui with shortcuts for control panel switches ? :)

    Thanks a lot for that job btw !
     
    #34
    Annimar Telesh, TK85 and Myrmidon like this.
  15. idx64

    idx64 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    71
    Excellent, I hope they add something like the famous Star Trek tricorder to detect life forms from a distance. Greetings.
     
    #35
    cmguardia, byo13 and Myrmidon like this.
  16. Myrmidon

    Myrmidon Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    I hope we will see some photos soon. :p

    Can't wait for the experimental.
     
    #36
    byo13, TK85, ravien_ff and 1 other person like this.
  17. Zeronox

    Zeronox Ensign

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    17
    This is all good, but I have a problem in the console line, over the network in the creative, I am no longer an admin and cannot write commands!
    What should I do now? Ошибка в правах..png
     
    #37
  18. Myrmidon

    Myrmidon Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Console is case sensitive.
     
    #38
  19. Alfman

    Alfman Ensign

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I hope for some Controller (Xbox 360) Progress in one of the upcoming Updates :)
     
    #39
  20. Duke Sparrow

    Duke Sparrow Ensign

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    I would REALLY like to see updates to sounds across the board, but unfortunately I didn't see it on the roadmap for this year. Would it be possible to open the sound files up to mod support? I have seen many posts over the years about this topic, and am fairly certain that the community would happily step in if sound is too large an undertaking for the studio. In my opinion, this would make the biggest difference of any possible updates from where things stand now.
     
    #40

Share This Page