Feedback Required Your most wanted QUALITY OF LIFE feature?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hummel-o-War, Jul 3, 2020.

  1. Dragon

    Dragon Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    274
    You can change window sides/tint with the multitool, set it to change & rotate and click on the window to change the tint side.
     
    #161
  2. Kats

    Kats Ensign

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    It was here *o*!!!
    Well... It is my fault for not reading everything but still... Not obvious.
    It is like shift+autobrake(switch pilot mode), shift+ autorotate(what the hell is that?LOL dynamic combat pilot mode?) Dark secrets.

    Anyway, thank's.

    Then, what I want is a boost to carry more:D.
    I am playing with CPU and masse/volume check active.
    It would be nice to be able to transfert a bigger stack of resource between bases or CV-Base that are not in the same planet/sector/star system without having to go there with the CV/SV
    From what I have seen, not a lot people play with masse/volume check active. That thing has a direct influence on building. You take time to build enough space for all the items your construction can hold, or you don't. It is 2 different worlds.
     
    #162
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2020
    Dragon likes this.
  3. Dragon

    Dragon Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    274
    Shift+autobrake toggles pilot mode? I did not know that! Definitely going to try it tonight. Thanks!

    Autorotate is to level your ship with the solar ecliptic in orbit or level it out on a planet. Check out this thread for more useful but not so obvious features:

    https://empyriononline.com/threads/list-of-useful-but-not-so-obvious-features-of-egs.46948/

    I play with CPU and mass/volume enabled as well. I actually like the mass/volume feature, it gives purpose to transport ships and freighters. Cargo space do become a very important factor when building stuff. Better character armour allows you to carry more on your person but, not much. Transport ships will still be needed for bulk loads.
     
    #163
  4. Hazard0814

    Hazard0814 Ensign

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Stasis Unit
    -Character jumps into a stasis unit and their needs are frozen, but time goes on, useful for waiting on plants/crafting when you have to go AFK on single-player or even multiplayer just having to go AFK, though you accept the risk of the pod/you dying during g a player/drone raid.
     
    #164
    Khaleg and arcticsnowyt like this.
  5. Arthmoor

    Arthmoor Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    Course plotting on the galaxy map.

    We need the ability to plot a course to a distant star system from the current one you're in because past about 200 LY it's very difficult to find the tiny flashing arrow thing. All it really needs to be is something like a dashed line that picks the best route from where you are to where you're going based on how far your ship's warp drive can jump. You still need to actually do the jumps yourself, the map is just showing you how to get to somewhere you have in mind.
     
    #165
    Sup, Khaleg, arcticsnowyt and 2 others like this.
  6. me777

    me777 Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    54
    Hotkey for Registry
    make MapMarkers/Waypoints with remove on approach from Registry (like shift-click or a checkbox)
     
    #166
  7. Arthmoor

    Arthmoor Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    Not sure if it's been brought up before, but some kind of block to run repairs on a damaged base. It's often very difficult to figure out where drones have done damage so you can repair it.
     
    #167
    arcticsnowyt, GoldDragon and me777 like this.
  8. Old Man Evo

    Old Man Evo Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    fix key binds so they actually work for disabled players or left handed players that want to reverse the keyboard, this means no hard coded key binds and allow the player to actually bind every action they wish you use to a function. currently this game discriminates against those that have a disability or left handed in my case both! This also means stop liking functions to more than one key! or give the players the choice of which key to add Also even with the few keys you can change they do tend to stop working over an hours play or so! Most other survival games can get this right yet you guys cant or don't value it as important enough to fix? Which is actually discrimination of the disabled in my case!
     
    #168
  9. Tarc Novar

    Tarc Novar Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    79
    If you have a feature suggestion, please make it, but to insinuate that Eleon is discriminatory is disingenuous at best.
     
    #169
  10. SoDak

    SoDak Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Unbind the toolbar next/previous from the mouse wheel! Make it user changeable as I cannot believe you have it hard coded! I use a trackball with the mouse wheel as a horizontal ring around the trackball and I'm constantly accidentally hitting it causing the pri tool/weapon to change almost always at the most inopportune times.
     
    #170
  11. Pembroke

    Pembroke Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    43
    1. At least in space, please, add "height lines" to the spots shown in the minimap so you can see how far each is above or below your plane of orientation. This would make the map a lot clearer as to where everything is. Use different colors for the lines to mean "above" or "below".

    2. The automatic turrets target several types of blocks. This is fine and good. However, please, add all of the different target block types separately to the target configuration options. Stop shooting when there are no more active turrets! You're destroying valuable loot! :)

    3. When you ping with the detector show the distance to the revealed objects even if they lie outside your current field-of-view. Yes, obviously the Zirax corvette is behind me because I'm *fleeing* from it! I want to know how far behind it is... :)
     
    #171
    Arthmoor and Khaleg like this.
  12. byo13

    byo13 Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    458
    Buying ships and bases with money

    I don't know if anyone's suggested this before but how about buying vessels and bases with resources, of course, but also credits directly in the factory window (EDIT: Thanks, @Germanicus. :)). It'd make all those millions worth it and would give the player a sense of building an empire and buying all that he desires. The Steam Workshop is filled with thousands of creations for the player to choose, so why not? Please let us spend money in bases and vessels.

    Now that every item and block has a MarketPrice maybe it wouldn't be too hard to calculate the total cost and maybe add some extra multiplication so it would be more aimed to the end game player, like a CV costing millions to acquire.
     
    #172
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021
  13. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,237
    Likes Received:
    10,261
    You ARE aware about the recent "Ownership" changes, yes? Therefore if someone does not 'own' the Blueprint he would not be able to buy such one because it would be spawned as PRIVATE by the Seller and not as PUBLIC and therefore 'free' for takeover.
    Scenario-wise/MP you may do as you please or can but in Vanilla it won't work.:rolleyes:
     
    #173
  14. Wayson

    Wayson Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    139
    Small wishes? The ability to interact with furniture (sit - lay)!?!
     
    #174
  15. byo13

    byo13 Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    458
    Hmm, sorry if I misunderstood you but you're saying that if I subscribe to a blueprint, then press F2, then add the resources to the factory, I'll not be able to build the ship/base I want?

    If otherwise you're referring to something like buying stuff from another player, then no, that's not my wish. I'm wishing for the player to spend credits in the factory window instead of adding resources if he so wishes. :)
     
    #175
  16. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,237
    Likes Received:
    10,261
    That is clearer now for me. Thanks.;)
     
    #176
    byo13 likes this.
  17. Darinth

    Darinth Commander

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    99
    My QoL feature is one of those things from the 3 big features thread. It super frustrating to have people constantly being locked out of containers, constructors, & control panels just because someone else is in them. Even minecraft has allowed everybody to access the same containers/machines since super early in it's alpha. The fact the Empyrion locks basically all of it's devices to being accessed by a single player is really frustrating, and that frustration only increases exponentially as more players are trying to use the same stuff in the same area.
     
    #177
    Skavn likes this.
  18. idx64

    idx64 Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    71
    This is a good opportunity to install a Star Trek style teleportation to reach areas of the planet without going down with the Capital ship, either to plant autominers or for other things.
     
    #178
    Sup and Wayson like this.
  19. Wayson

    Wayson Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    139
    Star Trek is great inspiration for adding content in Empyrion! It translates well, pardon the pun!!
     
    #179
    idx64 and Kassonnade like this.
  20. DarkMaid

    DarkMaid Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    89
    Here's a simple one that would save my sanity:

    The tooltip message "Press 'F' to use the <device>" obscures the power slider for the Food processor, Constructors, Deconstructor and the Furnace. Extremely annoying to me as I either have to tell my eyes to ignore what they're seeing or else wait about 3 seconds for the tooltip to disappear.

    Yes it is transparent enough to see the button but not as clearly as I'd like and there's no reason to have the tooltip present anymore after you've pressed 'F'. And at least 70% of the time I'm accessing these devices specifically to turn them off (70% or more because sometimes there're still processing and I have to check back later). And it so happens to be obscuring the exact spot I'm interested in (like salt on a wound).

    There seems to be a set width for the tooltip background and some devices have long names. Therefore unless the background is changed to have it adjust its width automatically it has to stay what it is. However, after pressing 'F' there is no further need for it to be there partially blocking whatever screen (and buttons in the case of the devices I mentioned) that happens to pop up after pressing 'F'.

    [​IMG]Partially obscured.

    [​IMG]After the tooltip disappears (but you have to wait 3 or 4 seconds if you were fast with your 'F' keypress).

    It's a small thing but something that occurs a hundred times a session and it's soooo annoying.
     
    #180
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2021
    Arthmoor and Darinth like this.

Share This Page