INFO & FEEDBACK [A11] New Pilot HUD

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by Hummel-o-War, Oct 27, 2019.

?

Did you understand the explanation and how the new Pilot HUD works?

  1. Got it!

    88.7%
  2. Not really! (Please comment on WHAT exactly you did not understand!)

    11.3%
  1. Bollen

    Bollen Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    267
    Absolutely love the new system, we can finally do complex docking manoeuvrers and move ships any speed! Well done!!! The one thing it still needs is some form of Targetting, especially for missiles...
     
    #41
    Andreykl likes this.
  2. Gwyn

    Gwyn Ensign

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    6
    I absolutely adore the new HUD. All of the information I need is now shown clearly and in detail.
    Thank you.
     
    #42
    ravien_ff likes this.
  3. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    You said this would be done during EXP phase. Was it ever fixed?
     
    #43
  4. Bob [OG]

    Bob [OG] Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    90
    i really love the look of the new HUD but seems out of place in the design. i don't know how to describe it looks really cool but doesn't look "Empyrion" one thing i have noticed is there have been too many editions for making the game look pretty. can we fix the random disconnects and memory leaks before adding more shiny rims and ground effects. a car can look really nice but that doesn't mean it can drive well.

    [​IMG]
     
    #44
    Van and stanley bourdon like this.
  5. Van

    Van Commander

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    104
    Agree. I really like the HUD (thought the navigation bar often gets stuck and doesn't move, so I have to use the minimap to determine direction), but it's getting hard to enjoy new features when memory leaks are crashing my game every 15-30 minutes on top of the other random disconnects. :( I just started playing again after putting in about 1000 hours between release and A8, and then taking a break. I really want to get back into playing, but the crashes are making me want to not play.
     
    #45
    Bob [OG] likes this.
  6. boo

    boo Commander

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    70
    i like the new hud, but sometime the compass above, freeze and dont move when i'm in a planet .
     
    #46
    runlykhel likes this.
  7. Darak

    Darak Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    38
    I feel like the new HUD should disappear while you use free view mode (ALT) inside the cockpit, something I do very often to check the surroundings. Right now it stays stuck to your face, which is very distracting and feels wrong (it would be even better if it would stay in the front cockpit area, just as if it were some kind of holographic projection like Elite does).

    By the way, there is something wrong with that view in recent builds, as it shows an error message saying 'already occupied' continuously (my guess is that the game thinks you're looking at your own pilot seat).

    I prefer to stay in first person mode all the time but, to be honest, ships work better in third person. It would be great if the game remembered your last camera preference for both modes (inside a ship / on foot) so it would switch automatically for you if you happen to prefer piloting in third person while playing the foot game in first.
     
    #47
    stanley bourdon and geostar1024 like this.
  8. xerxes86

    xerxes86 Commander

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    125
    Yeah same here, when you are looking for something the HUD is just in the way. I also go back and forth between first person and 3rd, in and out of the ship.
     
    #48
  9. IndigoWyrd

    IndigoWyrd Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    1,434
    Love the new HUD. Took me a minute to figure out the boost, but wasn't bad.
     
    #49
  10. Furious Hellfire

    Furious Hellfire Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    The HUD is great, however it would be awesome to have a hud ui size adjuster so I can adjust it enough to make it readable from 6 feet away on my plasma screen.

    As it is I can barely read any text in this game on this stupid screen even though its friggin huge lol
     
    #50
    stanley bourdon likes this.
  11. Israel

    Israel Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    57
    Probably the only thing i liked about the new update was the HUD. The main reason is because its so intuitive. Now if The the Developers followed that same logic of making the rest of Empyrion intuitive in nature, man.. that would be big!..

    So a 9 out of 10 for the HUD. Good work guys. Just keep following that same intuitive design and everything will naturally fall into place.
     
    #51
  12. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    10,419
    Likes Received:
    16,054
    We plan to add more customization to the HUD (color, Crosshair size) but this will take a while i am afraid. (Currently working on 11.5 and preparations for A12)
     
    #52
  13. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    That really sucks.
    It REALLY sucks because we were told this would be done during 10.6 Exp and it wasn't....
    Now you are telling me we will have to wait until after A12 it sounds like? WOW!

     
    #53
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
    ravien_ff and stanley bourdon like this.
  14. Israel

    Israel Lieutenant

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    57
    Good to know. I will point out which parts i think need the most pressing work on. When i first saw the HUD for the first time what really stood out to me and looked weird was the Generator power logo. At first i thought it was measuring radiation, but then i thought no, there is already a radiation logo showing that on the top left of the screen. So then i thought fuel, but then i saw the gas logo underneath it, so no. So i started putting and adding generators to see if it was that and indeed it was. So finally i found what the radiation looking logo meant.

    So yeah, now it made sense why i thought they were the same thing, because if you look at the Radiation Logo and the Power Generator logo they look almost exactly the same. The other was the O2 tanks which looks more like a fuel tank, a generator, or a battery. I put examples of how an o2 tank can be better defined in a more intuitive way below. I also put examples of Power Generator Logos of what i think would be more intuitive to understand.

    Power Generator Logo:
    [​IMG]

    Radiation Logo:
    [​IMG]

    Power Generator Logo Examples: [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    O2 Tank Logo Examples:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    #54
  15. IndigoWyrd

    IndigoWyrd Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    1,434
    If you can get that to 88 miles per hour, you can travel to the future and see what the next update will bring. But that's a big IF....
     
    #55
  16. Bob [OG]

    Bob [OG] Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    90
    88mph? can't seem to get off planet much these days. glad we are working on what's important...
     
    #56
  17. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    11,122
    Sector NameOfPlanet will teleport you to orbit.
     
    #57
  18. Bob [OG]

    Bob [OG] Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    90
    i was referring to the locked cockpit bug when transition to and from planet. i know how to "work around it" but hey, we can mine in space with our 3mps hovers so that's a plus, right?
     
    #58
    stanley bourdon and Germanicus like this.
  19. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    7,321
    #59
  20. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    11,122
    There's an active bug report here:
    https://empyriononline.com/threads/bug-on-leaving-a-planet.91648/

    Reporting your problems there will help get them fixed! :D
     
    #60

Share This Page