Do sentry guns count as turrets?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Timrath, Mar 4, 2021.

  1. Timrath

    Timrath Ensign

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    If I set my turrets to target enemy turrets, will they shoot at sentry guns?
     
    #1
  2. Vermillion

    Vermillion Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    10,944
    Sentry guns count as turrets, but they have a setting on them that removes them from turret targeting otherwise ship turrets would focus on internal sentry guns instead of the big ones on the outside.
     
    #2
  3. zaphodikus

    zaphodikus Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    344
    So the answer is really, no.
    Which means external sentry guns on a POI will still keep shooting at you, unexpected, but part of the rules I guess.
     
    #3
  4. krazzykid2006

    krazzykid2006 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    2,799
    Yeah they removed sentry guns as valid targets, which frankly was the wrong way to fix that issue.

    Now sentry turrets on the outside are never targeted by your own turrets.

    Plus, that does absolutely nothing about the regular full size turrets that are inside quite a few POI's in the base game. Your player turrets still target them and waste ammo exactly the same as it did with sentry turrets.

    So in the end them removing sentry turrets as valid targets didn't really fix anything and made other things worse.
     
    #4
    Khazul, stanley bourdon and Spoon like this.
  5. zaphodikus

    zaphodikus Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    344
    As always, it's complicated, and complexity can be your enemy, so some hard coding might not be evil, it might just not solve it for everyone in the complex system. I can wait, I love this.
     
    #5

Share This Page