[mod] ActiveRadar

Discussion in 'The Hangar Bay' started by Xango2000, May 1, 2018.

  1. TK85

    TK85 Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    473
    Coooollll!
     
    #21
  2. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    #22
  3. Hicks42

    Hicks42 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    3,380
    #23
  4. Ballard

    Ballard Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    1,298
    Of course the corollary to this device is to have a cloaking device. Such a device would draw power - the amount determined by the mass of the ship or base being cloaked. Proximity, even deflection could be considered.

    Let the electronic warfare begin!
     
    #24
  5. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    I... Think I may know a way to do that, unfortunately everyone that is cloaked at the same time would be able to see each other... Err, only entities that are cloaked.
     
    #25
  6. Hicks42

    Hicks42 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    3,380
    Yes Please if for no other reason that to get the devs to see some enthusiasm over this kind of Depth to combat.
     
    #26
    Captain Jack II and geostar1024 like this.
  7. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    Good News: the next version of ActiveRadar will be able to see Meteorites and Chunk Resource nodes

    Bad News: it can only see Chunk Resource Nodes If that area of the playfield is occupied.
     
    #27
    Taelyn likes this.
  8. Captain Jack II

    Captain Jack II Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    3,739
    is that because the nodes do not exist until a player enters the playfield?
     
    #28
  9. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    In 8.0 unoccupied areas of the planet are unloaded from RAM, and the API request I'm sending only checks the areas of the playfield that are loaded... Plus entities that Might travel into the loaded area like troop transports, meteorites, and mobs... But not drones, only drones that are in the area are seen by the API request.
     
    #29
  10. Brimstone

    Brimstone Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    2,765
    As long as that still gives a range > 500m, the mod is still helpful ;)
     
    #30
  11. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    Max range appears to be 1k for chunk nodes. Any player within 1k of the chunk nodes and you can scan it.

    Meteorites should be infinite.
     
    #31
  12. Brimstone

    Brimstone Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    2,765
    Which beats the solid biological waste out of 500m ;)

    I'd put forth a proposal a while ago for the ore scanner to be required to detect any ore at all... for this mod, perhaps having it in inventory could serve the same purpose in /scan r as having the radar does for /scan?
     
    #32
    SacredGlade, Hicks42 and geostar1024 like this.
  13. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    Yeah, I've thought about it. It makes sense to need the ore scanner in inventory and that wouldn't take a ton of work to implement, plus by the time you are able to build a drill you should already be able to unlock the ore scanner.

    Players are going to complain but I think I'll do that in the next version.
     
    #33
    Brimstone and geostar1024 like this.
  14. geostar1024

    geostar1024 Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,858
    Likes Received:
    8,114
    They should be thankful that an improvement to the extremely limited built-in scanning "system" even exists :).
     
    #34
  15. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    440
    there have been a few changes since my last forum post
    we are on v0.0.5 now
    HVs can use either of the 2 radar dishes for /scan
    Suit Radar is required for /scan r
     
    #35
    Ephoie likes this.
  16. Sentoki

    Sentoki Ensign

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey . the downloads did not work ..
    some one could change this ?
    or reupload this mod ( ive they work at lates patch ?)
    thx
     
    #36

Share This Page