Feedback Required Scenario: Stranded at Nemesis (Survival Challenge)

Discussion in 'FAQ & Feedback' started by Hummel-o-War, Aug 1, 2022.

  1. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,622
    Likes Received:
    11,914
    You got separated from the fleet and stranded in orbit around the lava planet Nemesis.

    Your task: Find the fleet and rejoin it!

    How you do that is up to you, because there are several possible ways. ;)
    We are curious to see how you master the challenge & are looking forward to your reports!


    [​IMG]
     
    #1
  2. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,622
    Likes Received:
    11,914
    Note: You can start the scenario in the main menu > Start Game > Singleplayer > Scenario > 'Stranded at Nemesis'

    There is only one starting option, but let us know which difficulty level you chose for playing! :)
     
    #2
  3. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    OK, I have started it and am puzzling the predicament.

    *SPOILERS*

    My first experiences of a buggy nature are navigating the lift system in zero g. (I switched off the gravity generator to improve operational time for life support and the grow light. ) Every time I exit a lift block in zero g to enter space through a door the avatar orientation is flipped 90° or so which is very disorienting and sometimes fails to leave the block i.e. appears to be reflected back inside it facing the wrong way. Happens often where the lift block is adjacent to the door.

    Also cannot reorient inside lift space using the avatar rotate keys which I have mapped to Q+E. This can be problematic as doorways will block the avatar in zero g if not in the correct orientation. You can only reorient in space. IMHO you should be able to reorient in the lift in zero g.

    Hope that is helpful :)
     
    #3
  4. TwitchyJ

    TwitchyJ Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    75
    Sadly this is an intentional feature they added in a few months ago.
    It is extremely broken and should have immediately been removed, IMO. So far we haven't gotten any feedback if they are going to fix it or not.

    https://empyriononline.com/threads/what-the-heck-elevators.99688/
     
    #4
    stanley bourdon likes this.
  5. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    the zirax scouts cored the scout ship base by firing on it even after I had put a steel block reinforcement over it because of splash damage

    is that an intentional hazard or left over from their AI ? imho breaks the scenario as there are not enough resources to make a new core

    impossible to continue without temperature support even at medium as there is no EVA module or gold source

    the pol station is absolutely not reachable with a space suit either FYI
     
    #5
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2022
  6. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    That does not work either then, I salvaged all the elevator blocks asap (to avoid the nuisance they create).
     
    #6
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2022
  7. fuzzyspyder

    fuzzyspyder Lieutenant

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    This scenario really needs an EVA Booster from the start, seeing as we are supposed to go to that Polaris trade station. Also the small moon is over saturated with Zirax pois.
     
    #7
  8. Escarli

    Escarli Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    #8
    Sofianinho and Germanicus like this.
  9. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    ESC saved with items in remote toolbar and they disappeared, are present in the new save container but not in the runtime save from which they have vanished.

    old bug still not fixed

    gameplay steps, I loaded a salvaged thruster etc onto a remote toolbar (having researched and built a large cargo and added it to the base as you cannot handle an intact thruster otherwise) and saved before opening F2 factory to make a SV runabout and everything on the remote toolbar had disappeared, just vanished, I looked everywhere for it, in the container, on the floor, second time I tried F2 in the same play session without saving it was fine and the toolbar items remained.

    I had to delete the runtime save and load the new save just made and the items were in the cargo.

    This is going to keep happening to new players and old, suggest fixing it.
     
    #9
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2022
  10. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    another bug, if you add items to the factory the component metals fail to add if they are not listed in the blueprint currently being built

    e.g lets say you want to build a basic SV with no neodymium and you add a capacitor which has 5 neodymium, then switch to a higher tier SV model with neodymium requirement, the neodymium does not show from the first capacitor, but if you add another capacitor the tally goes up by 5 neodymium.

    if you then switch back to the low tier SV with no neodymium, the 5 neodymium added shows up but is greyed out, if you add another capacitor this total does not change, if you switch back to a high tier SV with neodymium required and add another capacitor it again increases by 5.

    imho all the value of an item should be added to the factory total no matter what blueprint you are building.
     
    #10
  11. jaye63

    jaye63 Ensign

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here's a thought... How about fixing, finishing and expanding what you already started rather than forget all of that with doing something new????

    Dyson's Sphere needs work. Also needs to be resetable. First mission- chapter where you go to the moon to find the Titan and the last part of that section, where you can screw yourself (and your buddy) by putting 2 cards in the one computer. How about THAT being fixed?

    Really sick of game and mod devs getting bored with an idea we're waiting to see completed and then forgetting it forever. Im not even playing this side track til the other stuff gets finished. I've nearly reached my end with Empyrion because of all of this garbage.

    Empyrion devs and mod devs..."we're going to be working on.... OH SHINY!!!" STOP IT!!!
     
    #11
    Landru and Artur 21011000 like this.
  12. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    Maybe it should be but if that is the case then the hint that you can reach the Pol station in a suit is a "bum steer", you simply can't at medium and twice no for higher temperature impact settings.

    While I can accept it as bad advice and the opposite of what you should try to do, its not Eleon's style to mislead players directly like that so my guess is it has not been thought through or play tested (our job) and you are supposed to be able to reach the station for which you would absolutely need the EVA suit module at that distance. You need the medical station to rcover from going 350m out to loot a drone as it is, thats with the temperature range suit mods installed.

    Currently the most viable way to play the scenario imho is defend the base and salvage blocks to factory then spawn a SV. With that you are starved of copper but an ultra cheap low tier SV with a couple of engines only is doable.

    The planet Nemesis is just reachable at 560m. You need the max 111°C suit tolerance and 12 rad protection, you cant change the suit mods with medium armor so no jumpjet mod for suit landing. The ultra low oxygen yield would not make it viable on high impact imho and I am not going to even try it, I needed about 10 oxy-gens on normal, so that is a bit much imho. Oxy yield should be twice as good needing about 5. Nemesis still needs a factory spawn to survive, but a cheap base will do instead of an SV and lots of rock processing follows, which is OK.

    I see only these two of the "multiple routes" are possible without EVA module.

    If the station was closer say 1000m then that might be viable or a bud plant for the garden. The station is currently not viable at 1700+m away. I tried it using the loot coffee on normal impact and the avatar died of cold about 50m short of the station bay in mid space. He had a full inventory, not sure if that matters.

    You cant build from scratch because you dont have any experience to level up tech to make SV engines lvl5 (or CV cockpit lvl7) etc you are stuck with lvl3 until you get to a planet, so you cannot build outside the factory and its less viable to salvage than reclaim due to RND losses.

    If you had EVA and ice roids then maybe you could rock process your way to a SV in the asteroid belt but maybe that could be a different scenario.
     
    #12
  13. Escarli

    Escarli Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    It's definitely possible to reach the station on hard settings, I've literally just done it :)
     
    #13
    Germanicus likes this.
  14. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    Did you do it by travelling in a suit only?
     
    #14
  15. AC_Black

    AC_Black Ensign

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    10
    I did not make it LOL . Tried it 4 times after I read this.
     
    #15
    Germanicus and boolybooly like this.
  16. Escarli

    Escarli Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    I'm not saying :) That's half the fun in the senario in working out a method for yourself ;) But trust me, it's more than possible.
     
    #16
    AC_Black and Germanicus like this.
  17. japp_02

    japp_02 Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    184
    Hypothetical LIGHT SPOILERS !

    My first impression is: Nice setup, after some time I realize that I need to scrap what's not necessary in the ship, I even made it so far as to build a new cockpit, my idea is to first make the ship operational to fly towards the station and sell all this crap of boosters and weapons that I don't need (it's really not the time for combat I think).
    After seeing that I cannot place the cockpit and that anyway I would need more Prometheum pellets first to at least feed a Multitool, I followed the tip to jetpack to the station, sadly I cannot make some 'hot beverage' that would protect me better than refilling my health which I see doesn't change much. I made it at a close distance to the station avoiding shots from drones, then...dead. Question is: can you reach the station? If yes maybe I can buy a EVA booster after selling my stuff - if the price is affordable, otherwise if this is not possible, then making it to the station is a failure anyway unless there is some miracle development awaiting there, a ship to steal would not be too shabby...But methink I'm presuming too much :)
    Jetpacking to the planet is another folly to try, here I would put on the radiation booster and maybe the insulation booster would come handy (I need to read again the planet description), the heater device could also help me somewhat if it's not too extreme, but I guess without EVA booster you won't neither make it for too long there...Unless you find some gold, the motorbike should keep you moving to temperate regjons.

    I will try again soon.
    Greetings,

    Difficulty settings:
    Everything to default (medium) with CPU=ON except: Easy enemies, slow food, Volume off.
     
    #17
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2022
  18. boolybooly

    boolybooly Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    103
    *SPOILERS*

    Its easy enough to make a SV with the factory but I found a way you can make it to the station in just the suit at medium settings if ...
    you store up steaks which give you +3 warmth and use the loot drop from a nearby container with hot beverage in it, in addition I created a long 30+ block boom made of reclaimed destroyed blocks and placed a reclaimed small thruster on the end of it and made sure it was switched on. Gave the avatar a roasting up to about 47°C and made a dash for the station and arrived without taking much damage.


    Was then able to trade for EVA mod.

    I have not tried this method at high impact settings, I still get flashbacks to Ningues... brrr!
     
    #18
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2022
    Germanicus and Needleship like this.
  19. Iso

    Iso Ensign

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    *SPOILERS*
    Made it to the station -
    be sure to check the containers and eva boosters are available.
     
    #19
  20. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    9,477
    Believe me, you CAN Jetpack to the Lava Planet. I did it and survived it in the first attempt.
     
    #20
    boolybooly likes this.

Share This Page