Needs attention READ BEFORE REPORTING - Bug Report Template, Requirements & Known issues

Discussion in 'Bugs' started by Hummel-o-War, Jan 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9,503
    Likes Received:
    13,896
    HOW TO REPORT A BUG?

    1. Read through the READ FIRST Paragraph if you are unsure which information are required: https://empyriononline.com/threads/...roduction-before-reporting.47082/#post-290035

    2. Check the Bug Forum and its sub-forums if your issues is ALREADY added!!!
    https://empyriononline.com/forums/bugs.24/

    2.A Also check the known issues list below:

    https://empyriononline.com/threads/...-requirements-known-issues.47082/#post-290036

    2.B Check here if you have any problems getting the game to launch or crashes
    https://empyriononline.com/threads/...-requirements-known-issues.47082/#post-296904

    2.C Check here for how to record video with OBS studio
    https://empyriononline.com/threads/...-requirements-known-issues.47082/#post-322485

    3. IF yes, please contribute your findings to an existing thread by USING THE REPORTING TEMPLATE from below.

    4. IF your issue is not yet listed, please create a
    NEW THREAD in this forum by USING THE REPORTING TEMPLATE from below.

    IMPORTANT: Please only report ONE BUG per THREAD. Do NOT add SEVERAL bugs per thread as this will make your report hard to track! Thanks!

    5. When creating a NEW THREAD you need to select the Prefix "NEW" from the dropdown next to the headline

    6. GIVE A DESCRIPTIVE AND ON-THE-SPOT headline (thread title) so your issue is regognized by QA and by OTHER PLAYERS that might run into the same issue.

    Please note that our moderators will move and merge threads that do not follow these rules

    =====================================
    =====================================
    =====================================


    REPORT TEMPLATE

    Post your bugs here using the following template:

    Mode: (Creative, Survival, Freedom mode)
    Mode: (Singleplayer, Dedicated Server, Peer2Peer Coop)

    SERVER NAME: (If the issue happened on a public server, please add the name here)
    SEED-ID: (Please always add the SEED-ID for SingleplayerSurvival games; Open the console. The Seed is noted somewhere to the "playfield loaded" dialogue)

    If applicable:
    MODIFIED PLAYFIELDS: Yes/No/DontKnow (<- YES if new planets or non-default playfields are used. Use DontKnow if you are not aware if anything has been changed)

    Reproducibility: (Always, Sometimes, Unable)
    Severity: (Trivial, Minor, Major, Crash)

    Type: (Global / O2Rooms / Temperature,Radiation / Player Armor,Boosters / Repair / Teleport,Portals / Instances / Triggers,Sensors / AIVessels / Gamestart / ... )

    Summary: (1-liner = can be the same as the thread headline)

    Description: (short description: 1-2 sentences)

    Steps to Reproduce: (steps to reproduce the issue. This is ESSENTIAL for a bugfix!)

    Screenshots, Crash Logs, any other Relevant Information or Download links: ( Note: for more complex reproduction usecases that require quite some "setup", please create a savegame and upload it to a service.
    Go to:

    For SP:
    SteamLibrary\steamapps\Common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Games

    For MP:
    SteamLibrary\steamapps\Common\Empyrion - Dedicated Server\Saves\Games

    right click on the save folder & place your mouse cursor over 'Send to' create a compressed copy of it then drag & drop a copy in your reply box or use the upload a file option on the forum.
    If the folder is too large use a file hosting site like mediafire, dropbox or google drive then add a share link to it.
    Thanks in advance for saving us time to address your issue! :)
     
    #1
  2. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9,503
    Likes Received:
    13,896
    READ FIRST: For a proper testing procedure and bug reporting, we recommend the following preparations and workflows:
    1. Go to your steam library and VERIFY your game files!
      Steam > Library > Right-click Empyrion in the list > Properties > Local Files > Verify Locale Data
    2. Make sure you are NOT using a custom config!
      There are currently the following files that can be "modded"
      - Config_Example.ecf / Config.ecf ( "Config.ecf" is the critical one, as Config_Example has no impact on the game = pure storage)
      - EGroupsConfig.ecf
      - TraderNPCConfig.ecf
      - FactionWarfare.ecf
      - DefReputation.ecf
      Those are to be found in: Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Content\Configuration

      When running into an issue, it would be HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to check if you are using a customized version of any of these files named above.

      If so, please move the customzied files out of the folder (Rename, remove, move), then verify game files via STEAM (this will restore the default files if you do not have them ready)

    3. Avoid resuming any pre-Release Candidate savegame!
      There is a chance that changes we made do not translate to older savegames. Especially for bugs concerning terrain, loot and other playfield configs.
      Best practice: if you run into an issue with a savegame that was started BEFORE a RC has been released, please re-test the issue in a fresh new RC savegame again!

    4. Additional Routine: Delete the GAME CACHE when trying to reproduce a bug!
      The game cache saves some presets and may be source of a false positive reports or even be part of the problem. To make sure we have all the infos, please check the following folder when trying to reproduce a but and make a note in your report if the bug still happens AFTER clearing the cache: ..\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Saves\Cache
    ----

    Continue or Quit’ (CoQ) Error

    1) When you get a so called 'CoQ' (Continue or Quit) error in SINGLEPLAYER, please do the following
    a) Exit the game (click QUIT or ALT+F4)
    b) go to this folder: C:\games\Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Logs\
    c) watch for the folder name with the highest number and open it
    d) Find the Client.log which has been changed recently right click on the client log from when this happened & place your mouse cursor over 'Send to' create a compressed copy of it
    e) Open your Email, attach the compressed copy of the log & write what happened BEFORE the CoQ and send to:

    [email protected]

    The QA team will pick up your issue and decode or ask back more info.

    2) IF YOU RAN A COOP SERVER, you
    - need to send in the Client.logs for all players that were affected
    - need to send in the COOP server and COOP-client logs

    The COOP Client logs are in the SAME folder on the PC which started the session.

    Look for
    a) logs that start with 'Client_AsPf_'
    b) log that starts with 'Dedicated_'

    Send in both COOP Client and Server logs to the same Email address

    3) IF you are running a DEDICATED SERVER,
    go the the /LOGS folder, zip the whole thing (in case you do not know what are the latest files) + ADD an info on which playfield and WHEN (time stamp) the issue happened...and send it to the same Email address as well.

    -----

    GLOBAL ADVICE ON REPORTING!!

    1. If you haven an issue with a Base or Vessel with temperature, radiation, colliders, can-not-dock, o2 or plants not growing or anything that happens without anything else in the game world is directly affected, please ADD THE BLUEPRINT or the SAVEGAME and add an info if SP or MP! If you want to add your savegame, please upload your savegame to a cloud host (like dropbox, google,..) and add a LINK to your report

    2. If you having issues with something missing from your planet, spawned in the wrong place or anything that keeps being broken after resuming a savegame PLEASE UPLOAD the savegame to a cloud host (like dropbox, google etc) and add a LINK in your bug report

    3. If you CRASHED with a message "Continue or Quit" on a SP or MP game, PLEASE FOLLOW 'Continue or Quit' instructions as written above

    4. If you CRASHED back to desktop (empyion.exe does not work anymore) do the same as in (3.).

    5. If you game FREEZES (locked up), please make a note that this is a FREEZE (not a "Crash"). Add the same files as in 3. and maybe add a dxdiag as well.

    THANKS A LOT FOR YOUR SUPPORT! :)
     
    #2
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019
  3. Hummel-o-War

    Hummel-o-War Administrator
    Staff Member Community Manager

    • Developer
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9,503
    Likes Received:
    13,896
    KNOWN ISSUES A10

    General:
    • Text from LCD screens appearing on other LCD screens [6760]
    • [MP] The repair bay 'Green' shield gets removed from the vessel it wraps around when a player moves far away & returns [6759]
    • [MP] R2T: Repair console 'last saved', 'Total repair time' & 'Remaining time' don't update when first opened [6758]
    • Constructors, Food processors, water gen's, Auto miners etc can 'freeze' when resuming a save game [6757]
    • When a vessel with retractable turrets changes pitch the turrets barrels aim downwards [6756]
    • When a HV touches the bedrock it will get repositioned above terrain [6743]
    • Armored Single door glass L & R & Armored Single door full glass L & R damage texture is wrong [6687]
    • 'Drill mode:' UI element disappears from HUD when connected to a container after opening & closing of CP [6570]
    • 'Drill mode:' UI element flicker when drills are in use whilst in Fixed mode [6569]
    • With the weight & mass check disabled the pentaxid tank when 'overfilled' shows a higher percentage than it should [6291]
    • Signal logic can force the covered thrusters to turn on [6287]
    • Damage level % not functional & WIP in the main window of the control panel
    • MainDroneBase Space POIs don't use DSL [6434]
    • Constructor item list - invalid scroll position [6414]
    • Camera view becomes glitched when players Personal drone is destroyed [4384]
    • Sometimes when drilling rocks/ore rocks in water nothing is dropped from them for the player to pick up [6361]
    • Placement preview of starter blocks AND blueprints does not vanish after deconnecting container [6052]
    • Respawning on a floating POI will always spawn you on top of where you died [6450]
    • Weapon color changes after entering & exiting a cockpit [5923]
    • After rotating a base to spawn, Home/End causes base to move side to side [5985]
    • [Coop] 'AllowedBlueprints:' is not being added in the dedicated.yaml in Coop mode. [5994]
    • CV mining drills 'Failed setting triangles' messages [5295]
    • Mirroring Lights does not copy over the settings of lights [5952]
    • Compass heading showing incorrect when exiting & reentering a cockpit until the vessel is moved again [6258]
    • HV thrusters cannot be entirely turned on or off via switches or signals [6271]
    • Distant planet gets black when it "overlaps" with the terrain [6490]
    • Autominers do not deplete Voxel Deposits [4930]
    • Large Blueprints (max size) are broken in 2 parts or do not spawn completely. [1887]
    • AI vessel RespawnDelay Timer not working [3913]
    • Symbol + and double+ are off about 1px in some directions [2838]
    • HV/SV still produce "Smoke" when grounded and all thrusters and hover engines are off [3503]
    • Area damage gets removed when firing from forward moving vessel [4944]
    • Turret zoom level applied to 3rd person vessel view after exiting turret. [4748]
    • Symbols orientation is not mirrored correctly. [3957]
    • Player falling through the world when getting of a motorbike on uneven/mined terrain [4872]
    • Waypoints are not finding the quickest route through polar region [4789]
    • Docked vessels that have the waypoint option enabled take the name of the vessel they are docked to [5434]
    • Invisible Sun in space when viewed through any transparent object [6064]
    • [MP] Replace mode not showing changes made in creative MP until structure is respawned. [4359]
    • Windowed mode 'always shown on top' [6165]
    • Cannot exit ATM with F [6141]
    • When you have the 'Show on HUD' option enabled on a device after removing that device the marker isn't removed also [3814]
    • Orbit map markers disappearing [6420]
    • Possible to fly through AI freighters, Carriers etc with player vessels (MP also has a issue with drones spawning & teleporting around player vessels) [3498]

    ----

    Logistics:
    • F4 structure convenience caching gets stuck when several structures are close by [5562]
    • A large item or stack when swapped with a smaller one will leave the inventory overfull [5963]
    • Container-Slots get increased when re-accessing dead corpses [5971]
    • [MP] Container controller volume info is not updated after removing & placing a new one until another CE is added. [6061]
    • Second pane for logistics dialog persists an entry from previous source when you pick a new one [6135]
    • Items on the virtual toolbar do not contribute to the mass of the connected container. [6267]
    ----

    Game pad/Controller issues:


    ----

    Should be fixed now, but please observe:
    • Planet terrain in the map view loses detail & goes dark after changing from a moon playfield to a planet playfield [6611]
    • Transparent AIPV’s (Thruster flares are visible through hull blocks) (resolves when doing some damage to the vessel) [5667]
    • [MP] After changing from 1 orbit to another sometimes the AI vessels in that orbit can be invisible [6341]
    • No longer possible to copy & paste text or symbols from one LCD screen to another [6629]
    • Using Auto level in a vessel can cause the thrusters of a vessel to get stuck switching quickly between 2 directions [6612]
    • [SELECTION BUILD TOOL] LCD screen text or symbols not maintained when copy & pasting screen.[4358]
    • [SELECTION BUILD TOOL] NPC settings for NPC-Spawners is not maintained after copy & paste [5088]
    • [SELECTION BUILD TOOL] Sensor range settings not maintained when re-inserting [5362]
    • [SELECTION BUILD TOOL] Codelocks are not maintained when copy & pasting [5089]
    • Multiple block types (concrete, steel etc) when picked up from SI drops are not put into the correct block groups [6473]
    • Terrain deco can go invisible after a playfield change when moving around f.ex Rocks, plants etc [6671]
    • Terrain rocks/stones vanish when drilling nearby [6663]
    • Vessel speed is not maintained after warping when moving into a sector you have not been before [6679]
    • Drill Animation not stopping [6563]
    • CoQ loop from Troop transporter when it is returning to the Drone base [6686]
    • Missing damages states for T1 generator & multiple armored doors [6687]
    • Exception triggered when crafting a T3 Auto mining device [6376]
    • General issue with placing or picking items from the tool bar or using other UI elements [6171]
    • Weapons won't react to left & right triggers on first load until they are fired by a mouse button first [6588]
    • Radial menus will not open for controllers on first load into a save game until they are used by a mouse [6594]
    • Mounted weapons & Turrets cannot be fired from the controller until LMB on the mouse is used 1 time [6595]
    • Repair console UI does not update the needed resources until exiting & re-entering the console [6607]
    • On screen Soft Cursor cannot be used until the controllers Right stick has been pressed/'Clicked' [6675]
    • Not possible to place a symmetry plane or place the selection area on a structure when the building tools window is open [6672]
    • Not possible to zoom in with a scoped weapon or Turret when using a controller [6587]
    • Items cannot be consumed from the player inventory whilst using a controller [6688] - D-PAD down + X button now consumes a item from a inventory
    • Left & right bumper for 'Common controls' to roll left or right when the jetpack is on whilst in space doesn't work. [6676]
    • Item info UI can get stuck on screen when the controller places the cursor over an item from the toolbar in the inventory window [6680]
    • Coop mode when joining players cannot see each other & a exception is sometimes triggered when joining [6696]
    • Text disappears off screen when editing or adding text that was already there. [6711]
    • Previosuly placed Solar panels are not working [6766] (Any terrain placeables that still have a issue will need to be picked up & placed down again & any solar panels on player made bases looking like they are off need to be removed via multitool & placed back on. POI's can use the regenerate ID' command.)
     
    #3
    Cluascorp likes this.
  4. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    4,351
    Part 1:
    If you are having any issues starting the game try to run the game after doing any of the following steps:


    • Try adding the 'Empyrion Galactic Survival' folder as exception in your anti virus software if you have one running on your PC or try disabling it entirely.
    • Try verifying the games files with steams verify files option:
    Right click on Empyrion in your steam library & select properties.
    Click on the local files tab & choose the 'Verify integrity of local game files' option.

    • Try clearing steam download cache:
    In the steam client click on steam in the top left & select settings then select downloads.
    Now click on the 'Clear Download cache' option.
    Restart steam & try again

    • Try launching the game directly from the Empyrion root folder:
    Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival

    (Also can be found from the steam library by right clicking on Empyrion then click on Properties > Local files & then click on Browse local files.)

    Now try starting EmpyrionLauncher.exe as administrator.

    If that doesn't work go to:
    Steam\steamapps\common\Empyrion - Galactic Survival\Client

    & try to start EACLauncher.exe or Empyrion.exe.

    • Try moving the game to another drive if you have one.
    'Cut' or 'Copy' the Empyrion game folder to another drive & use the EmpyrionLauncher.exe to try start the game.

    Or if you would like to try running through steam but on another drive without having to redownload the entire game:
    'Cut' or 'Copy' the Empyrion folder to another location on the same drive or another away your current Steam then choose in the steam library to uninstall it.

    Now in steam click on 'Steam' in the top left of the steam client & then choose settings then select downloads & click on the box under Content libraries then select to 'create another content library' & choose a different drive.
    When that is done go to this new location you just created & click on the file called 'steamapps' & make a new folder inside this & name it 'common' without ' '.
    Now place the previously cut or copied Empyrion folder into the 'common' folder you just made & in the steam library choose to reinstall & let steam start trying to install. At this point steam should find Empyrion, discover it's files are already there & validate the files.
    Now again try to start the game.

    • Check your windows User Account Control (Windows UAC in user accounts) setting & try having it set to Default to notify you only when programs try to make changes on your computer
    ====
    Part 2:
    If you are having any issues starting the game or crashes please read through any of the linked threads for possible solutions click on the spoiler below to expand & see the list of links:

    ====

    Steam workshop:
    A possible solution for not being able to upload a blueprint or scenario to the workshop with the 'Limit exceeded' message appearing:
    Issue: https://empyriononline.com/threads/cant-post-any-blueprints-to-workshop.54628/

    Solution: https://empyriononline.com/threads/cant-post-any-blueprints-to-workshop.54628/#post-321540

    ====

    Issue: Themida, an error occurred while hooking DLL

    Possible Solutions: https://empyriononline.com/threads/...occurred-while-hooking-dll.56689/#post-324571

    https://empyriononline.com/threads/themida-an-error-occurred-while-hooking-dll.49957/#post-314914

    ====

    Issue: https://empyriononline.com/threads/...ver-preventing-the-game-from-launching.47697/
    Solution: https://empyriononline.com/threads/...ng-the-game-from-launching.47697/#post-296885

    ====

    Issue: https://empyriononline.com/threads/computer-keeps-crashing-midgame.48033/
    Solution: https://empyriononline.com/threads/computer-keeps-crashing-midgame.48033/#post-298553

    ====

    Issue: https://empyriononline.com/threads/game-not-loading-stuck-on-error-screen.48124/
    Solution: https://empyriononline.com/threads/game-not-loading-stuck-on-error-screen.48124/page-2#post-299867

    Issue: https://empyriononline.com/threads/game-not-loading-stuck-on-error-screen.48124/#post-299077
    Solution: https://empyriononline.com/threads/game-not-loading-stuck-on-error-screen.48124/page-2#post-299087

    ====

    Issue: https://empyriononline.com/threads/this-problem-again.48647/
    Solution: https://empyriononline.com/threads/this-problem-again.48647/#post-303024

    ====
     
    #4
  5. Pantera

    Pantera Moderator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    4,351
    A quick ‘how to’ record with OBS studio:
    Setup:

    • Install it & then open the program 1 time & close it.
    Place the global.ini in:
    C:\Users\YourUserNameHere\AppData\Roaming\obs-studio

    & then place the ‘basic’ folder in the same location:
    C:\Users\YourUserNameHere\AppData\Roaming\obs-studio

    (Where I have put YourUserNameHere for you it will be you user profile name in windows)

    • Now restart OBS & you should now have the settings I use personally.
    • Before recording anything click on Settings > Output > Recording tab
    & change the ‘Recording path’ to a drive on your PC where you want OBS to record the video file to:​

    OBS 4.png
    • Next: for anyone using a AMD graphics card you may want to double check the Encoder here:
    Settings > Output > Recording tab
    isn’t set to ‘NVIDIA NVENCH H.264’ & use ‘x264’ instead from the drop down list or the AMD equivalent option if there is one. NVIDIA users may use the ‘NVIDIA NVENCH H.264’ option for less CPU usage from OBS:​

    OBS 3.png

    • Now you should be setup & ready to record at 1080p 60FPS with a decent image quality.
    • Results may very depending on the hardware of the PC being used.
    ====

    Recording:


    Start OBS before starting the game then select one of the scenes in the bottom left.
    I have setup 3 different scenes.

    Scene 1 captures anything that is on your display

    Scene 2 captures only these sources:
    'Game capture' = Only any fullscreen game running
    'Game capture 2' = Only setup to capture a specific window <- You may need to configure this manually for Empyrion. Right click on 'Game capture 2' under sources when you have Scene 2 selected & select properties then click on 'Window' & whilst EGS is running a option for Empyrion should be in the list to select.

    Scene 3 is setup to capture whatever 'window' you set it up to. Like Scene 2:
    Right click on 'Window capture' under sources when you have Scene 3 selected & select properties then click on 'Window' & whilst EGS is running a option for Empyrion should be in the list to select.

    I would recommend to use Scene 2 with the source 'Game capture' or 'Game capture 2':

    OBS 1.png


    Now you have the Scene & source setup on the bottom right in the main window for OBS click on the 'Start recording' option. Then when finished click on the same option again which should say 'Stop recording'.

    If for some reason the preview that appears in OBS of the game doesn't fit the preview window properly you can try:
    With the left mouse button click on the preview & when these red square boxes appear around the preview with your mouse cursor over any of them left click & hold to move the preview around & adjust the window so it fits the preview properly.
    I have highlighted these 'red boxes' here in this screenshot with the Yellow squares over them:

    OBS 2.png

    ====

    There are some older instructional videos here which are still useful if anyone would like to check them out:
    The basics:


    Scenes & Sources:
     
    #5
    Cluascorp likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page