Not a bug Forcefields do not prevent freezing in space

Discussion in 'Archive (Read Only)' started by Nimroy, Jul 1, 2022.

  1. Nimroy

    Nimroy Ensign

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    11
    For more information see here Bug Report Template

    Build: 1.8.3
    Mode: various
    Mode: Creative/Survival

    SERVER NAME: Crossonia & Singleplayer
    SEED-ID: 787878

    Reproducibility: Always
    Severity: Medium/Low

    Type: Device/block not working as intended

    Summary: When in space inside the forcefield block, the temperature remains cold.

    Description: Forcefields no longer stabilize the temperature. So now if you are in the forcefield block area, you will freeze if you are in space and do not have an EVA mod on.

    I didn't see it mentioned anywhere in the changelog for 1.8 so I'm guessing this was an unintentional bug.
    I have been using forefields on my space station so I could move between the station and my CV without freezing but since the 1.8 update I noticed I can no longer depend on the forcefield. I understand oxygen will not be present, but I thought the forcefields would still protect against the cold temperature.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1) Go to space and got outside your space station.
    2) Place a forcefield block.
    3) Observe that the temperature remains cold and does not warm up to a comfortable level..

    Screenshots, Crash Logs, any other Relevant Information or Download links:
     
    #1
    -AKEVA-BANSHEE- likes this.
  2. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    9,477
    IIRC...the Forcefields ALONE are not enough to keep you from freezing. If you have AIR too inside via a Ventilator than that should do the Trick.
     
    #2
  3. ravien_ff

    ravien_ff Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7,934
    Likes Received:
    13,652
    Ventilators do not stabilize temperature. They just provide oxygen.
     
    #3
  4. Germanicus

    Germanicus Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    9,477
    It seems that you are right. I checked on my Base. My bad.
    But in my case Temperature and Radiation gets kept out of the Room by the Forcefield.
    Is there a 'wrong' side when placing it?
     
    #4
  5. TwitchyJ

    TwitchyJ Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    76
    When you say go outside your space station and then place a forcefield block... are you talking about out in the open?
    Or are you using it to seal in a fully enclosed area?

    What I mean is, are you trying to stand in only a forcefield alone just out in the open?
    Or is this forcefield being used, for example, as a door on an already otherwise sealed area?

    Some pictures or a blueprint would help here probably, as forcefields are working for me when used as intended.
    Or perhaps a specific size is the culprit?
     
    #5
    Germanicus likes this.
  6. Nimroy

    Nimroy Ensign

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    11
    [​IMG]
    Hopefully this helps clarify it.
    The intention was not to give oxygen but just prevent freezing when I did my space walk from the station to my ship. This worked in 1.7 as that is why I added the forcefield here so I didn't have to put on a EVA just to move from station to ship. Since 1.8, the benefit is gone. Maybe it was bug in the first place and this is not something forcefields should do, but they did in 1.7 which is why I made the bug report.

    I have several options around this including:
    Building a full O2 sealed section here (i.e. replace railing and exposed edge, but this makes it harder to park the ship).
    Use a teleport (only works for CVs and not my SVs).
    Put on an EVA (but I'm lazy)
    Just tough it out and drink some coffee (what I'm doing now...)
     
    #6
  7. Pantera

    Pantera Administrator
    Staff Member

    • Developer
    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4,686
    Likes Received:
    6,515
    Forcefield blocks are used to enclose a room so you should only place them at entrances/exits for example.
     
    #7
    Germanicus likes this.

Share This Page